Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

TAG! You're it!

by 01101101 - Compo Entry

A game of Tag with a twist...
You want to get close to the Wolf but not become the Wolf for too long.
Run around and get the highest score possible!
-----------
Controls with keyboard or 360 controller.
Movement with Arrows or Left Stick
Invincibility (non-wolf only) with SPACE or A on the controller
-----------
No time for sounds or music sadly... Maybe one day ;)
-----------
I haven't tested the OSX and Linux versions, so let me know if you have issues.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#38Fun3.96
#79Graphics4.07
#87Theme4.04
#94Humor3.65
#133Overall3.67
#135Mood3.58
#140Innovation3.57

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:28am

Nice game, lovely graphics. The controls are quite floaty which makes it a bit frustrating & the wolf sometimes gets stuck which makes it easy to rack up points!

Lynx says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:55am

This is wonderful! I love to see takes on the theme that aren't cruel or bleak.

The energy feature is a great addition to a classic game!
Well done.

Orni says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:04am

great take on the theme
nice game overall - loved it, especially the cute graphics

well done :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:30pm

haha 5 star take on the theme, great job, congrats!

Kalkatos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:44am

Great fun game! Congratulations! 5 star.

kiroukou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:32am

I really like the game !
The gameplay is obviously quite simple, but the realisation makes it really nice to play !
The scoring system is well done.

The graphics are nice. Only some feedbacks are missing to me! expressions, texts, warning when the wolf is coming, things like that.

And a really nice use of the theme !

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Cute take on the theme that is quite clever. Fun and quite addictive to run around and see if you can beat your last score. The graphics are also great and as you've mentioned the game is just missing some music which would really bring it together.

luizgama says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Nice game! Indeed the very same idea as ours!

lesreptiliens says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:36pm

This game is lots of fun, the children movements and faces makes it even funnier. Nice graphics and idea, I loved playing with the tree trunks to hide. Good job

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:40am

It's very fun to play this. Very hard to be a wolf :P I imagined a version with real players and the one with most points win :)

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Very fun game from a simple concept. The clunky movement of the character makes this game better! Sometimes was hard to know where the wolf was and so it caught you by surprise but overall great game.

01010111 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:39am

A really great game that does an awesome job making an old analog game into a really fun video game! Super cute run cycles! Great job binary brother!

yuigoto says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:35am

Nice! I had a similar idea, but I wouldn't be able to build it like this! My vision of a tag game was a bit more violent and wouldn't be fun, so I dismissed it.

But your execution on the idea is just perfect and fun! Kid friendly, but challenging!

I'm missing some audio, children screaming, some taunts maybe? But the game itself feels really complete! :)

Congrats!

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:55am

Thanks everyone for your comments and feedback!
Yes the game is cruelly missing audio, didn't get the time to add them. But I'm working on the game some more for another contest so there will be a complete version soon :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Awesome execution of a fun core mechanic! I love how such a simple control scheme is so much fun to play with. And the crazy children's faces, such passion, wow.

A bit of audio would really push it over the edge.

derr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Such a light-hearted, fun, adorable and wonderfully executed game!

dunin says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Really good idea for the theme! and surprisingly fun!
would like to play it with friends...

LeoM says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Very fun one,
Nice interpretation of the theme. ;)

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:02pm

That was really fun, would make a fun and simple multiplayer game too.

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:14am

Nice idea :) Well done the game is pretty fun. Congrats! (Really missing some sound fx and music by the way).

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:28pm

This was a very cute little game! The next I play tag in real life I'll have to play with these rules!

Shaun LeBron says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:00am

This game is just pure joy. This wins it for me. art was perfect, chase physics spot on, feel like a kid again

arzi says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Really nice! Quite an imaginative take on the theme :)

zatyka says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:54am

Simple, fun, and addicting. Very nice visuals. Would be lots of fun as a multiplayer game with a few other abilities. Very nice.

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:55am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

cambrian_era says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:16am

The controls felt really good, making chasing those kids rather enjoyable. Aaaand of course, it's a tag game. :)

shawn42 says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:45am

ALL THE STARS!!! I love this idea, so fun and well executed.

dunin says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Hey, have you heard about the oujevipo contest? https://itch.io/jam/oujevipo-contest-2--kids
you should propose this game (or a multiplayer version...), it fits perfectly to the theme...

Pierrec says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 9:10am

Veeeeeeery nice

deepnight says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Seems very basic at first, but the game quickly proves to be really fun :)
Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]