Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Kibjow

by Zeriver - Compo Entry

You are a ghost with ability to change your form to Skeleton-form and you also can possess people.

Controls:

W S A D + Spacebar (double jump)
Rest is explained in the game.

!! You need Java 8 to run this game !!

-----

I wanted to make much more in-game mechanics but unfortunately because of the time limit i wasn't able to. Anyway i'm going to expand on this concept and finish my game someday. Have fun playing Kibjow.

Language: Java
Programs used: Eclipse, paint, paint.Net, FL Studio


Update 2015-08-29:
-Fixed framerate issue
-Fixed changing speed bug
-Fixed loading background bug

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#191Innovation3.47
#419Audio2.83
#439Graphics3.14
#448Fun3.05
#453Overall3.14
#455Theme3.42
#455Mood3.00

Comments

Cosine says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Awesome! I really liked the mechanics!

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:20pm

I liked this game overall, the concept was innovative and the gameplay was fun for a while but got repetitive and after the tutorial you had to attempt to play with unbearable lag, it suited the theme perfectly and I really liked the simplistic art style as well as the menu with the popup text that would slowly type on screen (really cool effect), I LOVED the soundtrack and that really contributed to an excellent mood. Overall was really nice but suffered greatly due to lag.

DifferentName says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Cool idea, but doesn't always play as well as I hoped. I got through the tutorial, but couldn't beat the next level. It was a very steep change of difficulty.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Nice Art :D Great game and music. Hard to believe this was made in less than 2 days!

Mantlair says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Cool mechanics. I wish there was more stuff for playing.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:35pm

A little short but very nice! I like the gameplay mecanics.

bossmojoman says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Great job, Loved the skeleton/ghost/posession mechanic

cynicalmonkey says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:28pm

i liked the mood of it felt ghostly noir, controls had a little jank to them. did I miss a memo or something? This is the 3rd or 4th ghost possesses people game I have played

Electron says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:24am

Good concept , mechanics ,
Innovative overall !

Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:56am

Did I miss something? The second level seems unbeatable. Whether or not I possess someone in the group of ghost detectors, the red wall comes and kills me.

I like where you're going with the mechanics though. There's just not enough content (at least, content which appears to be beatable).

Zeriver says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:37am

Thank you very much for feedback everyone!

About red wall/laser, you have to change your forms to escape it. In skeleton you run faster so use this form, but when you see a obstacle, change to ghost for a moment and when you get past it change back to skeleton.
If you don't have much life left after passing ghost detectors, you can possess civilian and regenerate health.

Resonious says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:25pm

The jump is weird, I'm sure you're aware. Very unique concept though. Could lead to some interesting puzzles if further fleshed out. Nice work.

NexusBreaker says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:42pm

I like the principe of the ghost and the detective ^^

careless says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:15pm

I like the concept and art work. Would be nice to see how you might develop story and levels given more time. Well done

Insality says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:12pm

first impression: Nice done with menu! its looks amazing, i love it =)
Game mechanics also was created succesful, it was interesting to play, its the most important thing!
Good job!

nivalis says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Nice work, characters look good and i really LOVED soundtrack. It really sync well with the main theme and the atmosphere.

Roboboy says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Very interesting concept! I also had a problem with a bit of lag, but my laptop is also really old... Great game though!

hgcummings says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Really great artworks and nice gameplay mechanic. Controls were a little odd (especially jumping) and I didn't work out how to avoid the wall of death on level 2 (but from the assets it looks like there is no level three). Would definitely like to see the mechanic fleshed out with more levels and puzzles.

Fanatrick says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Very cool, the detective sprite reminds me of Gunpoint.

Jelinib says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:34am

Love the concept here. Stage 2 was quite challenging! I was sad the game was quite short, haha.

The game gets really quiet after the music stops. Needs to loop, and also sound effects!

Nicely done, would like to see this developed further!

Almax27 says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Found the jumping in possessed and skeleton form a little awkward but really enjoyed the atmosphere and visuals. Great title menu too, simple but slick. Awesome stuff :D

thedashdude says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:21pm

This was okay, but was clearly limited by the 48 hour time. This could be really great if you worked on it a little more!

Cosmic5 says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Was fun. The music stopped playing after a while. I think it really could have benefited from the music looping. I rated the game as though the music looped, in case it was a glitch.

sorlok says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 4:09am

Fun! I liked the swapping mechanic, but had trouble with the red-wall stage. Good job!

General says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Interesting idea, this can be expanded into a bigger title.

The video reviews of the games I played: https://youtu.be/gAPMEoLs5yA
Your game is at 35:40

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]