Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Project Box

by klbrazil - Compo Entry

Project Crushing Box
(project name became the real name idk why XD)

Crush the other boxes to rack up points and kills

use - W - or - up arrow key - to go up and
use - S - or - down arrow key - to slam it down

don't go too high or you'll get out of bounds and lose

"YOU ARE THE MONSTER"
you are the BOX monster it may not look like it but it's evil inside :v

It is made 1 day after the announcement of the theme, It's hard for me to think of an idea with the theme because i don't have artistic skills XD
I already made 3 ideas with prototypes from the 1st day but Im still not satisfied so I decided to think about it after i wake up and this is the result XD

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#500Fun2.97
#641Innovation2.72
#659Graphics2.70
#760Humor1.88
#770Overall2.75
#804Mood2.34
#932Theme1.91
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:54am

Nice and neat game for a 1 day jam :)
I think the game idea will be great on mobile!

mipzeemallows says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:08am

Nice game. Simple yet addicting mechanics.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:55pm

You say above that you don't have artistic skill but I think this looks great. Well done. It has that "one more go!" factor which is super fun. Good work.

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Fun little concept! I keep pretending that I'm crushing those boxes to the rhythm of some song, ahaha.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Simple but effective, the gameplay works very nice, good job.

psypol says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:58am

nice job;) frustrating to loose when you leave an annemy block untouched. probably aimed for touch devices right ?

mboaj says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Nice game. It reverse the "Impossible Game" mechanics in a way.

klbrazil says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:08pm

thanks for the feedbacks ill try to port this game and add some features as @spypol said XD

BooleanByte says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:26pm

When i first made the kill of the fist box, the sound made me thik of it as making a rhythm.

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:12am

funny our concepts are so similar. checkout my game
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=55576

And nice game. A rhythmic music syncing with the stomps will be fun. And moreover Stomping shouldnt break the rhythm. Or just add another player and make a fighting game like mine ... HAHAHAH ...

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:19am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

mar3k says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:35am

Pretty simple, but nice game, really like those jumping effects and mostly the acceleration when you go down.

Kevin Pearce says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Great idea, you should think about putting it on mobile platform, this game is really addictive

Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Nice take on runner dynamics. Addictive...just one more round, I can crush more of those do-gooder boxes...

Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:54pm

- good concept
- gameplay and mechanics feel pretty fun
- checkpoint system would help
- you should keep working on it get an artist to help

Wekid says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Cool parallax bro, nice job!

Literal Games says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Nice mechanics, I feel like if you fiddled a bit with them a bit and changed it so it was music-based then you'd have a cool rhythm game!

Mase says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:56pm

I crushed 34. It's surprisingly satisfying, though the first 10 boxes become tedious after a couple tries. Pretty good sound effects too. This game made me feel like an assembly line component.

Using a monochrome background was a smart way to make up for your professed lack of artistic skills. However, the contrast between the boxes and the background is too low; the dark blue boxes on a black background are especially troublesome in this regard.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Surprisingly fun for such a simple game (only two buttons). It has the feel of a rhythm game, but without the music!

kidando says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 4:26am

It's like playing really hardcore basketball. Nice job

igoramendola says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:30am

oh, this is kind of addictive xD
my best is 31, so far. Nice parallax and shaking (hit) effects.
btw, cool explanation about the use of the theme... appearances can be deceiving :v

Mubox says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:42pm

A bit hard to start over here, but I liked your concept.

PS: We have fixed our game, if you want to see it again. ^^
Thank you.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]