Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Massacre Monday

by wg_phancock - Jam Entry

OBJECTIVE
----------------
You are the monster, driven by an innate desire to smash everything you see, with absolutely no regard for human life. Avoid the military and police, who will stop at nothing to take you out before you can cause too much mayhem.

CONTROLS
----------------
Keyboard:
- W/A/S/D: Move the monster around
- Space: Smash attack
- ESC: Exit game
- B: Disable bloom shader effect (slight performance increase)

Gamepad:
- Left analog stick: Move the monster around
- Any face button: Smash attack

ABOUT DEVELOPMENT
----------------
Our goal for this LD was to create an action game with a visceral feel, because we hadn't ever really done a full action game before. We tried to focus on little details of design we would often overlook, such as screen shake or physics effects. Overall we were pretty pleased with the final result, even though there's always more that could have been added.

All the art, design, and code for this game was created during the 72 hour jam period. The engine is written in Haxe, using OpenFL/HaxeFlixel. All the art was made using the wonderful software PyxelEdit, except for a few things done in Photoshop. This is our second Ludum Dare entry. The first was in LD32, called Glorch's Great Escape.

WHO ARE WE?
----------------
We are a two man team from Warrior General Games, creators of Goal Line Blitz 1 and 2, Mighty Brawlers, and our last Ludum Dare entry, Glorch's Great Escape (which is currently on Steam Greenlight).

You can follow our lead developer on Twitter at @wg_phancock if you want to keep tabs on what we're up to.


MUSIC CREDITS
----------------
Music used in this game is available on the Free Music Archive by the following artists. Thanks!

http://freemusicarchive.org/music/LJ_Kruzer/Dance_Audit_Hour/Chantiers_Navals_412
http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Goto80/Open_Funk_Sores/00_goto80_-_this_machine_thinks

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#9Fun(Jam)4.21
#24Theme(Jam)4.28
#41Overall(Jam)4.08
#96Mood(Jam)3.87
#97Audio(Jam)3.77
#185Graphics(Jam)4.09
#211Humor(Jam)3.45
#384Innovation(Jam)3.19

Comments

alexrus07 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:54am

Really fun and enjoyable game :) controls take some time to get used to.

RiverAndRun says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:58am

Enjoyable and a very good looking game. Well Done :D

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:58am

I'd pay for this (seriously). Best game I've rated so far; Amazing, amazing job!

grywhttl says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:30am

Good fun! Love the old GTA style. Nice touch with the naming of victims!

sararyCow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:22am

I connected emotionally with casualties at the end. Nice game mechanics and effects. Pretty funny.

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:04am

This game is so epic

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:36am

I have no worlds to say other than "Wow." Gameplay was fun, colourful, and I liked how the military ramped up over time. The memorium at the end sealed the deal. 5/5 all around, you win Ludum Dare.

valid4life says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:57am

Super fun! I had a blast. Controls were a bit odd for jumping but other than that I wouldn't mind a mobile version of this!

Caspila says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:08am

Really solid entry. 1st impression, GTA I as a monster and it was pretty much that.
Really liked art style and the music was really good.
Things ramp up a bit too quickly though. Its binary, nothing's happening to OMFG WTH?

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:32am

Best game i played in this #LD33. Really good

ironleonem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:57am

This was fantastic! Especially the ending, detailing the death count. Really well done!

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:33am

Simple gameplay, but still pretty entertaining! Controls were little weird, but i get used to them. Nice entry!

Darius says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:49am

Really nice game ! The difficulty is actually perfectly dosed : love it :)

Muush says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:40am

Good game. Congratulations

nmrsmn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:38am

Very likable and enjoyable game! Well done!

mboaj says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:39am

Really fun :) I felt like I played GTA 1 :)

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:40am

408 Casulaties!! Is that good? probably not :P Really nice game

Snippety says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:52am

Oh man, that was amazing. I love how things escalate. I love how my victims having names made me feel weird. An arcady emotional roller coaster is how I would describe this game. I just loved it.

UntitledQ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:53pm

You nailed the visceral feel, it got very frantic very quickly!

I'm not sure about the choice to put movement and attack on the same button, but maybe it just helps the craze...

General says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Here I reviewed LD entries: http://youtu.be/AkOdas_qL9A
Your game is at 1:02:30

Good game!
The final screen after game over makes the player think of his behaviour in the game and in the real life.

BTW, I would be nice to get humans' tanks damaged by the humans' bombs.

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Nice game, awesome visuals!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Hilarious! It was a little hard to get used to the same button being used for both dashing and attacking, but it was pretty satisfying overall.

TheColorMan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:19am

I loved the military involvement getting more and more intense.

Wefiends says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:24am

An awesome game, with a more awesome soundtrack. Really great job, the names were a fantastic touch.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:51am

Great entry, go play it! :D

merzlot says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:14am

Looks like gta(1-2) monster mode :) this was fun, specially list of killed. Thanks!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:39am

Awesome game!! The count of deaths makes me feel guilty hahaha

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:43am

Man that ending! Had lots of fun trying to beat my high score on killing those poor innocent people! Brilliant stuff, utterly loved this.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:53am

Here is a good example of how even simple mechanics can make for a very enjoyable game when accompanied with the right amount of juice and ramping difficulty. I had a blast playing this game, so much that I had to switch hands to spam the space bar :D Also the real monster aspect comes in after you die and see all the people you killed. Stellar job man!

KodingNights says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:08am

That monster looked a lot like my own monster. :-)

DragonGino says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:59am

enjoy the memories.aaah memories.

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:15am

explosions, explosions, explosions, explosions, explosions, explosions, explosions, explosions, explosions, explosions, explosions, explosions, explosions, explosions, explosions,

Strike says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:27am

Damn ! You made me cry laughing at the end of the game. XD
I found it already pretty funny to display name of the people being killed, but the end really made it XD

I made a very similar game, actually. But I like very much how you executed yours. I like the feeling of this good old 90's arcade games ;) And the fact it gets crazier and crazier. Is there a way to kill tanks and helicopters ? I just died tried to smash these too hard :D

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:09pm

NOOOOO! What have I done?! I'm a MONSTER! KILL ME!!!!!

architect404 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:04pm

good fun, reminiscent of the early GTAs with a godzilla twist. my only criticisms are that it would've been nice to have been a bit of a larger monster and also the gun fire from the officers on foot is barely audible. nice work!

superjai says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:00pm

The end credits were an amazing touch. Captured the theme perfectly. Well done!

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:11am

Smashing stuff and killing people was really fun! Music and graphics were great, and I loved how chaotic things got later into the game. Also loved that part after you died where it had people's names and what they were doing.

Manky says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:10am

The ending is one of the greatest things to ever happen to me. Very solid game, very fun with all the crazy stuff going on. Punching could feel a little better.

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:19am

Well...that was a bit creepy, but fun. By creepy, meaning that several of the names that popped up are the names of people I know and one being my cousin. Last name Sawyer. LOL. Whoa, weird. That ending was an excellent idea. The amount of action by the end, 383 casualties for me, was very entertaining to watch build up. It was fun to dart around and quickly destroy cars. The pace felt really good. Fun game!

Dreyan says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:03am

Fantastic game, very polished and great fun. I can't decide which I prefer, this or Glorch!

guoboism says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:24am

This game is well made around the monster-destroys-everything sub-genre. The graphics and music are very polished! The conflict rise and tank bomber and chopper would come, making it lot of fun! And I like the casualty list on the end! Picked by GB!

MrMordem says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:46am

Awesome game, top notch graphics with cool music, i love the whole top down wreck havock thing, however the controls felt a bit weird to get used to on a keyboard, other than that its really good and the casualty details at the end is a nice touch ^^

treeman says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Really, really good! I had a blast playing this!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Just what I was looking for to start up an LD testing session.
Action-packed, colorful and explosions all around!
Wonderful!

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:44pm

I can't open it... :-/

WizzardMaker says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Wow, I feel bad now from killing over 700 people... Great game!

BeardyBard says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Wow, Gameplay was fun, corresponds to a LD33 theme. Very good!!!

freaknarf says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Very good game ! It rapidly becomes chaotic and nervous, the fun is here ! It has a nice old school design and a good arcade gameplay. I laughted at game over, but is there some win condition ? It becames a bit hard for me at 500/600 kills... Good job :)

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:48pm

This game. This game is awesome. Playing it is super fun. Destruction is amazing. Seeing the peoples names is super funny. The difficulty ramp up makes sense and makes it fun. And then... The end. You die and get to see the result of your rampage, and you FEEL like a monster. So good. Very nice job!

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:28pm

That's great! Memorium is like a cherry on the top of a pie.

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Hahaha, fantastic ending, esp little Billy, just a poor boy and nobody loved him ;) Graphics were nice, difficulty scaled appropriately, sound was slightly repetitive, but no real concerns. All around solid entry!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:58am

Loved loved loved the ending. That more than drove the "monster" point home.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:59am

Wow great job with the theme. At first glance I was just having fun smashing things, but I didn't realize how I was actually destroying real people. When you gave insight into their lives my jaw dropped. Also smashing things and watching things explode was really satisfying. I loved how well you expressed chaos. Awesome game!

derr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Plays like a cool mashup of GTA and Hotline Miami. I love it!

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Dude, when I read the memorials, I almost cried at what I had done...

HappyHour says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:59am

That charged shockwave move is way too fun. I admittedly have a soft spot for overhead view games and this one's a keeper.

nili says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Satisfying gameplay with a nice twist of making the victims feel like individuals.

Love it.

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Ridiculous arcade fun, at least until the ending. I swear, the military killed more people than I managed to during my playthrough! Loved everything about this, well done!

Aevek says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:04am

Really loved the sudden contrast of light-hearted and fun action game to serious-face mode greyscale. That worked really well. And the frantic action mode was a lot of fun. Awesome game all around, fantastic job.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:44am

Yes!

You've got the GTA look spot on (except for the buildings but that makes no difference).

This game needs to exist as a proper game. A GTA/Rampage mix is such a great idea. Gets really hectic when you get the helicopters and jets coming for you, would be funny if their attacks on you killed people.

My only downside is I felt like I had too much health. I took a lot of helicopter shots before I got anywhere near dead.

Could add in loads of cool stuff, like charging up the sprint to send cars and people flying and knocking down buildings. Not sure what you'd implement by way of a mission structure but I think this would definitely be awesome as a fully expanded game.

mubox says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Nice graphics and audio.
Very good gameplay.
:D

Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Super fun game! I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/ypxK5QAWPFI

folex70 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:45am

very cool! a complete game! Impressive 5/5

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:46am

I liked this entry a lot! Loved being able to simply crush everything in my path. xD Graphics were excellent, and gameplay was nice and fast-paced. My only complaint is that there's no way (That I could find, anyway) to destroy the tanks and helicopters. Stealth bomber? Love it, makes sense. I just wish I could harm the other two. Maybe a jumping attack, or something? I would expect it to be much more difficult to accomplish, but it would be nice to be able to get rid of them. Really nice job, guys. :)

collaboration says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:21am

Wow, that's solid entry, graphics is great!

carle13 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:23am

I enjoyed the end, it was easy to play and funny.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:55am

Hell Yeah! love the old school GTA influence

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:29am

Very very fun!!! Great idea for the end! Amazing job :)

celisoft says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:50am

Really good game that reminds me when I was playing to GTA.

ManuelGF says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:06am

Loved the "Casualties" tag for points. Beautiful graphics and nice gameplay, well done!

adsilcott says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Wow, I thought it was disturbing enough that it was telling me the names of my victims, but when it gave me details about their lives at the end, that was amazing. Even without that emotional element it would be a very well made game, but that puts it over the top. Very impressive.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Very impressive! Audio is nice, graphics are nice, it's fun and hilarious (especially the "in memorium") very good entry!

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Military attacks rather quickly, and basically ends up killing for you while you simply have to dodge, but the game was really good otherwise. I especially enjoyed the art and AI pathfinding.

Mykaelos says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:08am

Excellent game! It was super satisfying to smash everything. I kind of wish I could have killed the tanks, and I ran into a bug twice where the avatar would stop moving and I would have to restart the game.

I loved the ending! and I felt genuinely bad after realizing what I was reading. I thought it was going to be another game that took the theme in its literal sense, but then the ending nailed the better interpretation of the theme on the head!

cyrixd says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:07am

Excellent entry! Really great visual and audio feedback, the game had a great feel to it.

Chris M says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:25am

Fantastic stuff, good move to overload the space bar input for multiple behaviours. The entry is one of the only ones I've played with a compelling arc too- it's a complete five minute experience filled with tension, release and a comical catharsis.

bigbuggames says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:38am

This game has it all, it's good old arcade fun, running jumping smashing unleashing chaos all around until you die. There's not much I can say apart from that I'd love to see a post-ld final version!

DrZanuff says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:33pm

"Erik Peterson 14 - Had just received a life-saving lung transplant." Now, thhanks, i am really felling like a monster...

Patomkin says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:51pm

In Memoriam at the end of the game is absolutely amazing. I'm in awe :)

Eldan_Knight says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Really good game! Very fun havoc, I only missed the possibility to destroy the army forces! But great overall. The final in memoriam is a cool, heartbreaking twist!

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Pretty fun, though a bit repetitive. Discovered pretty quickly that tanks and aerial military were much quicker at wrecking havoc. Most of my time has been spent using dashes to manipulate the military to kill their own civilians, making it a bit less fun. Not sure if that was intentional.

OadT says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:36am

The controls feels great (I played on a gamepad) At first I was wondering where the police is :D but its good to have some time to get into the game. I love the idea of the memoriam at the end!

K.Chplr says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:34am

Fun but it quickly gets kind of repetitive. The graphics reminds me of GTA2 (which is a good thing) and the memorial at the end is a nice touch.

PEBKAC says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Awesome graphics, nice gameplay. The In Memoriam was an incredible touch!

wademcgillis says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:58pm

A blast. Got 310 casualties but then the monster got stuck on the corner of a building and I couldn't move.

radmars says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:11am

Oh my god this is absolutely amazing. It's so much fun; the sound & animations make the gameplay just feel really great. Having the people all have names is a great touch too. I think my only complaint is having the dash & attack on the same key - I understand if it was an intentional choice not to be able to attack & move at the same time, but it felt a bit sloppy at times, like I would accidentally dash when I meant to attack. Regardless it was a ton of fun. I'd love to play more of this. Stunning work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]