Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Betty the Yeti

by grywhttl - Jam Entry

OBJECTIVE
----------------
Betty the Yeti is ready to reclaim her territory! Destroy all humans!

CONTROLS
----------------
Keyboard:
- WASD/Arrow Keys/On-screen joystick: Move
- J : Shoulder Charge
- K : Shin-breaker
- L : Dive

TEAM
----------------
Betty the Yeti is brought to you by:
@grywhttl & @Wunkolo

GAME
----------------
Some things we didn't manage to implement in time:
- Fleeing AI
- Pursuing AI (Cops!.. Or Mounties?)
- Tighter controls
- Ambushing from the snowbanks
- Sound effects! And music
- Particle effects
- More animations & variants
- Alternative gameplay modes + score-keeping

POST LD-BUILDS
----------------
With just a couple more hours we'd have been able to add Hyper-mode power ups, better damage visualisation & a few other bits:
Windows: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14046420/Betty%20the%20Yeti-0.2_WIN.zip
Mac OS X: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/14046420/Betty%20the%20Yeti-0.2_MAC.zip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#117Theme(Jam)4.00
#137Fun(Jam)3.64
#153Graphics(Jam)4.16
#223Overall(Jam)3.60
#336Humor(Jam)3.15
#384Innovation(Jam)3.19
#569Mood(Jam)3.05

Comments

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:50am

The graphics are nice and the physics are incredibly fun to play with.

Ohmu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:39am

Managed to kill them all, finally! Fun game, good job :)

Ulydev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:46am

Loved making the yeti moonwalk!

peterkirk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:46am

Beautiful looking and controls well. I had fun with it.

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:00am

Stellar animation and mechanics man

MattV says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:01am

the ice skating is so fun! Throw in a half pipe, some tricks, a rail, I would play this!

VideoDog says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:06am

Putting the Sass in Samsquanch

celisoft says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:55am

Well done! Too bad that you didn't have more time...

Lolninjacatz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:07am

The game looked really nice, and the skating was really interesting but really frustrating too! The last special move was really hard to pull off. Love the different rankings that you had at for number knocked out.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:09am

Nice physics and hilarious animations.

BarrelGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:09am

Wow! it's a very very famously

Shaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:19am

Game is lots of fun to play, graphics and controls are really nice, could be really fun as a local coop game with a bit of polish and some sound effects. Nice job!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:28am

Great graphics, I loved the attention to details in the way the people skated around and tilted. Got all the people and was hoping to be called a Monster instead of winner :p

cowboycolor says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:19am

The funnest game I've played yet. Also the graphics are tight. Would benefit from some sound, but other than that well done, kept me playing the longest out of any submission!

DanteDouglas says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:20am

Art is charming, loved the game flow in general. Could have used some sound, but hey- it's a jam game. Great work!

grywhttl says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:45pm

@CosmicAdventureSquad You're so right! I've changed it to MONSTER!!! in the cleaned-up Post-LD builds :D

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Great graphics and the controls work well!

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Greatest use of slippery controls I've ever seen. Well done.

HappyHour says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Lovin' the visuals and the design of the yeti. Skating around feels great!

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:45pm

My life simulator. Take some stars!

RobotMeal says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:43am

Great looking graphics and fun physics. Strong entry!

Biruts says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

MrThee says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:25am

(Ver. played: original) Awesome job! Game looks clean, yeti looks solid. MAYBE coulda benefit from even some very simple sounds, tho sound is never a priority on these things. Needs more figure-skating-based attacks. Or threats, like a giant looming zamboni or something.

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:37pm

very original gameplay.

placatedduck says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:08am

Good fun! It's a shame that the game gets less intense as it progresses.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]