Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Dragon Defense

by Serch - Jam Entry

Finally you got the Princess!!!

But now that she is in your tower Legions of Knights come to rescue her, you must stop the Knights before they reach the Princess or she will be stolen from you.

If you keep the princess for a time you will be rewarded...

Note 1: If you can't move your claws please go to full screen mode

Update: Fixed restart level with a click or press Ctrl on the Win/Lose Screen

Thanks for playing!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#340Theme(Jam)3.68
#472Graphics(Jam)3.51
#605Humor(Jam)2.66
#657Innovation(Jam)2.84
#799Fun(Jam)2.68
#812Overall(Jam)2.89
#946Mood(Jam)2.47

Comments

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:12pm

"Would have ended up as a lot of Squares on the screen xD"
Still would be a fun and great game that it is. Didn't really have any audio, or that might be me.

glerikud says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:51pm

It took a while to load, but it has a nice (and hard) gameplay. It was fun to control the arms of that monster :)

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Argh, to my brain these controls are inverted. I feel like pushing into the direction of the arrow every time. Cute art style and fun idea.

blaster391 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Fun game, except I'm really bad at it xD

Graphics are very nice, would like a button to restart though, refreshing the page is annoying

Serch says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Update: Fixed restart level with a click or press Ctrl

Rulrite says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:36am

A tough little game! It was oddly difficult to get used to the controls, but not in a bad way. Great job on the art, as well!

el-pepi says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:53am

Pretty cute graphics and simple gameplay. I wish there where some sounds.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Terribly cute. I was sad for this dragon because your game is hard. you did a good replay value

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:24am

Hahahah loved the princess face! But i played very bad, hard game!

Romaing says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:56pm

I like the princess eyes^^ sometime i want to hit soldiers on the top but i have to wait and i loose... but the game is well made, good job!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Nice art!

hoqjed says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:23pm

You have a nice concept and great graphics, but the knight's movement random movement coupled with not being able to control the height of my arms AND only swinging one arm at a time makes randomness too prevalent, and turns it from a potential skill-based game into a frustrating luck-based one. If I had more control over what I'm doing I feel I'd enjoy it more.

superfluous says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Haha, the art was very cute. The princess bugging out in the tower is hilarious. I agree with some of the others, I might have enjoyed the gameplay more if I had more control over the arms. With this additional control, I think the game could allow more frenzy with a lot more knights and still be fair

Kassimkot says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:48am

couldnt load

Caspila says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:33am

That was a neat little game. I liked the art and the concept. I also enjoyed how you tackled the jam's theme. One thing that really frustrated me was that pressing right moves the dragon left arm to the right. it was complete mindf****. Good job!

Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:42am

Audio would have completed it, but still a great effort!

TackoramaLtd says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 7:28am

Really need some audio and I thought the controls were inverted.

Aaranos says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Great graphics for the it and decent gameplay. I felt it was a bit short. Audio is definitely something to think about next time around even if its just stuff you pull from elsewhere.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 7:29pm

I couldn't run the game in Firfox, neither in Windows nor Linux. :(

Twinters says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Oh you made a dragon defence too! The art looks really great! The game was quite difficult, but that's a good choice for this game. Would have loved it if there was some audio though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]