Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Manhattan Monstrosity

by Twiebs - Compo Entry

You are a thermonuclear warhead. Your Mission is to lay waste to the human race. Guide your missile to mutually assured destruction. Avoid enemy missiles. Crash into the city

Controls:
W: Pitch UP
S: Pitch DOWN
Space: Launch

Tools:
- Unity
- Blender
- Photoshop
- Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#374Audio2.93
#594Graphics2.85
#608Humor2.38
#609Fun2.81
#659Innovation2.69
#683Overall2.89
#734Theme2.92
#777Mood2.42

Comments

Ybalrid says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:12am

Sound effects qre good and graphism are not bad at all. But, maybe it's me but I cant go really far. There is too much stuff comming to your face, making the game too hard to be enjoyable...

razavidn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Good concept, but never made it very far. The laser graphics cues show strong game design ideas - just show me them a little longer before the missile comes!

Bugs: typo in game over message, start button doesn't actually work on the button, exit button doesn't seem to work.

Pixellation says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Mac version worked fine! the game was very fun to play! I could never get to the enemy though :)

mde says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:53pm

I think that your idea was great and the missiles flying into your face were suprisingly well aimed, but it could have been a bit more related to the theme. The soundeffects could be improved.

Tuism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Fun little thing, it's really rudimentary but it has a certain charm to it.

Here are some frustrating choices you made though, that made the experience irritating:

1. For some reason I automatically think W is down and S is up - I don't play inverse usually, but I instinctively reacted that way. I think it has to do with clockwise/anticlockwise. So I had to play with my keyboard flipped. Wonder if anyone else is like that.

2. Having to click a button after you die THEN press space is... unoptimised. Two space taps. Or two mouse clicks. Why both??!

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:26pm

damn i cant go very far! :c
cool game!

someone9999 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Quite a fun, difficult game.

The laser effects, with the beep, beep, beep, and red lines were really well done, and gave just enough time to try and dodge the missiles.

GBGames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:47pm

It was frantic at times, and the lasers and beeps helped with it, but I managed to finally hit the city.

And I did it without using the cheat I discovered: if you fly up and to the left, you can fly over the mountain range there and then go underneath the world. Then you can fly all the way to the end without threat...until the end. You then have to contend with missiles as you fly up and over the mountain range and backtrack to the city. I came close twice doing it this way, but I always missed the city, and I'm glad I managed to do it legitimately.

lanestp says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:54am

Really fun! A bit of polish and it would be awesome sauce!

granut100 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:08am

Very nice game. It was fun to play and the graphics were really good.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]