Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Sickening

by michael.meadows - Compo Entry

You are the monster; a deadly green vomiting virus infecting the stomachs of your victims. Float your way through stomachs infecting red cells as you go, avoid the white cell or take them down if you are big enough, and watch out for the yellow cells. Infect everything and your dying victim will empty their stomach spreading the virus.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#225Innovation3.40
#313Fun3.24
#527Overall3.05
#669Theme3.05
#686Mood2.63
#738Humor2.00
#740Graphics2.53
#1668Coolness39%

Comments

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:07am

This game is kinda hard to get used to but once you are into it, it becomes pure fun! It's too simple and too fun!

KK says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:46am

Unique idea, it would be more nice with some sound effect!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Nice little game, reminded me of agar.io. The mouse controls were a bit more unique yet made the game kind of frustrating. I got to the third level where you can only eat cells of a certain size but even when I had infected all small cells I couldn't infect the big one :( overall, a nice little game. Well done!

SKT says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Fun little game, too bad there isn't a music and some sound effects.

bossmojoman says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:42pm

This was awesome. I can see this being a very addictive mobile game. You should totally make this a mobile game. I would buy this mobile game. Did I mention mobile game?

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:28am

Nice take on agar.io gameplay. Loved the control scheme.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Interesting, rather unique idea.

nassi says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:14pm

I felt like I was fighting against the controls too much. I think it might've been manageable if the player didn't have to have a certain velocity to infect the cells that were nearly the same size. Gave up at the map where the intro text finally disappeared.

hgcummings says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Cool mechanic and fun to play. Nicely challenging too towards the end. The controls felt a little awkward with the mouse but I think it would work really well on touch screens.

grynca says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:07pm

lots of fun with simple concept

Dianouille says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Cool game, it would be awesome on tablet :)

Louspirit says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Not really related with theme, but nice gameplay !! I would have liked sound on it.

MAnimal says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Tricky controls with mouse. I expect some more features.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]