Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Be Afraid My Son

by r8berto - Compo Entry

This is a game about parents, sons and monsters.

The gameplay is like a puzzle, you have to coordinate your actions and movement to kidnap the kid.

I didn't have time to put in some music, but I thinks is not relevant for this game.

Thanks for playing!

(BTW I'm @r8bert)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#160Innovation3.53
#181Overall3.55
#194Theme3.82
#229Fun3.38
#254Mood3.31
#439Graphics3.14

Comments

Mothdan says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Argh Sussan yah big cry babeh I'm just trying to steal a baybeh leave meh alone!

Great game, high scores.

r8berto says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Hahaha Thanks! The names of the characters and what they say when they discover you are actually important to guess the backstory.

refreshgames says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:29pm

A cool and rather unique puzzle game there, fits in with the theme nicely, took a couple of goes to get it right, which is good level design imho, could perhaps have done with some audio from the footsteps / devices to really bring it home but yeah, high scores for you!

napoleon says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:32pm

VERY HARD.

razieliyo says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:58pm

nice one :)

flokitall says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:13pm

This puzzle took me so very, very long to get right, which made it even more satisfying in the end. Awesome job!

The design for the puzzle was great, the theme is represented quite well, overall an impressive little game.

The only thing that I'd change would be to add the ability to skip the lose screen, instead of being forced to wait a second. Other than that, everything is great!

Togimaro says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:05am

Whow, really interesting and good idea! The level design is awesome but the movement of the guy is toooo loooong after 50 tries. But the victory is really enjoyable, good works!

Jacktheviper says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:37am

This game was very well designed, you have a clear goal and a simple set of rules, but still it was hard to figure out exactly how to win and it felt satisfying.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:15am

Very challenging, Lots of tries before reaching the goal but at the end it is like massive satisfaction after so much frustration :P
Nice one!

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:32am

Getting the kid was possible, but escaping to that closet afterwards was a little too hard. Maybe I got it wrong though. Awesome game, I spent half an hour playing this. Madness!

WizzardMaker says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:50am

Nice game, finished it after 5 attempts, great puzzle!

dunin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Cool puzzle game!
Simple and fun.
I was just sad that there is only one level...

Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Cool idea and good design.

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:09pm

REally nice, It took me a couple of tries, good level design!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Very difficult (but it should be difficult to steal children really). Graphics worked really well with the game too.

Derek Rumpler says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Very fun and satisfying! It was frustrating trying to figure out their movements at first, but it felt great once it did. I would propose that you allow people to skip seeing the prompts when you lose, though.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Really cool entry, the mood got me on this. Would be interesting to see it expanded! Good Job!

dregamr says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:53pm

It's a "retry, retry, retry" game! :)
simple, cool, fun!

PlasmaErnst says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:10pm

nice game! Interesting graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]