Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Eye In The Sky

by djfariel - Jam Entry

Support our game on Greenlight here: http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=511347726

Our second Ludum Dare has drawn to a conclusion. This time, we feel that we did significantly better. We felt ahead of the curve in terms of progress. We were confident in everything we did. It felt great.

Despite being initially disappointed in the theme, we had some ideas to work with. Monster? Obviously with one eye. And a top hat. And if it's only got one eye, it has to have a laser. And if he's a big monster, he has to destroy things, like buildings! These ideas all came together pretty quick, and by the end of the first night we had our basic game formed.

Apparently our game really reminded people of the old game Rampage. Not having seen this game in yeeeaaars, we took the inspiration and rolled with it.

Everything you see was built and coded from scratch during this Jam. All art and music was done by Daniel Pulley using Pyxel Edit and FL Studio 11, and all programming was done by Jordan Willis in Unity. No outside libraries or premade assets were used.

Ladies and gentlemen, we present to you: Eye In The Sky.

You play as Reginald, the one-eyed, one-hat, laser toting purple people eater, on his rampage through the flying city in the sky.

Make it to the end and discover the story for yourself!

====================
Controls:
Left Mouse Button -OR- J: Punch
Middle Mouse Button -OR- K: Ground Pound
Right Mouse Button -OR- L: Laser
Enter/Return: Audio Menu

And, if you're playing on a non-web version, you can use:
Escape: Quit
====================

Thanks for taking the time to play our game. We really look forward to all of your feedback, both positive and negative. Feel free to tell us what you like! Feel free to tell us what you don't! Tell us how we could do better! Tell us your high score!

Thanks everyone! Hope you enjoy playing Eye In The Sky. =)

*Note: We only have a windows platform to test on, so we can't guarantee that the Linux and Mac versions work properly. We apologize if they don't, but there isn't much we can do about it.

You can find our post-Jam post here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/08/25/postmortem-eye-in-the-sky/


===== NOTICE WARNING HEY LISTEN WATCHOUT HELLO LOOK =====
===== NOTICE WARNING HEY LISTEN WATCHOUT HELLO LOOK =====
===== NOTICE WARNING HEY LISTEN WATCHOUT HELLO LOOK =====
We made a day-one patch that aims to solve a lot of the "character getting stuck" issues, and also adds controller support! (Unfortunately, due to the way different operating systems handle controllers, this is only for the Windows xbox 360 controller. It may work for others but it's untested.) In an effort to stay traditional to Ludum Dare, what we have submitted is what we're sticking with. That said, if you want to try the updated version, the links are in text below this paragraph. Let us know what you think, and if you encounter any other crazy game-breaking bugs!
WebGL (Recommended): http://ld.unibearstudio.com/33/DayOnePatch/
Windows: http://ld.unibearstudio.com/33/DayOnePatch/windows.zip
Mac: http://ld.unibearstudio.com/33/DayOnePatch/mac.zip
Linux: http://ld.unibearstudio.com/33/DayOnePatch/linux.zip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#151Audio(Jam)3.63
#186Overall(Jam)3.66
#243Fun(Jam)3.46
#256Graphics(Jam)3.94
#287Theme(Jam)3.75
#539Mood(Jam)3.10
#567Innovation(Jam)2.96
#579Humor(Jam)2.69

Comments

trashmob says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:45am

Great Entry! :D Finally I can play Rampage again. :D

Wevel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:50am

Fun, I like how the trees and debris have physics and get pushed around

Move127 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:06am

It looks great and plays well.

razavidn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:06am

Nice! A really engaging platformer, well done on controller tutorial, sfx, player feedback. Enjoyed it!

OccamsRazor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:07am

Wow, that was awesome! One of the best games I think I've ever played in a LD event! Took me back to playing Rampage on the NES as a kid - only even better!

I think its completely flawless.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:10am

That's really nice! well done!

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:20am

Fun game, I like the art and music too. I encountered a bug after a while where I became unable to move.

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:57am

Nice! Has some bugs where you get stuck pretty often but I love the artwork and mayhem!

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:11am

Awesome monster smashing game. There would be times when I would get stuck on the roof of a building and then have to restart, but other than that its fun.

cicanci says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:27am

Awesome art! Fun to play!

Meat Us says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:30am

Cool game, but omg dat lag when you detroy a big building xD

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:35am

this game is a masterpiece. the audio is great it is innovative it has the aesthetic and graphics it sounds amazing and with most games this good i haft to say it was to short BUT this has an INFINITY MODE so whats wrong with it its problem is it is too good

Andrew says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:10am

Mad props to your visuals and music guy.

Tuism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:46am

Great set of stuff happening here, lots of work :) I like the big set of actions and things you can do, it's very satisfying cracking those buildings and everything, lots of debri, juice, etc.

The music gets REALLY bad after a while. Grating. But not a major problem.

The controls were not the best - they felt unresponsive - not entirely broken, but it was hard to get it to do what I want it to do. Not because the monster was slow/sluggish, but the input to output feel wasn't all there.

Dunno about it being called Eye in the Sky, I get that you're a monster with a big eye, and you're in the sky, but that seems very superfluous, especially when tied to a term with pre-established meaning :)

RAMMMPAGGGGE :D

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:32am

Graphical theme is great, sounds work well.

The gameplay feels a bit too stiff, though, and the charge meter feels "un-fun". Knocking buildings down with giant lasers is a lot of fun, punching buildings while unable to shoot lasers is less fun. We needs more fun. Give us more fun. More lasers.

wooltech says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Fun Game!

Dibasis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Wonderful game :D

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Really good art, music and concept. Player feedback was satisfying, really enjoyed seeing those buildings crumble!
Full of bugs though - try firing the laser while jumping. Also got magically stuck in the ground after a jump and couln't move. The controls could've been a bit more responsive.

redzero says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Nice game! Great art.

Granat says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Really nice! The music was great and there was a lot of well made sprites.
For some reason the character stopped responding to input after a while. I tried restarting a couple of times, but it kept happening. Anyway, great game. I really enjoyed playing it.

MrMordem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Fun game and really cool graphics, love the NES like music as well, and its a nice touch to be able to climb the buildings

guoboism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Great! Very polished game. I loved destroy the building! Hard work on the graphics and music.

richardjs says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Great music and art. Made me feel like I was playing one of the old Mega Man games. I laughed at some of the little details, like the top hat and the mustache flapping in the wind as you fell. Not to mention the rolling trees and sky people running for their lives.

djfariel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:39am

Just want to say thank you everyone for the amazing feedback thus far. You're the best. :)

Also, at some point I managed to delete the player's laser's animation. I have it fixed, but I'm not going to post a new build unless I get more fixes to release.

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:46am

Awesome Rampage like game.

elemel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:01am

Really liked your game!

Possible improvements:

- I missed being able to dodge. Dodge and fire laser would be a cool move. Also, smash could be initiated with dodge + punch, reducing the number of controls.
- It's not possibly to smash or fire laser while jumping. Jumping smash would be cool.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Charming 2D-platformer of destruction, hehe.
Great pixel art and music!

bitdecaygames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Nice! That was a great throwback to Rampage. I got stuck though when I jumped onto a building and used my laser to destroy it.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Hey there. Pretty cool stuff you have, I'm impressed you had the time to create two game modes. Nice and consistent arts and nice retro music. Regarding gameplay, the animations are okay and the controls seemed right at first, nice climbing system! But I ended up getting a bit frustrated by the jump and overall controls of my monster. I died a couples of times for no apparent reasons (I was frozen in the air and fall to my death!). Sorry if I misunderstood something. You made a cool work, I just wish the handling could be smoother.

Also, thanks for your nice comment on DRUMSTER! I just wanted to mention that the theme is actually at the heart of the game concept, but only revealed on part 3 (metal song) which was probably a bad design choice considering nobody actually reaches it... If you wanna have a look, we have a link to a youtube video on our game's page.

Aun says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Nice game. I loved to destroy buildings :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Good fun! Like scaling the walls and ground pounding! ;)

Serch says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Great game the art is really good the music is nice, my player get stuck but I enjoy playing this game

randoman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Pretty nice game! I like the animations and sound effects!

glerikud says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Great looking game with the yellow buildings it has a kinda middle-eastern wibe. The mechanics work great too, King-Konging on buildings, but also destroying them is fun.
Only problems I personally have with it is 1: I don't like and am not very good at platformers :), and 2 the middle mouse button didn't work for me.
It's also fantastically polished in three days! Grats

nihilaleph says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Sorry to bother you (I wish I could PM...), but I tried to fix the physics simulation slo-mo bug and the flashlight hitbox in my game! Would you like to try it again?

PS: I will rate your game as soon as can I play it xp

Cory Martin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:13am

Very cool. I think this would be much more fun if the monster were more responsive and fleet-footed. His movement is pretty stiff at the moment, which might be because he's supposed to be a big monster, but I think it took away from my enjoyment a bit.

Nonetheless, this was a cool entry. I ran into the movement freeze bug, but you guys fixed that in the post-competition version it seems.

dosmaen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:10am

Very fun game with a lot of polish that does not feel like it was made with any time constraints in place. Very talented creators here!

xvw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:24am

Nice graphics and audio design! I love the monster's pose (and I understand quickly the correlation with the theme :P) but the gameplay is a little bit hard (maybe because of the keybinding). Thanks for your game !

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:34am

Man I loved Rampage as a kid, this really took me back :) Good job. I did get stuck sometimes where all I could do was shoot my laser and couldn't move, I think it happened when I tried to punch and slam at the same time in the air.

Druid says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Wow! Fantasy version of rampage! :D Pretty fun entry!

CtrlAltTea says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:07am

Looks really cool and it's fun to play, good job!

EwChap says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:12am

Great fun. Art and game-play were wonderful. Got a great Rampage vibe from it.

derr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Fun game! If you made it just a tad faster the carnage would be much better. I enjoyed smashing up the buildings.

nihilaleph says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Great game! Loved the art and the audio! The controller was a bit stiff and buggy (after landing sometimes I got stuck on the ground, I was able to shoot lasers though). Other than that It was awesome!
Bonus points for those little guys that shoot but did no damage xp

Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Nice art and music!

Karai17 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:28am

Controls were a bit awkward (and no left handed jump?) but otherwise a fun little game.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:16am

I tried every button and couldn't figure out how to move the guy. Nice graphics though.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Cool graphics, sucks that you get stuck so easily. I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/mbmK1PaRvAU

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:19pm

A few glitches here and there, but otherwise a very well made and fun to play game!

arzi says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:25am

Fun game! But was it possible to destroy those towers at all?

rodobodolfo says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:13am

Awesome!

The whole time I was playing I was thinking why didn't they ever release a platforming Rampage game. This has the potential to be way better than Rampage.

The art style is lovely as is the audio, very evocative, took me back to my childhood.

I felt the controls were a bit clunky but it's a jam, you now have plenty of time to refine it all. I'm not keen on the name either. When I was on the title screen I thought I was about to play an RPG. Minor quibbles though, you guys have done a fantastic job! 5/5

Drauthius says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:20am

Great game! Nice level of polish.

ManuelGF says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Has some bugs (I got stuck on a three tower building) but it is amazing!! Good job!!

philomory says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Pretty sweet! I especially liked the graphics and audio, but the gameplay was nice as well. Felt like maybe it could have used a few power-ups or some similar element, though.

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:04pm

too many action keys make the game difficult to play. The art and soundtrack are very nice.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 8:45am

Well done! :) it reminds me of rampage if you know that game? where you go up to the buildings and smash windows?
i was impressed by the particles and the art style, really well done, i swore i could play that on megadrive sometimes! :D
well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]