Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Vampire Lord of Valea Noapte

by Scripturus - Jam Entry

After centuries of slumber, you, the eponymous Vampire Lord of Valea Noapte, have awakened in your coffin in Castulul Noptii. During your absence, the inhabitants of the valley's nine villages have forgotten about you, your past rule a vapoury memory that only survives in old tales and legends.

But your time has come again. Dispatch your minions, the Bat and the Wolf, to spread your influence amongst the villagers and keep them suppressed with terror. Do not let them rise up against your rule, for they will either kill you or the battles will leave the valley a burning wasteland. And beware: Before long, vampire hunters will come to Valea Noapte, seeking to send you back to your coffin for another century.

--------------

The Vampire Lord of Valea Noapte is a turn-based strategy game in which you send agents to the villages of the area in order to take them over and reestablish your rule.

Each village has 50 villagers as well as an Influence rating and a Terror rating. You win the game by getting the Influence ratings of all villages to 100. Once the Influence of a village hits 50, it may decide to rise up and send an angry mob towards your castle. This will take 10 villager away from the village and inflict some damage on you. If your Health runs out or 4 villages become completely depopulated, you lose the game.

You have two minions, the Bat and the Wolf, as well as yourself, the Vampire. You select these agents by left-clicking and send them to a village or to your castle by right-clicking. Left click on a village to get more information about it. Enter ends the turn, and Escape quits the game.

While the Bat is in a village, it increases Influence. The Wolf increases Terror. The Vampire increases both, and also increases your Health by feeding on a villager. If the Vampire is in the castle, he instead makes the Bat and the Wolf more effective, but angry mobs will do more damage.

There are a few random events in the game. And be careful, because once you start drawing attention to yourself, a group of visitors might show up...

---------

This has been my second LD, and once again a lot of fun. There's a lot of room for improvement – it needs to be balanced a lot better, my art is as always pretty bad (the bat, wolf and vampire sprites are not mine), and I would have liked to add some more village special effects and random events (there are only two at the moment) – but I do feel the basic concept is pretty sound, and it's a lot better than my first effort from LD32 ('Dezinformatsiya', which you can find at http://scripturus.itch.io/dezinformatsiya, if you're curious).

I have included a HTML5 version, since a lot of people asked for one last time. I think it should work okay, but there might be some resolution issues and such. The best experience is probably with the Windows version.

Anyway, hope you have some fun with it.

PS: As a final note, if any Romanians should happen to be playing this, I do apologise for the way I have probably mangled your language and place names. I'm sorry.

EDIT, Tuesday 25th: Unfortunately, it's likely the game won't work with Windows 10, as Game Maker doesn't support it yet. Sorry about that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#520Innovation(Jam)3.00
#544Theme(Jam)3.43
#599Mood(Jam)3.00
#856Humor(Jam)2.10
#907Overall(Jam)2.75
#972Graphics(Jam)2.22
#1024Fun(Jam)2.30
#1362Coolness46%

Comments

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:08am

NICE GAME GR8 JOB MAN!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Well done, it might not be the game for me but its a cool concept. i would enjoy it if there was more explenations in the game

Flaid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:33pm

I appreciated the significant amount of back story in your description. I think it added a lot to the game for me -- knowing a little bit about what was going on before playing.

I really liked the concept of this game! I've always liked turn based style games, and this one was straightforward and easy to understand. I played it a couple of times (managed to get killed by an angry mob both times).

The graphics aren't much to look at, but it gets the point across. The music fit the style of the game and definitely added to the overall mood.

All in all, very nicely done!

MFEP says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:37pm

none of the controls worked, win10, acer travelmate p460MG :c

KR-Eddie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Nice strategy game :)
It probably needs some balancing but it was fun!

KR-Eddie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Btw, I don't know why you chose not to be rated on the Audio. The music was great!

Reccy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Really nice concept, but the game needs a bit more balancing.

madameberry says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:54pm

For some reason I lost and I don't know why. I seemed to be doing well and then suddenly I lost.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:57pm

There are never too many turn-based games in this world. The graphics were a bit dark, though, some objects were hard to see. But that's probably just my monitor.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:42pm

I wasn't too sure exactly how I was meant to obtain my goal or what I was doing was effective.
I thought that the music set the mood well and like the idea of taking over a country through fear.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:12pm

I really like turn based games it would be cool if you could build more units to terrorize the villages

Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:35pm

The game was really cool little strategy game. Once i figured out how all the mechanics work there was a lot of depth to the game. I would like a movement system because I found dodging the vampire hunters really frustrating. Great work.

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 12:44am

Interesting strategy game. I agree with a person above, you should have included audio.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]