Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Snake Strike

by steve - Compo Entry

Snake breaks shiny things! A tale of love, loss and shiny things!

__ Controls __

Best played with a 360 controller, but keyboard works fine.

Left stick/WASD/Arrows to move.
A button/Space/Enter to attack.

F11 to toggle fullscreen (borderless)

__ Notes __

The audio is a little quiet, there isn't much sound but you might need to turn your volume up to hear it; if there's no sound whatsoever and you're on an older verison of windows then it's possible you don't have a recent version of xaudio2, if that's the case I've added a win7 version of the game to the zip file which should hopefully solve the issue.

The game may be a little dark, if you start the game and don't see anything, try moving right.

I dithered on the theme, changed my mind a thousand times, and panicked at the end when I realised what I was doing was going to take too long and changed direction with two hours to go! Nevertheless I somehow managed to finish, so hopefully someone will enjoy this mess :)

__ Short Postmortem / Explanation __

I wanted this game to be more than it is, however time pressure got to me this compo and sadly I didn't have time to implement any gameplay from my original plans outside of the main characters control method.

In the last few hours before the submission deadline I decided that it was time to cut my losses and work what I had into some kind of game, which is why there's something of a dissonance between the visual/audio styling and the gameplay.

My rescue plan was to turn the game into a small playground for the monster, but I'd made the call to switch a little too late and even making those simple changes really pushed the time I had available.

Overall though I'm fairly happy with the final thing, it's incomplete and a bit of a mishmash but I was tackling something outside my normal comfort zone, so I feel this was a good failure to learn from :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#16Graphics4.51
#66Mood3.81
#299Overall3.33
#455Audio2.74
#548Innovation2.87
#626Theme3.14
#700Fun2.68
#733Humor2.05

Comments

Florent Juch says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Graphics are awesome ! Great game !

guoboism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Great animation. Simple game logic.
Personaly pick.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:05pm

wow graphics are great and the gameplay super cool too, very impressive the main character animation, good job.

Spyboy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Great atmosphere!

jk5000 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Very beautiful game.

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:26pm

A nice little game! I didn't hear any sound, though (I thought this may be due to some problem since you've nominated in the audio category). And I wish there would've been some difficulty with the "enemies", some fail state. Since they are no threat to me I just had nice time smashing them, but still wish they would've fought back. :)
And - that's some crazy graphics! I really like the visuals.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Omg true love @ the end :) xxxxxxx

Dukio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:59pm

This graphics and ambientation... I would spend some money to play something that look like this for sure :O

Insality says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:31pm

This animations... I love it!
Great graphics and design man!

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:21pm

The mood, the graphics and all the atmosphere of the game is awesome! Good job. I just want to know why i'm destroying all these...things? :p

Polyganz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Looks and feels nice to play but lacks some core elements to complete the gameplay.

LeoM says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Nice graphics and ambiance in general. ;)

Skyfish says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:48pm

It's very patapon, but I like that about it. It's a good thing.

frokes says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Stunning graphics! Would have loved some kind of scoring or something and maybe reduce the "fuzzy" filter in the menu, other than that, brilliant!

Pusty says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:05pm

I love the snake textures! ;D

HThomson says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:16pm

The animation is fantastic, I love how the spines sway when you aren't moving.
Gameplay was a little dull, there didn't seem to be any way to fail so there was little in the way of a challenge.

I know you designed with controller in mind, but perhaps you should consider using the mouse to guide the movement instead of the arrow keys and then click to attack. I feel like that would give a smoother experience and would fit better with the winding, serpentine animations since the arrow keys make the movements kind of jerky.

charliecarlo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:25pm

This is excellent. I'm not sure if there's a way to take damage or anything, but I had fun playing around with it regardless. I like your graphical style, it's an efficient mix of good looking versus time required.

garvon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Love the visuals and sound make for a really good atmosphere. There is not much gameplay content but it has a lot of potential to be expanded upon.

Clurect says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Wow these graphics and the way the snake moves!

Jelinib says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:52pm

This looks amazing! It was pretty satisfying to charge into the glowy objects, even though it seemed mostly unnecessary for reaching the end. Well done!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:52pm

The snake animation and overall art style are incredible. Sound is subtle, but it works perfectly, too.

As for gameplay, the controls feel smooth and polished, so it is a pity that the game, due to the woes of development (we've all been here some time T_T), lacks a proper challenge because it certainly deserves one.

It would be really cool if you tried to make some good use of this post-jam, because it seriously was promising something amazing. Have you got any plans about it?

Congratulations!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:59am

The graphics and mood for this one are fantastic. Liked the snake movement.

fullmontis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:52pm

The game has an excellent visual style and control. I love the way the snake moves, it is almost lifelike. I don't really get thought what those cogs are there for. I thought they were enemies, but then I touched them and nothing happened. And also I don't see how it fits the theme. But apart from this, it is very nice.

steve says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Thanks for the kind words everyone!

In terms of the gameplay, I really ran out of time on this one, I had other plans (possibly obvious because of the visual style not really fitting with the kind of game that I ultimately made), so in the last couple of hours of the compo I did a complete 180 on my design and just threw in the gameplay you see as quickly as possible so I'd have something to submit.

I felt that the control method ended up being somewhat interesting in itself and built a playground around it for people to mess about in, which is the explanation behind why the funky spikey things exist :)

The theme connection was originally going to be you playing a monster in a sort of urban encroachment situation, however after my 180 the only call out to monstrousness is the main character being somewhat out of the ordinary and a little monstrous itself :)

Thanks for playing!

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Love the graphics. animations are point-on! Great submission. Congratulations

lycanpoet says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Awesome looking game, the controls were a little difficult for keyboard, the games concept is pretty unique for my. needs some more music. well done :)

KAGSme says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Definitely one of the best looking games I've seen in the jam thus far. Controls feel good, I kind of wish there was more to it in terms of the design.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Great ambience construction but i didn't really get it...
Anyway, snakey just wanted looooove i guess. haha

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:11am

Graphics are awesome - a beautiful aesthetic. I like how moves the snake. However, the gameplay seems to me really minimalist - pass through in a level so as to find another snake. Friend! You got a neat universe and I think that you could do something great with it. Thank you for this entry ++

amras0000 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:21am

First off, animation is beautiful.

Second, I opened up my volume mixer to make sure; it's not that the sound is quiet, there is no audio coming out of the game.

For the great majority of the game, I assumed my goal was to destroy all the things. This led me in the direction of RSI, and was generally frustrating. Once I realized I could ignore the round things the game got a little better, though it only lasted a few seconds past that. It would have been MUCH more satisfying to be able to smash through the round things just by running into them, without mashing the action button. Working sound would have also made the experience several times more satisfying.

steve says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:00pm

@amras0000 I've recompiled the game against an older version of the directx sdk, which might solve your sound problem, if you redownload the zip the new exe is available alongside the old one.

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Ahah the ending was a cheesy! Cool game

Birke says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:58pm

I really liked the art style and the feel of controlling the snake. It would have been nice if the game had provided a challenge and some music or ambience would also have been good. Really impressed with the animation of the snake though.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:51pm

I love the movement and it looks truly amazing. Please work on this more! It was nice just moving around :)

uheartbeast says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Love the mood and graphics in this one.

irwatts says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Movement and animation feel awesome! I would definitely play a full featured version of this.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:46pm

The visual is quite nice, he atmosphere is very good, this entry has a lot of potential. great job!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Pssst - you have been featured on todays Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out here - https://youtube.com/watch?v=Qg4MzGbqQ9I

Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Looks really awesome! You should consider taking it further!

GarethIW says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Looks really nice, it would be nice to see how the completed game would have turned out.

- CH

Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Really neat snake game. I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/bouSnGLQUcs

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]