Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Master's Treasure

by Aaranos - Compo Entry

In the dark world of monsters there exists another side to the heroes that many do not consider. They run around saving people but did you know they are horrible thieves and dinner thieves? I didn't think so!

I, Turrios, have been tasked by my master to guard his treasure and add to it from those that come seeking it.

With my trusty battleaxe I am ready.



Controls:

Movement - Arrow keys

Jump - Spacebar

Attack - Z key

I recommend full screening to avoid the scrollbar going crazy, haven't figured out how to link to itch.io in a way that goes DIRECTLY to the game and not the page.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#239Fun3.37
#294Humor3.11
#378Audio2.92
#448Theme3.43
#465Overall3.13
#529Mood2.92
#629Graphics2.78
#644Innovation2.71

Comments

Darkhaul says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Physics are crazy as anything. But its really nice, I like the art and it plays well too

Vereos says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:07am

Simple but fun :) Unfortunately on Chrome if you press Spacebar the page scrolls so you can't see what's going on, but it's entertaining anyway!

ccglp says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:07am

Very nice gameplay, with more levels and a bit work in physics you have a nice mobile game :) Keep the hard work!

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:11am

The fact that the guards collided with each other made this game, also this has to be the best song that is under 7 seconds long.

vegapomme27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Nice ! I liked it because the gameplay works just fine despise the fact it looks really crazy.
Good job

peecestudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:26am

Like the art style, fun physics, and cool idea

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:34pm

You can kind of cheese the game by knocking people over. If you are getting overwhelmed on one side, just knock someone over and it'll cause a huge pileup.

bakakyo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:20pm

LOL the physics are kinda crazy but it's a fun game. I liked the mood and characters very much. It's a simple but a fun game. Nice work!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Love the physics! The chest is something like a black hole. Poor knights don't even want to get that to that chest, they're geting sucked in against their will.

Cryptix says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:01pm

You made a simple game very fun, and also very addicting!!!

KayZ says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Nice game. I had a similar idea for LD29. Just with a completely different mechanic and genre :D. The physics are funny with knights suddenly turning like crazy. The music was well fitting too.

undef says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Funny idea, it's a lot more fun to kill enemies by touching them, because of the crazy physics. :)

crucknuk says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:14pm

I actually liked it, i felt like Hulk tossing away knights in their armor :P
well the music is a bit repetitive but it felt so good using the axe! :D

ohsqueezy says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:09am

Really nice. Maybe you can push crazy physics to your advantage? It's such a simple game but with crazy physics it could be made even more extreme and hilarious. Like what if the knights were bonking around the creen and collisions with other knights gave you a combo or something lol

Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:24am

Nice take on the theme. Good little defense sapper.

Hjalte500 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:11am

I love the crazy physics and the gameover screens. Very entertaining

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:27am

Cool game! Physics are really funny xp Music is good but too repetitive, art is good too but a bit incoherent (Minotaur(?) and knights are very minimalist, while chest and coins are quite detailed)
Some progression, like objectives/stages/different enemies would be nice, but still, good job!

Kizler says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:01am

"This has to be the best song that is under 7 seconds long." I came here to say almost exactly that! I love the physics in this game I hope that was intentional.

Jelinib says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:24am

Dominoes with knights is pretty funny!

I found that I never really had a reason to jump. Perhaps in the future, we'll have flying enemies?! :P

Cool game!

abcdef65g says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:28am

The game is simple but fun, I like the cleanness personally, and it isn't an obvious fact that in between protecting the treasure and your own health it is better to protect the life, after all the money can be recovered afterwards...

Oh and call me weird but the sprite looks so much like Yogi Bear I am giving you two extra stars for humor for free! XD

xvw says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:18pm

This game is very fun! :D
The physics of the knights make the game hilarious! :D
The idea is well found.
I wish we could always rush to the knights, make them flit off, but the life bar... :)

MAnimal says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Nice sounds. Why are creeps rolling?

UekiShurei says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Like the others said, the physics are funky, though it does give the game some humor. Also, damn awesome bassline.

Sep 12, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Hey! Thanks for making a game.

What we liked:
This was really simple but it was fun to bat the knights away. Although the physics were ridiculous it was actually quite funny to see them spinning towards the chest. I'm glad you implemented a way to recover gold - that keeps it playable without getting boring. The sounds and music fitted the graphics well.

What could be improved:
The music was a very short loop and this is quite noticeable, but it's good all the same. A little variation would make it even better. A sound to indicate you had been hit would be useful too as the gameplay is fairly frenetic. I couldn't see a reason that you'd included a jump button?

superfreak says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Ridiculous physics which makes for addictive playing - enjoyable / 10

General says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:28am

Here's the video of me playing: https://youtu.be/BtVCl5-xRYo
Your game is at 40:32

Especially I liked how the already hit knights are frightened to approach me once more, and the back knights keep pushing :) Also it's cool that I can get money back if I'm quick enough.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]