Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Old One

by Chris Olsen - Jam Entry

"Greed and wickedness will lead them to your lifeblood. They come when your strength is waining. Your mighty mass, now a shackle.

We shall purge the vultures from our land."

The Old One is a one handed wave survival game where you play the part of an ageing Stone Titan, too weak to hold himself up, charged with the burden of keeping a precious Diamond atop it's head.

Use your stone mace fists to keep them at distance. If they grapple to your head, shake them off! For it's only one more step until they reach the precious Diamond, which is not without it's own defences. Remember however, this Old one can only use one physical weapon at a time and he's slow. So place and time your attacks well.

Do try this at max res fullscreen from the windows download if you can.

Cheers

@Olseybaby

Controls :-

Escape = Pause Menu

A : Left Fist
D : Right Fist
S : Shake climbers
W : Crystal wave (when charged)
SPACE : Wake from sleep

F5 : Toggle Music
F12 : Quit Game

Updates -

30/08/2015

POST-JAM Update
Swapped the Roman numerals out for traditional digits
Bug fixes and performance optimisations
Intro text
Linux, Mac and Web post-jam builds added

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#6Graphics(Jam)4.77
#26Mood(Jam)4.27
#30Theme(Jam)4.25
#56Overall(Jam)4.01
#152Innovation(Jam)3.56
#207Fun(Jam)3.52
#526Humor(Jam)2.78

Comments

Loutrattitude says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:54am

Woaw I like the pace of the game, and these 3D animations are gorgeous !

alexrus07 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:54am

Really impressive and charming graphically, but might need a tweak with the controls, since it felt a bit slow and unresponsive. But past that, it's really great! Nice job :D

Lucho9 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:59am

that monster was impresive awesome, and the graphics amazing. Shame it s slow, is it because of the graphics?
also it has a cool atmosphere

Razoric says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:01am

As everyone else has said and will say... amazing graphics. I'm blown away.

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:07am

Tar very much guys! Yeah he's slow as a dog. I completely screwed my time management. Shall defo do a post jam version.

Ekibyou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:10am

Lovely animation and graphics! Gameplay could use some work though...

mklee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:15am

As everyone else has said, the animations, style, and mood here are amazing. Really loved the gameplay, struck a nice balance and you really felt like one of the "old gods". I'm a bit torn on the delay with raising the fists, once you learn the timing there's a nice rhythm to it... but I can see how having more clear feedback on that aspect might reduce a bit of frustration. Still amazing job!

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:29am

Cheers mklee. Yeah I wanted it to be purposefully slow so to add a bit of skill to the timing. But not knowing when you can press is frustrating for sure.

disperse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:31am

Fabulous!

Kep says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:33am

Just gorgeous, and what a concept! Very difficult keeping those little pests away, but the slow controls make sense considering that I'm a lumbering (w/o walking) stone titan.

omaha says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:37am

This is an excellent piece of work. The animation, the mood, and lighting, the character design, the particle effects, so many things here are just spot on.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:42am

OMG, Awesome! Nice game play, beautiful 3D and smooth animation. There's a great job!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:43am

Smash small people!! the graphics are well made! awesome!

conormn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:57am

Guh, so well done. You did good :)

MiniBobbo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:14am

This is great. Top notch graphics and the audio went well with the game.

I was never able to shake off a single attacker. Once they got past my fists it was game over. Am I just missing something?

jwin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:20am

Wow, great looking game with excellent atmosphere!

Polyganz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:27am

Great job!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:40am

Jesus Fucking Christ this game is beautiful. Just perfection in terms of graphics and style. Would love to see it ramp up quicker and spend more time in action. Very well done and fantastic presentation. You could add more gameplay and have an ideal mobile game.

Aiursrage2k says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:14am

most excellent. I guess just maybe needs some powerups and maybe more levels, i got abit bored after a while.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:17am

My eyes! It's so amazing!

Tuism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:14am

Gorgeous! Absolutely gorgeous and amazing looking. Fantastic production.

The gameplay itself feels... Just a little short of great, I guess. The mechanics make sense, the pacing is good, but there's just not enough oomph to it, I think it might be a lack of emergent situations - being able to only pound the left or the right fist separately didn't make sense from anything but a balance perspective, and was a bit irritating.

Overall fantastic :)

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:22am

Cheers guys!

@Tuism - Yeah it needs a pass of tweaks, I agree. Also want to introduce a means to make use of the shake and shield emit earlier. Possibly a different enemy type. Cheers though!

psypol says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Awesome! love it!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Great style, with a simple and fun control mechanism.

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Oh My God! Very very exciting game with amaging gameplay and graphics!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:57pm

A simple game gorgeously realized. Animations top notch as always! Thing I most wanted was for each arm to have separate cooldown times.

toni343 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:45pm

The graphics were very nice and the music really completed the atmosphere. The theme was well met, but are you really a monster there? Regardless - this is a fantastic entry.

mortus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Great game, I love how slow and colossal you feel. I had an idea to create a reverse shadow of the colossus game this time, but couldn't come up with an exact gameplay idea I could do in 48 hours. Looks like you've managed to do it.

Atridas says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:29pm

One of the best art pieces I've seen in ludum dare. visuals & sounds really come together.

Congratulations!

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:00pm

DAT ART.
5/5

foxboard says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Great graphics. Interesting mechanics. Nice over concept. Great music!

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Cheers guys, much appreciated!

daydalus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:02am

Beautiful game and style. Well animated - took me a minute to grasp the core gameplay. Takes a minute to warm up to the sluggish attacks. Would be nice if the top crystal could take more than one "hit". Overall, really nice work!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:13am

Why did you opt out of audio? The sound design was pretty great!

One minor note, I think the Roman numerals on the bottom are not quite right for some numbers (like 7?).

Great graphics and mood! Interesting idea with the single attack at a time. It captures the feel of a huge, slow monster.

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:44am

@GAFBlizzard - Hey man, cheers. I opted out of audio because the music track was just taken from a freebie on the asset store as was a lot of the foley. Didn't feel genuine opting in for it :)

Yeah the numerals I've just noticed are bananarama! Will fix, thanks for pointing that out.

merzlot says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:20am

Cool! I love this animation !!!

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:38am

Cheers Merzlot!

Ryusui says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:40am

So this is what it's like to be a Colossus. Good times! Not quite sure how to read the score, though. XD

randomhuman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:48am

Beautiful monster design and animation, and his lair is very atmospheric as well. It gets tough pretty quick!

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:49am

Though simple in execution, there is a lot of attention to detail here and the idea is quite original. Great job!

NuSan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:54am

Gorgeous art. I love the design. Keep up the good work !

DruhinM says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Well done . Liked the game

jofra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:35pm

This is just amazing art work. Just simply awesome mood and one of the best characters i have seen.
My favourite so far.
the gameplay is not that worked but is more than enought.
Really awesome mood work

Congrats for your work

aeveis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:29am

very nice atmosphere and nice gameplay! Right now other than reading in the description you can do one thing at a time it's not communicated so much in the gameplay, but I also got used to it. I will say the numbers are hard to read since its roman numerals with as digits which makes it a bit confusing. overall though great job!

wilthord says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:32am

Amazzing game!!!

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:45am

Like the details of the deal, very fond of Visual styles and animation effects! Thank you for the game!

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:45am

This game really caught my eye the first time I seen a screen shot and was instantly a favorite of mine from this LDJAM after playing. I really like the pace of the game, it fits the mood and theme very well. The graphics and animations are awesome. Nice work!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:24am

Super awesome job, absolutely amazing art and animation!

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:17am

This is by far, my favorite game of the entire LD33.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:39am

Good entry! Looking easy at first time... But when appears jumping dudes... This isn't too easy...

Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:04am

Beautiful, well paced, fun.

Patomkin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:21am

Spot-on animations and art style! Awesome!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:00pm

beautiful looking game! I also loved to sound and music :)

justthestudio says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:21pm

This is the most moody and beautiful entry I've already seen in this LD. Wow. Even when I thought at first "there's not going to be much gameplay" I was wrong - you managed to make simple but still fun mechanics, which match the mood of the game. [T]

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:22pm

WOW will you look at the polishness of this game?? It has pretty interesting gameplay and art style too! Good job!

Birke says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Very nice looking and sounding game. Excellent use of colour and animation. I think it takes too long for the giant to wake up to start with. It would also be good if you got more feedback that shaking enemies of your causes the roof to collapse, maybe by having dust particles appear from the ceiling every time you activate the move. Other than that a very immersive experience, good job!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:53pm

The web build keeps crashing. :(

andreiichim says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Awesome game. I love the mood/style. The monster is great.

paracatgames says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:23am

Really clever concept, how you have to plan ahead. Challenging. And of course graphics and animation were great.

Shackhal says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:29am

Great game. The graphics are amazing, very fun to play, the music gives a little bit of humor and it keeps the mood tense.

Overall, it's a very good game. Well done.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:47am

Yeah, it's really superb entry, visuals and mood are on top! Congrats!

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:59pm

This is extremely good looking, but took to much time to react to my key presses, I think, so it was a bit laggy on my computer (web-version).
The Old One - The Handsome One nonetheless. :)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:18am

That was very interesting! Loved the style too!

tanis says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:21am

The web build keeps crashing for me as well.. any chance of a Mac download?

radmars says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Nice! You really nailed the vibe on this one.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:26am

This is one of my fav LD game so far. I absolutely loved it and in the short time I played, I was so sad when the climbers stole the red life gem thingy!

Slothmachine says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:58am

I got to 1740 then got bored and just let the people take my life. Absolutely gorgeous graphics! Smoot audio. Really great entry!

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:22am

Super cool mood, you can feel the weight. Very well made! Congraz!

01101101 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:51am

Fantastic game!
Very cool gameplay, everything works well, the difference in enemy behaviour is understandable very quickly without having to explain it. You could even show the controls as an overlay on the fists, face and fire at the start of the game and you wouldn't event need to write it down in the menu.
The colours and animations are great, the whole thing really gives us the impression of being this stone giant swarmed by annoying tiny ants :)
I had no audio on the jam version but since you've decided not to be rated on it I guess you didn't get the time to add it... It's a shame cause it really adds a lot to the atmosphere in the post-jam version.
Anyway, congratulations for an awesome and beautiful game that would without a doubt deserve to win!

Tom Rijnbeek says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:15am

The graphics looked really great. There was also some pretty good audio. The big issue I had with the game though is that it felt really unresponsive with no apparent reason.

Beau Lamb says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:49am

Awesome stuff! :)

kidando says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:10am

Really really solid entry. The graphics are fantastic. This was inspired by Meat boy wasn't it? hahahaha. Loved it. You have a great concept for mobile you know. You a winner in my book dude

Benjamin says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:06am

The graphics and animations are indeed very good but the gameplay is innovative and totally fit the theme. This is an awesome entry, congrats ! Yo should add a short description of heroes color/abilities in the LD page

Ithildin says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:16am

Great mood! The concept, too, is solid and very well executed. It does feel slow, as expected from a massive rock/clay monster, so I can find no problem with that.

My only gripe is pretty minor, and it has to do with the use of roman digits used to build decimal numbers (I've seen you've changed that on the post-jam version).

Congrats, your entry was awesome! :)

Sanju says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:26am

Gorgeous graphics! This reminds me of Super Meat Boy's Hell boss.
Great entry. Congratulations.

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:33am

Lovely graphics. A little slow game. But it's amazing!

dregamr says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:47am

Wow!!!!
Good music, good graphics, excellent animations, really good mod...
I loved it!!

allinlabs says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:06pm

The aesthetics and graphics are incredible!

Hjalte500 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:26pm

This looks amazing and plays great. The music is very fitting and together it makes for a very nice entry. Loved it!

camlang says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Excellent game! It is necessary to modify the system in stages and Google play

rnlf says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:47pm

This game looks really amazing! I like the slow, heavy feel of the titan. Well done!

Zampi says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Very well! Thx for entry is best in all position. 5 of 5

Kizler says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:28am

YES! This game was graphically fantastic! I loved so much about how this game played and sounded. It took me a bit to get use to the speed but, I really really enjoyed it!

Strike says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:25am

Wonderful art and music. Gameplay really makes me feel like and old and tired giant. Very good game !

Lukbebalduke says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:47am

The game is really polished, the monster expressions are very well made! That monster is really cool. Overall, 5/5!

Joror says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:20am

Good fun! Was expecting a little bit more difficulty escalation - but stong and simple. Great animations & lighting! :)

shawn42 says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:45am

Beautifully done. The controls do feel sluggish (but maybe that's the point?) Nice entry.

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:13am

the graphics are really nice.

LeoM says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 1:04am

Nice one,
The graphics are pretty goods, difficulty progression smooth but it's a bit to much repetitive to play.
Missing a real ending too. ;)
good job anyway.

pereubu says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 11:47am

holy shit this game looks good

Patacorow says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Perfect in all aspects 5/5, simplistic brilliant and addictive gameplay.
Hope to see it at-least in top 10. Good job!

Sparrow says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Awesome entry, saw this one during the jam and was looking forward to play it. It was well worth the wait and I'm glad I found it during the voting period. This is well made and everything fits together perfectly!

dancingmad says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 12:07am

Nice graphics, your game look like an artwork !
Great work !

EwChap says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:12am

Amazing animations. Really captured the feel of a hug monster in a cavern lumbering to keep pesky climbers away

wallmasterr says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:37am

realy nice art , so much atmosphere, got the same kinda idea, reverse colossus as the game we made :D

carle13 says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Good game!

pixzleone says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Beautiful game!

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:25am

Gorgeous game! The concept was fantastic as well. It really had a sense of scale with the humans being so small and the attacks being delayed. Good job!

deepnight says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Superb entry :)
The art is really good and you really have a feeling of being a huge monster! Great job!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Good job! nice art style for your game, simple and beautiful with nice effects too :)
well done!

peterthehe says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Spectacular!

Managore says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Absolutely beautiful, of course, with a nice amount of depth due to the Titan's slow attacks! Great work!

Oct 13, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Beautiful graphics, simple, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/K5Eh9xNFJGY

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]