Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Tale of Two Monsters

by luckypanda - Jam Entry

Two short stories about monsters.

Cursor keys to move. In story #2 (levels 3 and 4), spacebar shoots.

Made with Gamestar Mechanic (with stock assets).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2355Coolness0%

Comments

Paivictor says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 10:41pm

I just don't get it...

fistmaker says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:06am

I beat the level, but I'm not sure how.
Controls well and the objective is make clear.
Had to experiment to find out what some of the
gameplay mechanics were.

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:30am

I'm sorry, but this game is madness.

I killed the enemies on the first level (frag enemies? How do I do that? Oh, I walk into them.) Then at some point I realized the little star people on the second level were invincible, so I went after the other guys, which wasn't easy because they were teleporting everywhere! Also you've got fake walls and such, which is a bit tricksy.

Then just when I thought I had a handle on things the whole game morphs into a friggin' platform game! Government agents! Which ones are the government agents? Aargh!

Yeah, I didn't pass the government agents level. Had fun though. Mental.

(By the way, just so you know for next time, stock assets aren't allowed).

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:30am

Oops, this is jam! Disregard asset comment.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:17am

The graphics and the music are very nice, but I found the gameplay to be a bit ... vanilla.
Killing monsters requires very little skill outside of just chasing them down, and reaching goal blocks is a bit frustrating when they are all hidden behind seemingly normal blocks.
I also found it problematic that there is no clear display of the player's health. I plowed through a bunch of apparently hazardous enemies in the second level before dying, not realizing that some enemies had the ability to hurt me if I touched them. It felt inconsistent given that my primary goal is to touch a certain type of enemy to kill it, and the visual distinction between the safe and dangerous enemies is a bit too subtle.

afisicos says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:20pm

I love mechanics of the game. Nice graphics.

Saf says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:02am

Good game. I had trouble understanding when you are ready for moving through the tiles. The enemy health bar system works great, that was a surprise!

Brightstar says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:21am

Neat to have different objectives each level. during the second level the blocks that kill you if you don't move in time aren't very nice.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]