Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

YOU'RE IT!

by luizgama - Jam Entry

EDIT: As this is an online game, nobody can play if they can't find any filled rooms to match. To fix that, we're scheduling the hour 1:00 PM PDT as a time we're gonna be online everyday, while LD#33 votes. Also, you're welcome to join with a couple friends and play together whatever time!

--

You're it! is an online multiplayer tag game, the Tag is the "monster", and other players will run from it.
Every player has a time to live, and while you're it, your time will decrease till 0, when you're out of the game. The last remaining player is the winner.

Controls:
Move: W,A,S,D or Arrows
Dash: Z, Left Mouse Button
Item: C, Right Mouse Button

There's a 100 concurrent users limit to Unity's networking service, let's hope we hit the cap ;)

We are a 9 person team from Brazil:
João Brant @brantkings (programming)
Júlia Santos @BellePullip (concept & logo art)
Lucas Mattos @rasomattos (programming)
Lucas Andrade Mello @superdoft (programming)
Luiz Henrique Gama @luizhgama (programming)
Luiz Roveran @luizroveran (music & sfx)
Núria Pratginestós @nuriamaury (concept, 3d art and textures)
Thommaz Kauffman @Thommaz (music & sfx)
Victor Leão @victor_fl (concept, 3d art and textures)
Game and Level design from everyone on the team :)

It was the first 3D game for almost all of our team, and also the first online multiplayer game. Unity Network API gave us a lot of trouble, but we think we managed to get most of the issues out of the way.
We still want to improve the net code to reduce lag for clients, and the ui flow (disabling/enabling buttons, more ui feedback, etc)

Personally, it was my first time using Unity, and also first time programming the network layer. We were worried if we'd manage to get the multiplayer working on time from the start, so one of the programmers (me) worked 100% of the first day to get the basic network code up and running while the rest of the team worked on the game. Still after it was playable, spent most of the time learning how to use Unity's new network API and tweaking.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2092Coolness22%

Comments

01101101 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Just commenting because I haven't played it yet, still waiting for someone to join... Too bad there is no AI to play with ;)
Apparently we had the same idea: a tag game where you loose when you've spent too much time as the monster :)

luizgama says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Hello, yes, we are about fixing this problem with no players around. Thinking about making a scheduled play every day while the voting takes place.

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:05pm

yeah do smth about no players please i want to try the game :D

luizgama says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:39pm

People! 1:00 PM PDT (That's 4:00PM on New York or 9:00 PM in London, UK) we're scheduling a daily play from us the developers, so people can try the game.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:44pm

I just got a game going with my brother and it was really fun. Impressive work for a weekend project!

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Very nice work! Gameplay was fun and the powerups really pulled it all together. The only sore point is the graphics, I'm not sure the minecraft style works well ever. Music was fantastic. Played with 3 people.

I made an online multiplayer game the past two ludum dares, so I can relate to it being difficult to get people to rate your game without being on their own. I found three solutions; make a bot client that runs on a server and plays with people who have no other people to play with, rate some games and leave the page open to lower your default score so multiple people play before rating, and submit your game to streams where people play your game live. It's a little tedious to have to do this to get ratings, which is why I'm probably not doing it again soon. :P

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Hey, great game! I love seeing networked games in Ludum Dare, and I understand how much work goes into writing and running them.

I really liked the use of the theme to create a nice twist on the game of tag, and items make it quite interesting to play as well. The music was pretty good, and the graphics were quite pleasing.

I'd recommend setting up a monitoring page of some kind that listens into the server, my brother and I have used this in past ludum dares to alert us when players joined our games. It's far less stress than constantly fretting over people who rated your game without playing.

The only thing I'd really change are the box mechanics - I think they'd work well if you placed them underneath the character and then made them solid once you walked off (Bomberman Style) to allow for really cool escapes. Still, a very solid entry. Well done!

Llucile says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:05pm

I will wait for a room to be filled to try this game...

liquidmedia says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:33am

Sorry nothing to do except view the loading screen.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]