Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Power Lich

by rattower - Compo Entry

You are a lich!
Destroy the living and their castle!

Left Mouse: Attack/Move
Right Mouse: Resurrect/Skeleton Attack
Middle Mouse: Cancel Attack

UPDATE (24.08.2015, 15:00)

* Fixed a tiny bug that let various players (probably with faster PCs than mine) glitch through walls.
* Fixed a small player control bug
* Added a line to game instructions


UPDATE (24.08.2015, 23:15)

* Fixed the bug that ACTUALLY caused the wall glitching. It was rather a flaw in the level design though. A classic corner/collider glitch... I think... I hope... fingers crossed.

UPDATE (25.08.2015, 2:30)

* Added downloads for Windows/Mac OS/Linux

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#153Fun3.54
#231Overall3.46
#258Graphics3.49
#263Theme3.70
#368Innovation3.16
#440Mood3.03
#527Humor2.57
#575Audio2.42

Comments

sydan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:09am

This was really fun! I was very engrossed playing it, it's very simple yet perfectly challenging!

Birke says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:13am

Lovely low poly art and fun gameplay. It took me a while to figure out how to use the resurrect spell. I'd suggest placing the graves closer to the player to start with and also play a negative alert sound when it is used on an invalid location to make it clear to the player she is doing it wrong. Getting points for how many houses, peasants and knights you get would also give it some more replayability.

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Really clean low-poly art and fun gameplay! I hope that you continue to work on this game in the future!

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:21pm

The low-poly art and hoards of the death remind me of Death Inc. It's a great game if you haven't heard of it yet. Good Job - I thoroughly enjoyed playing it.

t4u says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:28pm

I really dislike that skeletons can't attack (acts only as living shields).

Aside from that over all like in all (graphic, sounds, gameplay). I would probably preffer to move using wsad.

Big like for burning houses - Really nice effect.

rattower says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:36pm

@t4u
Hi,
Right clicking enemies orders your skeletons to attack them.

architect404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:01pm

the undead prevail! wow, this is really fun, has huge potential. great job!

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Had fun playing it, I like how you can resurrect the undead and turn them into your army!

Polyganz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Funny game but too damn hard thus disappointing to play. Could have a lot potential if you improve the controls and the guards/zombie dynamics.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Holy crap! Amazing game :) Very fun concept. I love RTS style games especially when you get to play as a commander. Great job!!!

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:13pm

nice graphics and lighting...lacking hit animations though made it less enjoyable, but overall good job

snade says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Well made! I still managed to glitch thru the wall though. even though you fixed that?

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Very good game! I really enjoy the graphic style too :)

rattower says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:52pm

@snade
That's really weird. Can you tell me where you glitched through?

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Yesss! Very cool dude. I really wanted a command to tell my skeletons to attack the closest enemies (and one to cancel it so they go back to just shielding me) simple and great game!

rattower says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:23pm

@HiVE interactive
Thanks man! You can call your skeletons back by clicking with the middle mouse button.

FZeroRacer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:42am

Overall a really fun game. Raising your skeletons and going to town is easy and works great, no real problems.

packetpirate says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:41am

You might just win this thing! Great job!

Halfbus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Nice, take a while for me to find out how to resurrect)

Rocketship says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Love the style of the game. Although the gameplay is basically very simple, you need to be quite careful in assessing if you can take on those soldiers, as they are quite strong. Well done!

kmiitz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Very good game, add some music and sound would be perfect

solorvox says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Nice game, clean art and easy to figure out. Did find it a bit hard as I think skeletons should auto attack and clicking them would not always register. Graves would sometimes miss raycast and no be able to cast resurrection.

Meat Us says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Hey, very cool game, this can be easily continued with different types of monster, ennemies... Good work !

Lane says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Cool Art, its nice that you kept it simple and polished it with a very simple scope. Seems bug free and does what you intended =)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Incredibly fun amassing an army of skeletons and setting fire to houses!

Andrew says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:20pm

THe chess-piece style of the creatures is very fitting considering you're a lich and everyone is/can be your pawn.

Frozen Ninja says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Very Interesting, love the graphics style, although the game is difficult due to the speed that guards run at. good job man. Also, movement would have been better with WASD or arrow keys

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Damn! This is funny! I really like the gameplay mechanics and I played a lot!
The graphic is clean and nice and the audio well suited!
The game is also a little difficult to beat! Well done! :D

StaNov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Best game i've played so far. I'd welcome some tutorial on ressurecting, because I was smashing all enemies by my self and it seemed unbeatable.

Great job! :)

Connors says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:52pm

I didn't find it incredibly challenging, but this was mostly because I figured out that you can lure individual guards away from the others and pick them off one by one, so I had lots of skeleltons by the end. I still enjoyed it, though.

It took me a bit to figure out that you can order skeletons to attack but when I did it got way more fun.

The low poly art is pretty cool.

Muush says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:40pm

had a lot of fun with this, good job!

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:13am

Great game! It was really challenging. Art was lovely too. I genuinely wanted to play more levels! top quality

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:19am

THE UNDEAD PREVAIL! this was way more fun than expected...

gty says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:24am

Really nice game, loved it!

Macecraft says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:54am

Really enjoyed this. It's a bit simplistic but I understand the restraints of a jam. It's something I was easily able to find funny and enjoyable.

djfariel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:02am

That was a lot of fun, but I really couldn't beat it. Tried a few times and just can't figure out how to not lose three skeletons per guard. haha. Ah well, great job. :)

liquidmedia says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:31am

GG it's a copy of an older game, it runs and plays well.

BNeutral says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:33am

Spooky

jk5000 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:18am

Scary and great idea, but it's too difficult.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:17am

Fun to play, not to difficult but still offers a challenge. I'd say this is my favorite entry of the ones I reviewed. Only problem is no music.

randomhuman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:52am

Simple but fun. I actually felt quite upset any time one of my zombies got killed >:(

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Amazing work for just two days. Congrats!

TLansdale says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Really cool, enjoyed this one!

gmaker says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:01pm

low-poly art is awesome =)

monetai says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:28pm

I love the low poly art =) It's pretty fun but it would be awesome if there were a music.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:30pm

This is a lot of fun and very much on theme :) Congrats :D

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:18pm

I like the art style you went with. It's simple, but effective. Cool game overall. Nice work!

AdayMC says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:05pm

I liked so much this entry, the guards really kicked me out! I'm gonna try it once again with full horde :P

Ptolo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Lovely art style and I liked all the units sliding around like miniatures :3 Interesting mechanics of building up your horde and attacking decisively. Impressive to make so much for a solo compo entry!

aeai says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:26pm

This was really fun, it took some time before i figured out how summoning worked but after that nobody could stop my undead army :)

boardtobits says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:58pm

I never knew I wanted a zombie army at my command until I played this game. Great concept!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Hey! Thanks for creating a game.

What we liked:
Having a big hoard of skeletons follow you around is really fun, and it was nice to be able to direct them where to attack. The art style was nice and the objectives (kill all the things) were clear from the start.

What could be improved:
It wasn't entirely clear how to direct the skellies to attack. Once I worked that out the game was really really easy. Fun, but very short. A bit of music would have really added some atmosphere to the game and the sounds were limited but worked well enough in the game.

Realize2D says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:40pm

It was really fun! And nice graphics too.

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:51am

Really nice game. It remind me the level of Warcraft 3 where you play as Arthas and you need to slaughter infected citizens. You could add people inside the houses to make them interesting to destroy.

bouletmarc says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:29am

fun, nice design, clean game

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:50am

Awesome virus-style game. Love these things. Was very satisfying building my army up and then crushing the castle! ;) Good job.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:44am

Really cool game! I like the direction you took with the theme, and you had very tight rts mechanics which I think I've seen so far who has managed to execute that correctly in Ludum Dare.

OFF says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:24am

Really fun and challenging.
Actually reaction from zombie would have been cool in order to avoid mass murder by a poor soldier.
Could be more fun with archer and other kind of zombie, skeleton, and also upgrade for creature by choice or automatically with xp point when they fight.
It lack of screams and war sound great.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:47pm

The undead prevail! I had fun, looks sweet, felt like a monster, good job!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:39pm

This was really fun. I enjoyed the board game aesthetic.

careless says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:15am

Great low poly models and a nice clean environment. Simple controls and task, was fun to play. Did not hear any sounds at all, maybe a bug on Firefox for Mac not sure.

A few attack FX and some basic animations you could make a nice game from this, you got a good solid base to something bigger.

Well done.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Really nice graphics :D Loved the low-poly art.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:38pm

nice, love the low poly style.

-CH

lycanpoet says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Clean, Smooth, well put together and really fun to play. Excellent Work :)

Mothdan says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:07pm

High scores all around, great work man.

WizzardMaker says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Great game idea! loved the gameplay

Jacktheviper says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:13pm

The idea of playing a powerful lich on a quest to increase your power and is a lot of fun, everytime you kill one of those pesky guards or villagers and raise their skeleton to be added them to your army of darkness is a joy.

My main complaint would be the lack of some features like pathfinding for the skeletons and enemies and more enemy variety but that is understandable considering the time frame, the game obviously has a lot of potential to be expanded.

aaronsnoswell says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:53am

Cool game mate! I love the art style :P Super cool. Some music would add a lot. The gameplay was quite balanced too - I wasn't able to defeat the castle guard :P 4/5!

Vladirien says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Loved that entry, the controls were simple and having a lot of skeletons felt powerful. Good job!

juxipolo says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:35pm

We had some very similar ideas about how to approach this theme :)
I dig the art style. It would be nice if the skeletons had a little autonomy or it was more clear that the skeletons were attacking something and not just standing around. Was there a point to burning down the houses, or was it just cool to do?

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Very addictive game, it was super fun and I really enjoyed the game. Some replay value added to the game would be nice!

adsilcott says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:56pm

What a fun game! I love the way the games progresses, either you get stronger and stronger or you get wiped out and have to rebuild. Reminds me of my days of playing Diablo 2 with a necromancer :)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Nice Idea, and good game.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:06am

this game is hard. I liked gathering as much people as i could, but it was just so hard not to attract the guards before i was ready to fight them. :-)

Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:35am

Pretty fun game, balancing your army and such. A bit annoying when they got stuck on trees but I guess they are only mindless undead!

Frump says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:56am

Pretty fun. Clicking to attack and walk was a bit awkward. satisfying to build up a horde. Liches are cool.

Sep 6, 2015 @ 10:44am

Really nice game! I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/U5AMORGkiRk

bombjack says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:56pm

haha I liked the gravestones :)

superfreak says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Enjoyable and polished entry :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]