Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Imperial Accountant

by Ilseroth - Compo Entry

In this game you play the Darryl, the Imp accountant of the great demon king Karagarad. You are tired of your duties on the 7th floor of his grand dungeon and hear movement upstairs. The invading humans have made it to the 6th floor and you decided to cut in, literally.

Note: The web version is a "Finished" version that has small improvements like enlarged text, and 2 more levels. If you are judging, and playing on the web player, please don't rate based on the last two floors.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#73Mood3.78
#126Audio3.51
#154Graphics3.82
#177Overall3.56
#467Theme3.40
#471Fun3.01
#520Innovation2.91

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:45am

Wow, love the use of Shaders (?) here! Fantastic :)
Great game too

Teekeks says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:45am

Really impressive!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:51am

Great graphics and a cool background music. Stealth is always enjoyable to me as well. Nice work!

Somfin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:51am

I would have given this game a 5 star rating for humour, just for how the guards die.

Excellent work and a lot of effort on display. Feels very 'engine-y,' if you get what I'm trying to say?

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:51am

On osx, it doesn't look like the screens at all. All I can see are the candles. It was quite confusing.

Birke says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:52am

Rendered in the webplayer just fine and it is indeed some nice shaders. I think the bottom level took a bit too long but the stealth mechanics on level 7 were fun. Good you could see the cone of visibility for the enemies.

otato says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:55am

Graphics were definitely unique but on some of the later floors I found myself getting turned around with the lack of a map/compass. Otherwise great job!

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:55am

@mikelovesrobots: Well that's too bad, sorry about that; I can't test but I'll recompile it and hopefully it works.

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:56am

Interesting concept and very engaging stealth gameplay, actually. Impressive for the amount of dev-time! Enjoyed the style very much although I was hoping to be able to open the chests some how ;) Also, I got lost pretty severely. Also liked the music very much, great mood.

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:59am

@Otato: Shame the theme wasn't "Helps to have a map" :D. But yeah I wanted it to be a little confusing, similar to the old school dungeon crawlers. If I had more time to make levels I would have made some serious labyrinths.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:00am

I knew from the second I saw the screenshot that this was a going to be a good game. You sir, did not dissapoint.

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:00am

@Phil Strahl I was going to have a treasure mechanic of some kind, but it was way low on my priority list. I was about to make the next floor up; then realized I only had 1 hours left, which I used to submit.

Freebios says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:45am

Nice rendering!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:51am

I love the art style, but the difficulty of the game was rather low, never felt in a position where I had to really watch my moves. Overall though an enjoyable game!

Cynapse says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:51am

This game has a great look to it! The controls are slightly unresponsive (The character keeps moving after the movement key is up) but otherwise is very enjoyable and gorgeous.

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:55am

@Interwebsninja: Well it is the first two floors, honestly only one room is slightly challenging (the mazelike area) and even then it's not bad. Maybe I'll build some more levels for fun and make it an actual game.

Sam Twidale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:03am

Rendered in the web player fine for me with Firefox 40.0. Quite like what you did with the shaders. Also very impressive amount of content for a 48 hour game, but I also found myself getting a bit lost because of that, that's not such a bad thing though.

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:03am

Very nice. Love the music!

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:11am

Very nice atmosphere and music!

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:16am

@sam twidale: Actually I know it works fine in web player, fixed that hours ago. But apparently it didn't save me changing the description. Only thing I am not sure if it works or not is on Macs, as I don't have one. Here's hoping.

Honestly I was hoping to knock out another level or two prior to time up, but this time around I did actual animations and modeling which ate into a lot of the time... not to mention 3 separate guitar tracks.

noom says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:29am

Really liked this one, your art style was lovely, and the music was fantastic!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:35am

Gorgeous! Great job on the fixed osx build. It looks so fantastic.

JoeProgram says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:37am

Loved the moody music! I wish the rooms were a bit smaller - when I died, it felt like I needed to do a lot of walking to get back to where I wanted to be.

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:11am

@joeProgram That's mostly due to sprint missing. However I didn't get to making a footstep system for the guards, and given that the player can't hear the guards, would be rude the other way around, so you are always being sneaky. (AKA: slow).

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:33am

I was hoping someone would make a stealth game. Amazing, original graphics!

Split82 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:36am

Excellent mood and interesting graphics. Love the guitar music too.

TwixtorTitan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:19am

Haven't seen this style before!

Johnicholas says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:15pm

I'm sorry I can't run this entry.

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Nice game took me a bit to figure out what was going on but was fun to play.

moon519 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Just the best I have seen here so far. Everything is perfect, the music, the graphics and the idea are great!

Very well done!

Parappa says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Good stealth gameplay and some puzzle elements.

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Fantastic mood!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:11pm

I enjoyed almost everything about this game, Especially the mood and audio. Graphics only thing I disliked.

Vaida says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Impressive! The music is nice, the shader makes the art look great, especially since you play with light sources. It also has quite a few different gameplay elements, fairly complex for a compo entry. Would love to see this as a longer, more fleshed-out game. :)

vividhelix says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Interesting unique look, but a bit tiring on the eyes with the white borders on the itch.io page, maybe make those black? The edge detection borders also seemed kinda thin.

Chill music!

PixelPerfect says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Really liked the concept, would play a full game of this!

Integershift says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:05am

Absolutely amazing. I really enjoyed this game. Only thing was the difficulty did not seem to escalate apart from it being more tedious to get behind the knights. Great job.

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:16am

@Integershift: I agree the difficulty probably didn't escalate fast enough. Honestly the only room that could be challenging is the maze area on floor 5, since the knights in there all kinda do their own thing with no easily discernible pattern.

Of course that means some people walk through without any issue, and others get cornered by 4 knights from all directions.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:35am

Love the art style! Good use of music and lighting. Very solid entry.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:09am

Nice Graphics and the stealth mechanic works pretty well. It's fun to play!

plusultra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:14am

Great art style! Super good job!!

Erlend Aakre says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:50am

great game!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:53am

The music is good but too calm. it's not good for stealth theme.

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:43am

@maxi and the gang: I am afraid I am going to have to agree to disagree here. While I agree wit wouldn't be fitting for say, metal gear, which is going for stealth action, this is pure stealth. Any kind of direct conflict is death. Calm is exactly what you want. You aren't trying to pump people up, you are trying to slow them down.

That being said, I do think that tonally, I should have made the songs, still calm, but a little more disconcerting, given that it is a dungeon.

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:15am

Those graphics were very different but very cool. Love your game :D

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:00pm

cool background music and nice graphics although alittle bit confusing navigating in the rooms at the beginning :)
good job!

Raspadsistema says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Cuteness itself.

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Awesome!

peterkirk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Visually this game is amazing. It’s inspired me with some ideas. So thanks for that.
Though they do have the problem of being same-y and leading to me getting somewhat lost.
Other than that very good work.

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:18pm

@peterkirk: That is why I actually why I decided the "final" version was going to be 5 levels, instead of 7. Simple fact is. Were I to take this to full production it would be actual modelled levels, as opposed to a grid based dungeon style.

While the grid allows for rapid development, I would need a lot of wall/floor/ceiling variants (which I obviously couldn't do in a tightly timed competition.

BUNN1E5 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:40pm

I really liked the music and the shaders! however, I would I feel really short. This is something I wouldn't mind if everyone on the level where i started was about the same height. It just seems like I'm super short, not that the humans are so big.

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Fun game! Great aesthetic feel, great sound. Not much wrong with this game, it all feels very polished. Well done!

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:49pm

@BUNN1E5: Yes. you are short. Very short. you are an Imp. That's why in order to stab people you hop up first.

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Sorry an addendum: You are also, in particular, a run of an imp. Only Greg is about as small as you.

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:55am

Nice game, also, map will be really helpful, anyway - impressive!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:21am

Weird aesthetic for a definitely unique project. Well done ++

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]