Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Detached

by khahem - Jam Entry



Trapped in a maze by boring people, they'll only let you escape on one condition,
if you give up your colorful attitude and stay a conformant, single-colored being.

Try to look presentable, reach the exit, and solve the 15 puzzles, good luck !


Notes :
- The current puzzle is saved, you can come back later and keep solving more levels :)
- Except for the delay caused by a busy weekend, it was made with the restrictions of a compo, solo and with all assets and game code done during the LD.
- I wrote a post mortem here : http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/08/26/post-mortem-detached/

[edit]
Pushed a small compatibility fix, it now works on Chrome, Firefox and Internet Explorer 11.
Lesson learned, WebGL is cool, but don't use VAO :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#32Innovation(Jam)4.08
#157Overall(Jam)3.71
#344Fun(Jam)3.31
#371Graphics(Jam)3.69
#565Humor(Jam)2.71
#572Audio(Jam)2.61
#767Mood(Jam)2.78
#778Theme(Jam)3.10

Comments

Mekuri says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:13am

Great graphics, and very fun gameplay! I managed to beat the game, which means I had fun. Some interesting puzzles. The difficultie varied quite a bit, but I wouldn't mind playing it with even harder puzzles.! Really great job! I'm glad this was the first game I played for this Dare :-)

n42k says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:52am

Good graphics and some very interesting puzzles. However it gets a bit boring after the first few tries.

Mozz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:14am

<3 I cant say how much I love the monster design

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:15am

I like the puzzle ideas. It can be prety tricky and require actualy thinking. Good job, it's a very polished game.

hinerz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:32am

Great game mechanics :D Reminds me sort of stacking by double fine :D

hdong says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:40am

Found the game pretty challenging
Nice graphics and great puzzle game overall

imalerich says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:41am

Awesome graphics. Pretty cool concept. I enjoyed it.

m3_on says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:47am

Wow! Very super impressive, this is a great game, clean graphics, creative gameplay and interesting puzzles! Congrats!!!

Fiveathome says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:34am

Great game, great graphics. Good job

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:35am

Really great puzzle game! :)

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:51am

Wonderful little game! Nice graphics, nice sounds nice headaching puzzles!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:19am

Having a level number shown (maybe briefly) when a level starts would be nice, since I knew there were 15 levels but I lost track of how close I was to the end. I beat all the levels though!

I thought this was a very innovative puzzle idea. It required thought, but was not so hard as to be frustrating. The art was nice and clean.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Cool concept, the mechanics are original and interesting :)

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Graphics are great, puzzles are challenging. Overall nicely made game, I would love to see it as a full game

disperse says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Really well done. I'm terrible at puzzle games but this kept my interest longer than most!

zuurr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:15pm

really liked this one, but i'm a sucker for challenging puzzle games.

its one of my favorites so far actually. i think there is potential here.

and also it looks nice and is pretty well polished.

reheated says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:30am

Really great. My brain doesn't work any more. Thanks for the interesting postmortem too!

Frump says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:52am

Very clever. It took me a while to figure out the first puzzle but was smooth from there. I kept getting confused which side I was on after switching.

los.pixelados says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:12pm

A very nice puzzle game. Doesn't fit the theme in my opinion but a good effort indeed. I liked it. The puzzles are quite difficult and entertaining. Some music would have been nice, but i guess there wasn't time for that.
Good job.

garygreen says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Great puzzles and fun graphics. :-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]