Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster - Prison Break

by Gaius Baltar - Compo Entry

You play as a convicted felon *insert charges here* who just finished murdering a cop within his cell. Now the other cops want revenge, but can you escape the prison? No, you can't.

- May glitch on certain systems.. or all. It works on my PC but not so well on my laptop. Both have the same operating system.
- Sound effects are included but they might not work either...
- some features were cut, like fancy blood particles and items
- this is my first entry so hopefully everything goes smoothly with the data transfers and all.
- Have fun! or don't..

- Modified game in order to keep the player in the same level after death and not send them back to the beginning.
Just changed an integer variable for this edit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#436Fun3.07
#514Overall3.07
#517Audio2.60
#695Humor2.18
#702Graphics2.59
#738Mood2.52
#741Innovation2.55
#794Theme2.74

Comments

namrog84 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:03am

pyew pyew! Shoot the wall infront of me, killing the guy behind me! the best way to kill them!

Jimbly says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:01am

Love the bouncy bullets! Kind of hard to see them against the dark floors though.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:05am

Nice simple game, though level 3 just seemed too random in terms of wall placement. Other than that, it was a good game. Great work!

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:11am

@RobotHoboDanceParty Level 3 was actually literally random, I put some walls down to make a general outline and generated noise in the player path for whatever reason.

@Jimbly that was (sort of) intentional. The dark floors add an extra challenge (is how I reasoned with myself when I saw them in-game and didn't want to change them anymore).

Kahztein says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:18am

Pretty cool little game, would've liked a different tone on the gun, it started to hurt my ears xD

MAnimal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:22am

First level: shoot wall infront of and kill cop behind me
Second level: trick from first level doesnt work so i must kill them all
Third level: the turnig player is not good because you move with player too much. After my death i dont want to start at level 1

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:01am

@MAnimal I fixed the game in order to keep the player on the same level after death. The game should be easily beatable now.

mrjorts says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:02am

I like how the character smoothly turns as you move around. I like how the first level feels like a big cool maze. I like the rhythm when you hold the shoot button down. I like how the bullets bounce off the walls. I don't like how when I died on level three it started me back at the beginning :(

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:28am

@mrjorts Sorry about that :/
should be fixed now though.

Insality says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:40am

Nice one! I like it)
Best game mechanics trip - run to wall and shoot to bouncing bullets back. Clean everything by this way
Great!

shimage says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:12am

I like killing the enemy behind me with the bounce bullet too. Nice game!

Somnium says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:17am

Very fun game, that rewards patience, and punishes impatience (especially on the last level).

I liked being able to make a bullet-hell for the opponents for once, the bouncing bullets is a very nice mechanic.

KingGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Can't play. Start's up, get a white Window, and Windows Error tries to fix the problem.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:47pm

This game has a really appealing style!

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Cool game, the gun should have limited ammo so you don't just constantly fire

Zammalad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Not bad for a first entry. Good ideas and everything seemed to work without issue. With some better graphics would be a good entry. Audio was good so well done with that.

inurashii says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Decent mechanics, good animation, but mind-numbingly tedious. I like the bouncing bullet mechanic, though it doesn't exactly contribute to the 'prison break' theme. Say .... why didn't the other cops have guns, anyway?

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:20pm

@KingGames That's odd, I have no idea what could have caused that.

@inurashii I was thinking the same thing about only that one cop having a gun, seems a little suspicious. Maybe there's a conspiracy developing here. Was that cop going to kill the player in order to hinder him from revealing harmful information? Maybe the player was framed.
About the tediousness, I found that, at least in level 1, you can speed run it and survive. I suppose level 3 would be the actual tedious bit due to it's length and difficulty.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:22pm

With the bounce effect of the bullets you can do really nice trickshots. the guards see you across the walls, some times they go through.

Tigris says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Decent.

DarkStar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:11pm

fun shooter. very smooth movement although a little hard to aim in spots. love the bullet bounce.

Arnage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:22am

With the speed the cops get to you it would have been great to be able to shoot and walk in separate directions. Especially before I noticed being able to bounce bullets back at them.

Some variety in the encounters would have also helped, but that might be too much to ask within the time limit. Anyway great work for a first entry!

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:05pm

The bullet ricochet was a bit unpredictable, but that made it fun so if that was intended, good call. The last level was pretty tedious, but other than that the level design was pretty good. It would have been nice to have more power ups or different enemies, but for what's there, not bad at all.

Grahhhhh says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 10:48pm

I'm sorry, I wanted to play because you played mine, but it kept crashing for me :( Playing on a mac with parallels

MegasDragos1 says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:11pm

I love the music and the 8-bit graphics of this game but the A.I isn't so great, I just finished the first level running and without killing anything.

Gaius Baltar says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:45pm

@Grahhhhh Sorry to hear that, but it didn't really work on my laptop either, and it runs Windows natively.

@MegasDragos1 The AI isn't great at all :D the entities are basically homing missiles, but the fact that you can just run through level one without killing anything was sort of intentional.

Jelinib says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 9:15am

Really liked how the bullets ricochet. This means I could still hit someone who is chasing me down from behind! I felt almost invincible doing that, haha. But for the most part, I was sniping from afar anyway.

The black wall tiles and black ground tiles on level 3 made it more challenging to see what was actually walkable area, but I managed! Just takes patience.

Needs some death noises--it would add more satisfaction to the killing!

Overall well done--especially for a compo--and congrats on your first entry! (This was my first LD as well!)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]