Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Lardum

by Grahhhhh - Jam Entry

A quick 5 minute or less game. Even quicker if you don't like it.

"You are the monster"! All you need to do is hit space and watch it unfold.

There is a secret revealed when you complete the game, so spend those 10 minutes unlocking everything because frankly, it's worth it.
(There's been a lot of people stating they can't figure out the secret... Think of konami, and if you still can't get it googling "Konami" and "secret codes" should get you there ;) )

Thanks for playing :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#47Humor(Jam)4.03
#103Innovation(Jam)3.71
#407Theme(Jam)3.60
#410Mood(Jam)3.29
#439Fun(Jam)3.17
#500Overall(Jam)3.24
#667Graphics(Jam)3.07

Comments

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Man she's rough looking.

dwemthy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:22am

Got 4/7 endings. Neat way to affect the story.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:23am

Neat little game! it was fun to see what all those duders said.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:28am

"Quiet day."

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:31am

Neat little idea, and the secret mode was pretty funny XD

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:32am

That was actually worth replaying 14 times lol! Great job. Never thought to do a variable narrative like this before!

corupta says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:34am

Ok, I feel so idiotic to be unable to reveal the secret. Cool game other than that, nice idea actually.

Loutrattitude says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:36am

Good intentions, ideas, realisation, music, tuto ^^, voices ^^. More dynamism would have been better ! ;)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:49am

Nice! I did a story thing too, maybe you'll like it

jphelps says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:31am

like the concept, nice job overall

Sicilica says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:34am

That was definitely... unique.

"Quiet day" ~ best line 2015

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:18am

nice idea ^^. 5/7

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:33am

Great concept :-) got most of the different endings

benignbrett says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:52am

Quiet day.

Also, ending is way worth.

Pilly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:01am

Innovative use of storytelling and allowing the player to influence the story, well done! Secret mode is definitely worth it, though it took me 3 rounds of staring at the clue to figure it out (but then I kicked myself for not figuring it out sooner).

P.T.A says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:09am

Innovative and simple, with lots of endings, very interesting!

Azure_Kyte says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:43am

This is the most amazing thing since sliced bread. Well. Maybe not *quite*, but it was still extremely well put together. Great job :D

Wevel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:55am

Cool idea, I got all the endings :), couldn't figure out the secret tho.

DrZanuff says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Genius! Fun concept. Just a few entries have Voice Acting, and yet, yours are pretty good.

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Neat game. Still no idea what the secret was supposed to be.

squarepug says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:32pm

For originality this is awesome! I managed to unlock all the stories, and I read the note, but I went back to the tutorial and didnt really get it, nothing was different? Anyway, perhaps I missed something. The voice acting is really cool too.

texus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Fun game. It took some time to figure out the hint for the secret though.

shawn42 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Very unique idea and very fun(ny) Nice work.

psyduckfreak says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:35pm

very nice i like all the different endings

collaboration says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Dudes, you have awesome sense of humor, really love this game!

Omiya Games says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Nice job at selling us the game at Tech Valley Game Space's after party :). Had a lot of fun with the game and presentation. Awesome take on the theme.

SKT says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Got all the endings ! Fun little game. But I didn't know how to activate the secret ^^'

dregamr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:38pm

I discovered the secret ending!!! Oh, oh...XDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:04am

Interesting mechanic, can't say I've ever seen anything like this before. Keep it up!

Erlend Aakre says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:33am

haha, funny tutorial :D

Found it quite fun, unlocked all 7 versions of the play. Got a bit repetitive at the end, and adding more game mechanics would probably be good. Definitely an interesting concept, and the sound and graphics were all good.

wooltech says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:12am

Well, that was great.

magenta says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Haha! This made me snort tea from my nose :} The voice acting really makes this shine!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Nice Stories :)

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:09am

This game was great! :D

Funny from start to finish, loved the varied endings. The idea of taking this further and having multiple plays with different characters interjecting and changing the storyline is exciting! :p

Great idea for Ludum Dare, setting was spot on and added to the humour, voice acting was also great - props to those guys. Oh.. and LARDUM FU** YEAH! :)

Forlorn79 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:46pm

I liked this game overall, although I thought it would be even more fun if the scene went on longer in each story. The best part was the secret song that made me feel like the setting changed to Africa!

panda says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Wow, it's amazing how much fun you squeezed into such a simple mechanic! Great job! The graphics are great, the sound is fun, and you even included a menu and options, nice polish! Great job!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:27am

So funny!!!! 5 stars on humor. every ending was great. the secret is totally worth it

Denis347 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Nice concept, and fun dialogues. I enjoyed this!

Hjalte500 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:08pm

I like the humor in this game and it was nice to see something different.

Logan says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Ha, cute concept! I love the idea of changing the narrative based on just the one simple decision. Well-presented and enjoyable!

Indiestry says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Fun Concept, some nice humor here and there and good polish for a 72h game. I would love to have a way to completely mess up the play, just for fun, but maybe I simply didn`t find it ;).

jcwelgemoed says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Fun concept. Definitely keeps you trying again and again. could only get 6/7 though :).

Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Loved the secret ending, really funny game

hdong says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Mouse disappeared from the screen so it was hard to click options, though I feel that may be something going wrong on my side. Using chrome if that means anything.
Funny and a very polished game overall!

TsN_RaMPaGE says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:52pm

LOL. Really funny, and anything with a secret code is OK in my book. And as funny as you made this, I think the concept could be expanded to make some really cool narrative type games.

UncleChris says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:08pm

I got 6 of 7 - :) Can't figure out last one, have to grind more chickens I thinks. Awesome game, really a lot of fun and near game mechanic.

LeoM says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:15pm

I triggered the code but didn't see how it's affect the game ?
Is it the guy in pain singing ?

Antokolos says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Really really cool and fun game, we laughed a lot :)
We are fans of nonlinear plot and Interactive Fiction games, so this game mechanic was very interesting for us, among other things.
Got all the endings, but not the secret one :( Maybe we'll try again!

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:22pm

I've got to admit, I really found the self-awareness and the voice acting hilarious.

Managed to get all endings, although I can only get one achievement (I'm certain the second one is based on the konami code, but I don't know where to enter it).

The timing during the scene is quite a clever way to get different endings, really novel.

SkullPixel says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:33pm

I somehow got 21/7 endings!

I feel like I did something.

Humor = 5

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Couldnt figure out secret but this am was hilarious regardless. Good job!

dos says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:04am

Tu tu tu tu tuu tuu tuuuuu! :3

Eye-opening mechanic. May take some inspiration in my future games! ;)

danialias says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:19am

Got all the ends and the secret one :D (clues on the newgrounds comments). Really smart concept here, kind of choose your own adventure, which is really nice and entertaining. I would like to try more games like this one :). Good job!

Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:41am

Very interesting game mechanic.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:03am

Managed to unlock all endings without using the code. Anyway, absolutely loved the humour in this entry.

SoulGame says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:54am

It's quite funny :D

Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:34am

Looks like we got all of the endings. Interesting and kind of sweat.

OnlySlightly says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:40am

Wonderful game! I loved the mechanic. I love how with really simple input you managed to create all kinds of stories. It was really fun to discover all the endings!

MrTwister says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:42am

Incredible game! The most innovative game I've played so far. The voice acting was superb and each story was really funny!
Congratulations, loved the game!

Lady Beardo says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:47am

Ha! Chickens...

Druid says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:40am

Wow! One of most innovative gameplay! Pretty neat entry!

Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Lol, you made me smile today.
A little bit more of interaction would be nice though.

valid4life says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:42am

Funny! Enjoyed the game, great work!

MicroMacro says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:09am

I love how depending on where you enter actually changes the story! It's a nice little mechanic that got me playing over and over again to see how the game would play out!
Very nice entry!

Dizzly says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:35am

The idea behind this is very powerful. Changing the ending depending when entering the scene. Great job!

Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:39am

Innovative and simple. I didn't expect much going into the game, but I was pleasantly surprised. Crazy how a game about pushing space at different times can create a humourous and entertain experience :)

zatyka says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:43am

One of the most unique takes on the theme. You got a lot of mileage out of a very simple mechanic. I enjoyed playing.

marvalgames says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:45am

what a unique "experience"
Short but pretty special. Still trying to figure things out.
Do you normally make games like this because you have a knack?

BoskoSokolov says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:49am

First LD game that made me laugh, nice job. :D

BluShine says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:28am

Funny little game. Great touch with the "unlocked endings" counter, and the achievement for getting them all. More of an animation than a game, but still enjoyable.

Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:46am

Really well polished, and fun! Cool idea too! Can't say I've played a game like that before! Nice work!
Secret ending was well worth it!

Gaius Baltar says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:47am

Loved it. Although the dialogue was difficult to understand at times and the volume wasn't really well balanced.

cgmorton says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:36am

Haha what a great little game. Your humor is pretty on point.

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:33am

When I fisrt saw this, I wasn't going in with high expectations, to be honest. I was completely proven wrong, as soon as I opened the game. This might not be the most complex, or length-y or pretty game LD has to offer but it has tonnes of charm which I often find sticks with players much longer than any great pixel art. As soon as I checked out the tutorial I knew this game was going to be something else and I enjoyed it as a whole. It was funny, joked around with RPG and fairy tale tropes well and the voice acting was nice and really added a lot, especially for the monster. Overall, I feel this is one of the most charming and memorable entries I have seen so far!

reiknight says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:01am

"I spent like 10 hours clicking chickens" HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. I complete all the scenes and all are funny.Take my 5/5 in humor of course :P

crucknuk says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:40pm

I loved this theater type game! Definitely needs more of that genre! it was refreshing and lovely to go around and see those different scenes.

Well done comrade! :)

Matzigon says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Really good one! :) Nice job.

PokeyOne says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:09am

best part of the whole thing was probably the flying bacon at the end

Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:01am

Enjoyed trying to find all the possibilities, nice job!

LastLeaf says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:09am

Loading this game in newgrounds is quite slow for me. Finally I found 7 but not the secret >_<
Great audio and voice acting. (Why I cannot rate for audio?)
Nice job!

axoona says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:41pm

very good game, I really took that 10 minutes to unlock all endings and the secret code :)

Apostrophe says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 12:43am

Very innovative. Loved to see the butterfly effect from all the different points you could enter the story.

Kain.Oborin says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:50pm

I'm sorry it took me so long to play this game. It was definitely worth the wait. I absolutely love games like this one!

bombjack says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:09pm

not my kind of game but the idea is there. The multiples endings was a good idea.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]