Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Dis-o-rder

by squirrelbot - Jam Entry

There's been a murder, and Detective Pocket is on the scene! Catch the killer in this story-driven mystery game.

Controls:
Use WASD to move.
Press E to talk to someone or examine a body.
Press F11 to go fullscreen.
Press ESC to exit fullscreen.
Press N to skip narration. (Not Recommended)

Requires Java to play. https://www.java.com/

I realize I have another day for the Jam, but the game is finished and I have no time Monday.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#151Audio(Jam)3.63
#452Mood(Jam)3.22
#477Innovation(Jam)3.06
#579Humor(Jam)2.69
#609Theme(Jam)3.35
#677Overall(Jam)3.04
#866Graphics(Jam)2.63
#919Fun(Jam)2.51

Comments

Connors says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:31am

I love that you recorded your own narrations. If only the story weren't so predictable... Of course, it would have been more surprising if I didn't already know the theme was "You are the monster". The twist ending would still have been better, though, if it were a little more dramatic than a single sentence of text. Overall, though, the story was fairly evocative and there was quite a bit of tension as you decide wether to incarcerate people even when you have almost no evidence.

jphelps says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:39am

great job. I agree with conner 1000%

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Wow that was some great sound!
Playing the game itself was a bit clunky but the narrative made up for it completely!
Great job!

tompudding says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Great music and idea, but the gameplay dragged a bit

chanko08 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:24am

Narrative was very amusing!

Ershany says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:12am

Enjoyed the game and the narrative! However my complaint is that the music is really quite load compared to the narrative. Which annoys me a little bit :P Other than that good job!

LevieDAudio says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:51am

Oooohh! Great game! I really enjoyed the narration! Even though it wasn't super-professionally done, it was great that you still put your all into the voice acting and the story because the enthusiasm shows and it just works so well!

The first time I was investigating, I didn't know how the game mechanics worked so when I clicked 'Leave Scene' i was suddenly to convict somebody and I was like 'Oh, I didn't expect this so suddenly! I don't remember anybody's names!' so I had to just skip a day, jailing nobody! To prevent confusion, either a tutorial kind of thing would be good or even just simply a 'back to scene' button would have sufficed!

On level 3 I saw the direction it seemed to be going in and only then I remembered the theme and felt like I knew how it was going to end! I spoke to the witness at the end and her voice level raising in my face made me feel quite tense, like someone was actually suddenly yelling in my face with all her heart and with absolute certainty that I was a murderer! Pulling the player out of the level so suddenly as her dialogue ended was a really nice effect and a good twist on the game mechanics. I thought that was done really well!

Overall, the game was really engaging and enjoyable! I really enjoyed the audio too! Well done, everybody!

Reisen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Good voice acting, and interesting story as well.

One missing feature is "press E while a dialog is animating to skip the animation".

Kizler says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:15am

The narration needed subtitles. I could barely make out what the guy was saying on my crappy pc speakers. I loved the fact that voice acting was used. If only the theme didn't spoil it. :(

superfreak says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:31am

LOVE that you did your own narrations and went for some (supprisingly intersting and engaging) narrative in this game - really enjoyed it!

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Pretty good. Kinda saw the ending coming though.

Croze says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Omg I absolutely loved the narration, was smiling like an idiot throughout it. Darn you Damon Adams!!! The name of the theme kinda spoiled the ending though haha, I was confused how it fit until I thought about it for a second.

AlexFili says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:05pm

While the quality of the writing is good the vocal quality needs to be slightly better, I also heard some microphone noises that should have been sorted out in the editing process. The gameplay itself is decent enough and I like the graphical style.

eddynardo says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Nice acting :D.Enjoyed it!Played twice hehe

jcsirron says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Interesting premise. I liked how the entire game centered on trying to figure out who did the crime.

SoloDuoTeam says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:40pm

There are not a lot of narrative games out there and this is awesome. Well done! Engaging!

jcourt says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Knowing the theme kind of made the ending predictable. Good story!

sikosis says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:26am

Not bad. It's a complete deduction game, not really one for the theme (you are the monster), but a very nice game all the same.

Beanalby says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:01am

Love the theme, my only two notes are: a) the narration is quieter than the music, so I had to keep adjusting the volume, and b) faster scrolling text please! Had to sit around and wait for it.

MrTwister says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Well, the ending is hardly surprising, but only because the LD theme is "You are the monster", which kinda gives it away from the start.

Narration could have been shorter I guess. Perhaps you could have provided a summary or a briefing before each case, so the choice of skipping is not so extreme (currently you either sit through a long narrated audio clip, or you just miss the whole plot).

Despite being lengthy, I loved the narration, and the music, but I can't help but wonder if my choices (which suspect to incarcerate at every crime) had any relevance at all, or affected the ending in any way. If they did not, then investigating the scene and picking a suspect every time was pretty much a waste of time, which would suck because that's pretty much the whole game.

I really like games that involve investigating and gathering clues. I haven't seen many of those this Ludumdare. This game could be better I guess if the crime-solving aspect is made more relevant. Perhaps your decisions could affect the number of crimes it takes for you to "get caught". Dunno.

Anyway, great job guys. I enjoyed this game!

P.S: I also have to agree with Beanalby. Faster text scrolling please! xD

General says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:28am

Yes, due to the LD theme I started suspecting how the game would end :) But it's a good noir mystery game, and kudos on voice acting!

Here's the video of me playing: https://youtu.be/BtVCl5-xRYo
Your game is at 27:51

squirrelbot says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Trying to reply to everyone's comments two hours before judging ends is a bad idea. Effectively, thanks for all the feedback. Audio volume and text scrolling speed seem to be the main complaints, no nothing too major is wrong.

Specifically, @General thanks for the video review. It's great to see not just what someone thinks of the game, but how they play it. FYI the yellow things were popcorn, and the red and white was a soda cup. I didn't think anyone would try to examine the level detail.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]