Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Blockluster

by TheLocust - Jam Entry

This is my second time i join ludumdare JAM SOLO and ive made the blocklaster where the player has to avoid barrels and shoot houses ..

controls:
XBOX

A == SHOOT
B == SHOOT
ANALOG == LEFT/RIGHT

=========================
PC:

D == MOVE RIGHT
A == MOVE LEFT
CRTL == SHOOT
ALT == SHOOT

Ive made this game as an lesson for our morals as humans (Monster) where we look for war and few look for love. for our beloved Syria and any other country that has been destroyed by filth and malice....

E-mail :Alialhamwi96@hotmail.com
Alialhamwi96@gmail.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ali.alhamwi.9

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#577Audio(Jam)2.60
#872Graphics(Jam)2.59
#906Humor(Jam)1.92
#986Mood(Jam)2.32
#1003Theme(Jam)2.53
#1029Innovation(Jam)2.02
#1039Overall(Jam)2.50
#1046Fun(Jam)2.24

Comments

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:00am

No mac/web - no playtest :(

valid4life says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:01am

Overall, the art was not bad.
For a second ludum dare this is great!

Nichii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:02am

I cant seem to download the folder, maybe you should zip it?

-Isaac

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:13am

Congrats on completing your game! Next time you should package the game into a zip archive to make it easier to download.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:15am

Good Game. Would have loved it on a web version as well

Pilly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:37am

Enjoyed the music, and the fast movement made for a fun experience. Only complaint is having to wait a few seconds for the restart.

TheLocust says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:03am

honestly this bug got me down to my knees ive been trying to fix it but it didnt work out

nuiguy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:31am

Web version got 'Server not Found' in Firefox :(
Downloaded and played game though. I liked it, and think in the future, an app version would be cool!

Nichii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:48am

Its a pretty fun game, but yeah, the bug seems to be like when you Game Over, you need to move around first then it will allow you to press R.

Overall, what a surprisingly simple game!

-Nikorasu

Patomkin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Explosions were cool. If only the barrels were a little bit more visible ;)

Kakureta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:48pm

The game is challenging, but the way the barrels fall just seem random and so you can't really get good at this game. It was fun for a while. The graphics were good and the audio was not bad.

glerikud says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Interesting thinking about the topic, I liked that. However the game can end very quickly, because the explosive barrels come in too frequently.

emongev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Art was not bad, i hated the fact that deaths felt unfair though :P

Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:49am

Tough game, managed to score 2100 one round but those barrels dropping get you every time :-)

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Agree, this game is hella hard with no chance to improve, too quickly the barrels far. Graphics are solid though and the flow felt great, keep it up!

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:47am

There's not much wrong with this, but next time make sure you add some extra layer of depth with the gameplay. The explosions are satisfying :)

Mikhail says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:24am

Alright game. Only complaints is that the game over screen feels too long. If you are making the game very fast paced, then the player should be able to get right back into the mix after they die. Call of Duty for example. The exploding barrels felt random i couldnt quite predict where they would be coming from and i didnt feel like i had enough time to react if one should fall right on top of me.

superfreak says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:40am

The gameplay has potential but at the moment runs into a few snags which are a tad frustrating. The art was decent and the explosions were especially well done and I liked that you tied it in with real world events. Solid entry.

ChaosCult says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:38am

As a statement, it fails somewhat. As a game, it's just bad, from problems with camera (which can go outside level) to very primitive gameplay and strange idea of suddenly appearing houses.

Pantoufle says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:54am

Nice game. I found it quite hard as only one barrel is enough to kill me and it is hard to avoid it.
But overall this is fun :-) I'd like to see a web version.
Great job!

Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Not bad. Sorry, but I have to make a couple of nitpicks: the barrels are a bit hard to avoid and the houses disappear way too quickly.

Pretty good graphics and sound though. It's a good start, just like most games made for LD, a bit of tweaking and it could be a great game.

adsilcott says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Fun and simple game.

bigbuggames says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Graphics are nice, the tank and those houses are very well done. The controls are simple and easy to use, the only problem I see with the game is that you can get killed without a chance to dodge those canon balls. In my opinion there should be something that tells you where the canon ball will fall, maybe a shadow or a red line, that would be nice.
Hope this helps! Good job!

Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:28pm

The barrels fall so fast and random that it seems impossible to play this game with any skill. Strange theme decision, but I still had fun with it.

Louspirit says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Nice graphics(explosions, tank, houses) but too hard, 6 seconds is the maximum I could hang on. I can see the bomb too late.

Boehrsi says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Well done, played with a XBox Controller. The sounds are great. :)

Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Nice game! I recognize those houses from the Unity asset store, because I used them in a zombie game I made last month. LOL, I guess it's a small world.

AsixJin says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Didn't really get the objective but I enjoyed it. The music was my favorite part and it matched with the visual. I enjoyed the vibe.

tylorlilley says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:30pm

The explosion sound effects were a little loud but I quite like this take on the theme!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:37pm

You should add some warning before a barrel falls because it is super hard at the moment (I survived 15 sec once, with luke ><'). Anyway, good job!

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:07am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]