Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Trickers

by Dege - Compo Entry

You were Trick or Treating on the halloween night, but a grumpy man sent you away without your deserved treats, now it's Tricking time!

To scare the old grumpy man you must push the correct arrow keys when they align whith the bottom grid.

Tools used:

Unity3D - Coding
Aseprite - Graphic
BeepBox - Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#639Humor2.31
#798Graphics2.38
#821Mood2.25
#868Innovation2.13
#880Theme2.38
#909Overall2.38
#917Fun2.00
#1981Coolness28%

Comments

sythe2o0 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:08am

The music is not very nice, a mute button would have been cool.

dusho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:41pm

some better indication that you're doing good would be nice.. what you hit correctly and what not

tomdeal says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:02pm

I think it would benefit from an indicator when you hit the button, maybe even a sound.

terop2 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:03pm

The controls were a little odd, since the web page scrolled with arrow keys, so the whole screen was jumping. But otherwise it worked fine. The game idea was a well known idea from other game.

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Everything works! The notes could have been more in-sync with the button presses, and some feedback when hit would be great. Nice effort.

Joror says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Nice little 'dance' game. Some more feedback to player / timing the arrows to the music would be great.
And not quite sure why we are 'arrowing' the old man? Maybe we are doing the devil's dance? ;)

MicroMacro says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:57pm

As said before some telling of how well you're doing would be nice. Otherwise, it was alright.

GBGames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Ok, it's like Dance Dance Revolution: Halloween Scare Edition. I had trouble, but I managed to scare the old man on the first try. Then I purposefully tried to lose to see what happens.

I like how the faces changed based on how well you're doing, but it was subtle and I didn't notice it at first. I'm concentrating on the arrows, so I need something a bit visibly "louder" to let me know how things are going.

Control- wise, I think it felt super responsive. I never felt like I missed when I should have gotten a hit.

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:16am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

MAnimal says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 1:12pm

You should add some more features

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]