Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Munk

by Kizler - Jam Entry

Munk is trying to get some rest, unfortunately adventurers from all over are attempting to fight him for the experience points. Help Munk get some rest so he can be full strength and ward off these band of would be heroes.

Spacebar - Sleep/Wake up
Mouse Aim
Left Click - Swing Club


Note: The Wizard's fireballs can be knocked back at him, there isn't anything in the game that notes this making him seem to be unbeatable. I'm working on balancing and things post jam and will update this with a more polished version after voting is complete.

There's a slight delay between pressing the spacebar and waking up(Or going to sleep) it's to prevent spamming of the keys. It's something I have to put a bit more balance into.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#176Audio(Jam)3.57
#352Humor(Jam)3.12
#357Graphics(Jam)3.73
#461Theme(Jam)3.54
#588Overall(Jam)3.14
#611Innovation(Jam)2.90
#627Fun(Jam)2.92
#686Mood(Jam)2.90

Comments

neuroaktivo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:40am

couldnt play it, im guessing ur working with Unity, u need the Data folder in your rar file!!

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:41am

Cute grapics and music/sounds. But controls stops working after a while, so i can't wake the guy up. :(

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:47am

Firstly: the Windows download doesn't include the data folder you need to play! I had to use the web version. I love the graphics though! Hit detection could be a bit more generous (sometimes I swung slightly to the side of them), and there never seemed to be enough time to sleep between enemis.

Kizler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:20am

I updated by putting the data folder in the windows zip. Should work now. Getting the hit detection just right was a problem, I see it needs a little more work. I was able to dodge a few enemies by turning at just the right moment, so I made the game less forgiving. I guess that worked against me.

Also, the difficulty ramp needs a LOT of tweaking, I'm working on this game still and I'll provide another link post voting.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:37am

Nice graphics and audio. The mechanic with attack and sleep is really cool.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:43am

Cool idea. Like others, had some problems with the controls. With a bit more polish and added features, this could be a lot of fun!

neuroaktivo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:55am

nice entry overall! noice!

RobotMeal says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:46am

Great entry! I like the audio and voxel graphics.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:11am

I am a huge fan of that style of voxel art, so you had me hooked before I even played. It was a bit difficult to tell if my commands were being registered when sleeping since there is no immediate feedback that it took, but after a while I got used to it. Fun, despite my complete inability to kill that wizard.

Huo-cuo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:17am

The characters look pretty. I liked the idea, but I din´t get if the sleep is compulsory. It seemed that he has the same strength all the time. Thx for the game!

Kizler says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:22am

I just saw a YouTuber playing my game and saw the bug... I'm working on it now. :(

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:02am

Fun game! Very innovative mechanic. I love the art style, and you did a pretty good job of balancing the game so you always had time to sleep. A little more depth would have been nice, and the progression/movement seemed slightly sluggish at times. Otherwise great job, I would love to see more of this!

fermenter says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Funny story, very cute graphics, but controls feel frustrating. Needs more juice! Well done, overall!!

Zambini says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Fun game! The controls could use a bit more polish (maybe adding different kinds of attacks or giving a swing-cone?).

Nice voxels! Simple yet fun

Kaltic says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:31am

Quite a fun game. I like the mechanic of having to sleep between attacks.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:32am

Very nice music/sounds. Aiming was difficult at times, but it was fun overall, great job!

corupta says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Killed 56 heroes until one of them become a 'true hero' by making the last shot to me. Cool idea, loved the music stuff :D

danialias says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:36am

Cute! The art style, the music and the idea are very nice, I liked it quite a lot overall. You addressed the main problems in the note, so no much more to add. Looking forward to playing the next version!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Nice entry! I like the sleeping system!

MiniBobbo says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:09pm

This was fun. very smooth and the music added to the whole silly feel of the game.

The only thing that bothered me was that Munk wouldn't follow the mouse when he woke up. So he wouldn't turn and face where the mouse was pointing, so I would often wake up and then click on an enemy only to have him swing the wrong way.

FieroNZ says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:12am

Pretty fun but got a bit stale after a while, also wasn't too sure what sleeping actually does?

Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:03am

Why won't these adventurers just let me sleep?!?!? ERRRRR, I hate adventurers!!!!

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:08am

Well made. I think the controls should be smoother.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Wow this was unexpected - the screenshots don't tell you how awesome this little game is - it all clicks and comes together once it runs. I love the look - you should show the Munk's face on the screenshot - don't hide it.
Love the music. Love the "story". The gameplay is simple and fun. Nice!

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 4:19am

Fun and light-hearted. I like it!

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Great idea, cute graphics!
I've got to say I had a few problems with the controls, aiming didn't seem to work properly sometimes and it was very hard to hit the some of the heroes.
I managed to clunk 42 heads before I died!

andreiichim says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:20am

It's so hard to get any sleep these days.
Awesome game. I love the art, the audio and the humor.
The controls could use some work. Because of the delays in animation it doesn't feel responsive.

Kizler says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:08am

It's not only the animation. It's also when the character wakes up, if the mouse is hovering over a character, the click doesn't always register the ground. That has been fixed along with a few other bugs for the post voting release. I'm rather upset that everyone else managed to get higher scores than me. :)

peterthehe says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:03am

The beginning was a bit buggy but the graphics and audio were excellent. Good Job!

Dizzyman572 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:02am

I boped like 45 heads. This game was awesome to play! I loved the animations and graphics! It looks like you spent a lot of time in that department. The music was very nice and playful as well.:D

#hashtag says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:38am

I enjoyed the graphics and sound. Overall, it's a fun little game with some interesting mechanics.

Ludipe says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Liked the art. I think gameplay should be faster as just standing in the middle waiting for enemies to come closer isn't really exciting :/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]