Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Huntingman Championship

by Forlorn79 - Jam Entry

A sport about killing the highest weight of animals!

This game is a top down, single screen arena, where the player moves around the environment looking for animals to kill. The animals will have AI that makes them run away from contact and the direction of damage. Animals will not always die from one hit, and there will be gore and real sounds to make the experience horrifying. The player must drag the bodies back to the house by hand, and will move slower depending on the weight of the bodies. Some weapons will cause the animal to lose weight from overkill. Better weapons can be found in the Shoppee. Are you a monster?

This is a 2D game in Construct 2. The sounds are from open sources of real animal sounds and effects, but the graphics will be pixelated rather than realistic. The game should be playable with the keyboard arrow keys and spacebar, along with the mouse.

It can be played in a few minutes! Please leave feedback and a rating. Thank you.

Programing: Alana Sophia O'Hair
Art: Ampera/Konrad

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#795Theme(Jam)3.07
#913Mood(Jam)2.53
#974Graphics(Jam)2.20
#1001Fun(Jam)2.33
#1010Innovation(Jam)2.13
#1090Overall(Jam)2.31
#2134Coolness20%

Comments

Connors says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:31pm

I saw naught but a blank, black screen.

Connors says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:39pm

I chuckled when the character shed a tear at the end.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Pretty cool, but Cows and stuff went straight through everything xD Nice graphics overall, and was still fun to play, especially seeing the animals go through stages as you hit them.

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:10am

I tried playing this when the wife was going to bed.. after animal noises for a while she yelled out "what the hell".. maybe she would've handled it better if it had a little bit more variation?

magenta says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:14pm

I'm definitely a monster after this. All those poor animals! Was a bit hard to play using the arrow keys and mouse but then again, I'm using a laptop so that's my fault :}

Omiya Games says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:23pm

The fox actually says something!
While a neat concept about animal slaughter, I question whether it'll be an effective message to the people it matters the most.

Brightstar says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:10am

Scary sounds and gritty graphics.

MrTwister says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Well, wow, this entry definitely makes a good job showing the awfulness of "sport" hunting.

SFXs were kinda disturbing which I guess was on purpose. Definitely made me feel bad about what I was doing in the game.

Gamedev-wise, the way animals move through the map/field could be improved significantly, and allowing the player to use WASD/ESDF to move would've made it more comfortable to control (normally you don't want to force the use of the arrow keys when you also need the mouse, as they normally sit at the same side of the "desk").

Perhaps some slight map exploration would've made the "hunt" more interesting too (so you have to literally hunt the animals instead of waiting for them to come where you are).

This is probably the first time a hunting game makes me feel bad about the "prey" (not that I have a lot of experience with hunting games, but from what I've seen they all look no that different from "Duck Hunt", which made the act of killing ducks look exactly like shooting Frisbee discs with a gun).

If the goal was making the player feel like a monster, you totally achieved it!

shawn42 says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 2:01am

Neat little mechanic / puzzles. Great entry.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Well i can say i feel monstruous after playing this.
anyway i played it, so i guess i can say it :P
I didn't have any sound though, i don't know if it was normal or not?
poor animals by the way.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]