Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Look Into The Mirror

by yuigoto - Jam Entry

This is pretty much unfinished. The idea came really late and I struggled on how I would approach my idea, so this turned out to be just a concept.

"Even monsters have the chance to repent..."

My take on the theme is about when we don't "tame" the monster inside us. When we work too much and neglect our family, when we don't try to understand the other side of a relationship, when we distance ourselves from our friends, when we abandon our children, when we drink too much and let the monster consume us.

As a game, this is just your usual clichéd platformer. The idea is to collect fragments of memories related to the cutscenes, revisit the past and summon the mirror, so you can look at yourself and repent the bad things you did in life.

Doesn't have a happy ending. :)

Thank you for reading this and playing my 2nd LD game! ;)

Sorry for the unfinished business and some bugs. >_<v

Made with ClickTeam Fusion 2.5.
Graphics done on an Nintendo DSi using Inchworm and some PyxelEdit.
Audio recorded with my guitar, on an iPad using AmpKit and edited in FLStudio a bit. Some SFX came from BFXR too. :)

----------------------------------------

EDIT (a bit late, though):
Updated with the post-jam version, with some improvements (just some :/) over the original, not for judging. :P

There's also a more in-depth explanation of the concept behind the game at the end of my post-mortem here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/08/29/how-i-went-from-lasagna-to-mirrors-and-tragedy-a-post-mortem-for-my-game-p/.

----------------------------------------

Thanks to everyone who played this game, really! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#359Mood(Jam)3.34
#431Audio(Jam)3.02
#671Graphics(Jam)3.06
#791Fun(Jam)2.69
#812Overall(Jam)2.89
#833Humor(Jam)2.17
#943Theme(Jam)2.74
#978Innovation(Jam)2.30

Comments

panda says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:52am

I couldn't make it past the second level! This game demands a lot of precision. I like what I saw, cool graphics, sounds, and theme!

ruerob says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:10am

In the job level i didn't get the first jump! Was to hard for me! I tried to jump not so high, to jump earlier, but I didn't get it! It's a pitty, because I really wanted to know how the story goes on, it's a very good take on the theme! I like the graphic style and the guitar sound!

yuigoto says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Thanks @panda and @ruerob! :) The frustration and difficulty are intentional, though I plan on tone it down in the post-jam version, to be more playable. Because I have to repeat lots of times to pass through some levels.

I'll be recording a full gameplay of it today. :P

Thanks again! :)

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Interesting graphics

mitkus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Cool style & music. Jumping feels good, but camera scrolling is a bit odd. Also, I found it too easy to die from flames, hitboxes could be more forgiving here. It was actually fun, even if a bit hard. Nice job!

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Fire colliders seem a bit too large

Louspirit says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Very good game! Nice animation, well-thought levels, a bit hard but fun.
Be sure to block the sides of the screens, I've been stuck twice.

Jod says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:23pm

1st level: Ah, this is okay.

2nd level: I WILL CUT OUT YOUR HEART WITH A DULL SPOON!

:D

Seriously though, well made, good choice on the art style. Jumping works alright. The difficulty goes up a little bit too fast, some more getting used to the controls would be nice. All in all: good job!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Loved the theme and graphics, but this game needs better collision detection if its going to be this punishing. There were times I had a distinct gap between myself and a hazard and I still died. I had to give up on the drunk driving level, and barely finished the two before that.

Quij says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:46pm

A good start! I appreciate the themes you're going for. The controls are a bit finicky though - for example, hitting jump near an edge didn't always make me jump.

On one of the levels, I went left of the starting area and just kinda floated/glitched off screen and could never get back (had to restart the game). The level right after "Sir, you forgot your phone!"

Sicilica says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:03pm

pretty enjoyable precision platforming, although shrinking the hitboxes would definitely help

HThomson says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:36pm

I like the minimalist graphics but my god the second level is hard.

s_jmp says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:41pm

is this a rage game and the developer is the monster? :D pink is a hard color to work with but this is beautiful

yuigoto says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:14am

Whoa, thanks to everyone who played the game, really! :)

I know it has a lot of bugs, ended up using mostly the last day to do everything, so I knew it would end up with bugs.

A high difficulty level was a bit intentional, but I think I didn't think well enough the mechanics + level design and, besides the bugs, it made the game a bit harder.

I will keep the original game up here for judging purposes, I want to be judged on all the bugs and things, so be harsh if needed! ;)

I just finished buildind the post-jam version of the game, which I'll link as soon as I put it on itch.io. This won't serve for judging, because I redid a good part of the game, balanced mechanics and level design.

Had to rebuild the mechanics, items and collisions to make better hit boxes, as the originals were done in a pretty lazy way (just the sprite >_<).

Anyway, thanks for playing! I really appreciate it, and really enjoyed playing all your games too. :D

Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:54am

I certainly like the concept of this game, but I just found it too difficult! It got really frustrating when I'd just slightly misjudge a jump and the level would reset. Or, in the case of level 3, a lot of the time I didn't even make it to solid ground most attempts!

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:33am

Couldn't find the mirror in level 3...
Other than that, nice idea, level design is a bit mean though ^^
The mood is pretty good thanks to the text and music.

FrederickK says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Man, that's very unnecessary hard. :(
Second stage is already very difficult, than, it gets more difficult!
Other than that, pretty cool game!
Good job!

Reisen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:19am

I completed the game.

Generally fun, hitboxes are a tad too large, and curse that one level which has both "move NOW or else you die" and a leap of faith together.

LeoM says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Hit box are too large.
After 25/30 try, I watched the walkthrow ^^
Nice story.

dregamr says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:36am

I like the game, and I think that a slower music could be better, but that's the sound.
It needs to much precision, so a little smaller collider maybe help.
The overall is a good work!! ;)

superfluous says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:03pm

The game was neat, but there were some technical issues: jittery camera, huge hitboxes, and wonky platforming. I liked the visual style and theming though.

Mase says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:52am

The graphics are basic but the monochrome is stylish.

I always find the juxtaposition of serious text with classic platforming to be dissonant. That can be interesting, though games that follow this format can seem crass or bathetic sometimes... maybe when the dissonance is not acknowledged. I think your game's lack of a certain kind of polish works in its favor in this regard.

Also the level design was pretty fun.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:04am

Nice art style, the character animation felt smooth :). Controls felt alright, too, but there were some issues with the collisions that added some unfair difficulty to the already challenging platforming (I'm perfectly fine with the game being difficult, but for example, on the second level a collision from the bottom of a platform would slowly drag the player and move it on top of it).

Still, I really liked the concept of gathering memories. Good job!

walsh9 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:38am

I really liked how you told a story with the little pickup icons. I did not like the extremely unforgiving collision detection and constantly moving camera.

radmars says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:39am

Looks like this has an interesting concept and story, but the difficulty in discovering it is super high. I couldn't get past the 1st jump on the 3rd level, myself.

Rocketship says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:11am

Very challenging game with an interesting graphical style. Liked the mood that the graphics and the audio brought to the game. The hitboxes in the obstacles were a bit off at times I feel and it felt slightly frustrating. Still had a good experience with this one!

MikeEnoch says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:12am

Good take on the theme, I really struggled with the platforming though - some weird collision bugs in places and quite demanding level design. Had a good Braid kind of vibe going on though!

Reccy says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:42pm

It's a cool little game, but the platforming is a bit hard though. I think the root of the problem is that the character slides around a bit too much. Other than that I liked the music and the pixel art :)

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:48pm

the camera's mild-Shake in level2 just like a hesitate heart..
tooo slippery some edge of plat can get double-jump
level3 have a small bug at the platform which under the ring's platform... i was absorbed out of screen....so sadly...can not reload ,only restart game...ToT
very great atmosphere,Audio Visual emotional ,everything are set off ,also directed at heart.
wonderful game~ well done.

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Nice game, tho a big buggy, which are understandable for the time we were given, so keep it up! great work!

MrTwister says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Interesting take on the theme (sadly had to read the description to learn the connection to the theme, as I didn't make it very far into the game).

Couldn't get past the second level. There's definitely a huge raise in difficulty there, and the game wasn't particularly forgiving nor give enough room for mistakes (come on dude! it's only level 2! the least you need there is pixel-critical jumps!).

The level design in your post-jam version is definitely better, but the difficulty curve is still a bit too steep.

Loved the aesthetics and the music, although the 8-bit SXFR-like SFXs were a bit out of place when in contrast with the beautiful echoing guitar BGM.

I definitely liked the entry in many ways. With a bit more of work and playtesting this could definitely be a great game. Kudos!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Hey! minimalist but cool platformer and challenging above all :)
After a while i see everything in pink haha
Cool textual driven story too, well done :)

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 3:14am

altough it is a little bit difficult to controll
but I‘ve still finished the game last night~~~ ^0^

a leap of faith of level3 is soooo amazing! genius desgin~! *( i think it imply the marriage...)

and the cigarette in level4 is really hard to get it ToT (* Health challenges?) At first I thought i don't need to get it.....Finally I still have to face it..orz
more than 10times... finally succeed yeah~☆゚

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]