Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Predator Hood

by Lucho9 - Jam Entry

Predator Hood is a plataform and puzzle game. It s about a boy who just happens to be some kind of monster devourer of souls. Your objective is kill them all.

Controls:

arrows= movement

z= attack

e= change of scene (you have to use it in the doors and posters)

Note:
This is our first time doing a game, and first time in ludum dare. Unfortunality, we started very late and rushed. It s very small and short but hope you like it. It s unfinished so we ll keep working on it later.

Artist: Lucio Villanueva
Programmer: Juan Saavedra

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#812Graphics(Jam)2.76
#898Theme(Jam)2.87
#906Humor(Jam)1.92
#1019Mood(Jam)2.19
#1044Innovation(Jam)1.90
#1082Fun(Jam)2.00
#1107Overall(Jam)2.23

Comments

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:35am

I had a few issues with controls. Z and E are pretty far away from each other. Unfortunately I wasn't able to get that far, Also only attacking the right seems constricting.

cxsquared says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:42am

The game looks really good and the attack animation is really nice. The attack feels really slow though and everything is a bit confusing. Really nice game for your first time.

wy477wh173 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:35am

Gotta Go FAST!!

solid for a first jam, it was pretty slippery and fast. Controls were odd for a Qwerty Keyboard, but make sense for Azerty.

Good job, and good luck next time
-Kelsie And Wyatt

Kep says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:01am

gorgeous attack animation. the rest was a bit difficult to parse. I wanted to kill the guy with the scythe! :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:11am

Very good graphics.
I couldn't get past the first area.
It was hard to tell what was solid and what was not.
Too bad you didn't have any music.

zuurr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:11am

well, it's pretty rough. i think it isnt a bad start for a game jam game and it would have been pretty good had you had more time.

only complaint i have that isn't just directly time related is that the controls are slippery.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:06am

It was really hard to control especially in mid-air. With how fast the character moves I think the walking animation should be faster too.

guoboism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:53pm

I like the attack animation.
It would be nice to have some audio. Not bad for first jam.

Lucho9 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:15pm

@Everyone thanks you for all the comments, i apreciate it. I am glad you all test it. To those who couldn't get in the house, there is a key somewhere. Originaly we were gonna put a bedroom inside the house that is the end of the game...we couldn't...Also, our music guy decided to go rogue XD i will catch him for the post jam.

Kakureta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:07pm

The controls were a bit akward on my keyboard but other than that I liked this game. It's sort of fast and slippery and the art isn't bad. And I absolutely love the attack animation!

ponk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Nice ! It's great for a first time.
Keep it up !

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:22pm

I found the key this time, but I still couldn't get through the door.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:48am

this attack move is amazing XD but like so many other people here already said the controls feel pretty slippery. I think that's because the character is moving to fast and friction is way to less when hes on ground. It seems like hes stopping even faster in air as when hes on ground.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Controlled jumping was really hard, but the attack animation is really nice.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Pretty good for unfinished. Keep it up!

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

BooleanByte says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Good job for fist game. I relay like the attack animation, is it the hood that makes the character become a "predator"?
To bad there is no sound, but I know we can't have it all. Tried to get the character over at dthe busstop, but it was to fast. When i fist tried to walk around, i was confused becase there was nothing i could do in the initial area, untill I found i could jump over something i could not rely see. Kind of hart to see what I can jump onto sometimes. Bur realy, for a fist game it's good i think. This is somthing you could continue to work on. And good luck next time :)

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:07pm

The attack is too slow and the movement controls are too sensitive.

Lucho9 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:46am

yeah, it is very ironic the controls of movement were the thing that spend most of our time on the development...they were so much worse XD
there are a weird bug in the outside of house that if you fall the other side that is too high to jump, there is some invisible block...we didnt put it
@BooleanByte yes, that was the idea of the hood :D

abcdef65g says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:36am

I like the pun with the hood and the character animation. The game's controls unfortunately are it's weakest point, attacking feels stiff and one can't have confidence of jumping. Which is a shame, the graphics really are nice, and I feel with more reliable and enjoyable controls this would be a truly outstanding entry. Welcome to the Ludum, and if you guys can accomplish this in a short time and while rushing I assure you, I can't wait to play this in post compo/your next entries in Ludum!

MikeEnoch says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Nice art, and good attempt for your first game! I seemed to get stuck when I got close to people though, and struggled a bit with jumping up the blocks near the start (moved too fast, so hard to judge the jumps). Controls could use some iteration, keep at it though :)

Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Interesting game, good for your first time! I included it in part 27 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/hHQb1uxX9tA

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Great for a first game! I especially liked the attack animation!

-Zak

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]