Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Mild Mannered Richard

by DarkwindMedia - Jam Entry

Mild Mannered Richard, our friendly, neighborhood, one-legged monster, woke up on the wrong size of the temple today! He finds himself being chased by the local tribesmen. Help Mild Mannered Richard get off on the right FOOT and try to escape the angry mobs.

Be sure not to hurt any humans along the way. It will likely enrage the mob even more! Mild Mannered Richard never meant to hurt anyone anyway ...

---

How to Play:

The character is a one legged monster that needs to hop around (given that he only has one leg)

When the character is on the ground, standing on one leg, hold Space bar (or "A" button on an Xbox controller) to charge up a jump, and release to perform the jump. Lean left and right (using the arrow keys or the left stick) to aim your jump.

While in the air, you can orient yourself (using the arrow keys or the left joystick) and charge up another jump (Space bar / "A" button) to double jump.

When you hit the ground, you will roll until you are able to land on your feet and do it again.

If you hold the roll button (up arrow / right trigger) you will NOT land on your feet and may continue to roll along.

Try to see how far you can get before the angry mob catches you. Avoid squishing humans as this will make the mob angry and come at you faster.

Features:

Supports controllers.
Currently hosting Windows and OSX builds. (Web Player and Linux versions coming soon.)

---

A note from the developers:

Thank you so much for your consideration. This was quite an exciting Ludum Dare for us. We struggled at first to come up with an idea. At times, the theme of "You are the monster" seemed to open us up to new ideas, but in the end they never were quite there. On Saturday morning, we started really narrowing in on what we wanted to achieve, and by noon, we were moving full speed ahead on prototyping!

There were several changes along the way. At first we started exploring a pixel art approach, but it wasn't quite doing it for us. We started off with a creature that was a single eyeball destroying a city, but eventually we found more creativity in the tribal setting.

Over time, what evolved was a product that we are very proud of and would love you all to enjoy. There are, of course, elements that could use improvement, and we will most certainly be addressing those. For now, however, it is time to sleep. Thank you again for your support.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#55Innovation(Jam)3.90
#63Fun(Jam)3.87
#79Overall(Jam)3.90
#101Audio(Jam)3.76
#106Humor(Jam)3.74
#108Mood(Jam)3.84
#116Graphics(Jam)4.28
#200Theme(Jam)3.87

Comments

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:58am

Holy crap you guys are amazing at animating. The gameplay needs skills, and it feels good.

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:58am

So much fun! Looks really nice, great voice acting, great animating! Great all around!

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:59am

A very good and polished game. Awesome job! :D

Shugor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Really cool! The art was good, and the gameplay was very solid with an original concept. Difficult to control at first, but after a bit of practice i got the hang of it. Good job!

Twinters says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:55am

By far the best graphics I've seen so far in this LD. The audio fits really amazingly well and the concept is pretty original. I had a bit of trouble staying alive as the crowd of tribals kept crushing me. Great work though!

dydx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:41am

The movement is so creative and executed perfectly. And the character/context is hilarious. Love it!

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:31am

Man, this is great! Just great!

uheartbeast says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Really funny and interesting gameplay.

ghostlyguru says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Really neat. Enjoyed it & like the art!

Cloudeyes says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:14pm

cool graphics

UrbanHelsing says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Good gameplay and pleasing for the eye

DarkwindMedia says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Hey everyone, thanks for playing and commenting so far!

We've uploaded the Web builds and Linux build for anyone looking for those. We couldn't really test the Linux build, but it should work with keyboard & mouse at a minimum. There is a bug with the WebGL version where it detects a gamepad controller and provides the appropriate UI elements, but doesn't actually detect button presses, so you'll need to use the keyboard. Sorry about that, we will fix that up in a post-jam build for sure.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Really fun entry. Well done. :)

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Great mood through the art and music. I don't get though, how do you get past the enormous vertical wall at 340m?

baldman says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Awesome

Taldius says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Really good game, I love the concept and it feels nice to play.
Great job!

El Cabaro says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Wow, cool game. It gave off an eerie vibe; Richard seemed more like Salad Fingers than a mild mannered monster.

xvw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:04pm

I did not understand right away that we could keep it pressed "space" to jump like a spring, but I ended up thinking, and I really appreciated!

Excellent graphics, original gameplay, very cute monster!
Physics/Mechanics has certainly been very hot to do ...!

Bravo!

OFF says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:09am

Well polished, there is strange feeling in the gameplay due to the waiting time, not really a delay or maybe due to the kayboard play, but it think that with a more faster chareg time you could give more flow to the game (and also for the second jump).
But that's a really well polished game, well balanced, but i have this sticky feeling (maybe due to the fact that you stick to many walls) that remove me some part of the fun.
But really great job, it's only a matter of tweaking to end with a great plateformer.

spotco says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:08am

Fun game, though the controls never completely "clicked" for me. Love the voice acting

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Really fun game! Very good job, very original idea. Would love to see this expanded on in the future.

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Brilliant graphics, animations and sound. I would have liked for more things to squish.

lukepilgrim says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:15pm

great challenging game!

magenta says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Wonderful art style! Frustratingly challenging controls reminiscent of qwop but a hell lot more satisfying.

hexagore says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Gorgeous art. Tricky controls though, took me a little while to get used to it but I managed it eventually. Nice entry!

LewisChaplin says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Brilliant! really enjoyed this game. took some getting used to, but was great!

Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Hahahaha that was fun ! I loved the voice acting, the gameplay was smart and quite well balanced (a bit hard maybe). I liked the choice of random levels, so you don't get stuck even if one bit is super hard

garygreen says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Clever idea, fun too and great graphics. :-)

CreamyBacon1 says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Wonderful game! Very well animated, and game play works well. Wall jumping is a bit tricky, but not impossible. Very Good Job!!!

Oct 8, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Poor little creature. Good game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/0AIZTu6ja8E

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]