Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Stars are Watching

by Xanderzoo - Jam Entry

***A lot of people are complaining about the lack of friction. If you would rather play this game with friction, download the post-jam version here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/rxxv01n487ue9aj/XanderzooLudumDarePostJam.lnk?dl=0

ALL it changes is the friction. The rest of the game is the same.***

Something mysterious has happened. One minute you are spiraling closer and closer to a black hole, the next you are teleported to a different region of space. Your ship's star maps do not store those star system. Does that mean no human has been here before?

Instructions are given in-game, but they are summarized here:

WASD or arrow keys to move. 'A' and 'D' strafe. Your ship points at your mouse. Click to fire. You can toggle 'slow mode' by hitting shift. The game then goes into slow motion. You can only be in slow motion mode for a certain length of time. You can see how much time you have left in the bottom left hand corner. (There is a bar.) Your "slow-mode" time regenerates every wave.

Keys are rebind able. To rebind keys, enter the 'data' folder, and edit keymap.txt

Written in Python 2.7 and Pygame 1.92

To run the EXE, extract the zip, enter it, and go into XanderzooLudumDare. Then run game.exe.

To run the source, extract the zip, enter it and run game.py

The source should run on any computer that has the correct versions of Python and Pygame. The EXE should run on any windows machine.

You won't realize how the game fits the theme unless you finish it. If you don't finish the game, please don't rate it for theme. (Please rate it for everything else, though! :)

Ratings/comments/criticisms appreciated!

Post jam version: https://www.dropbox.com/s/rxxv01n487ue9aj/XanderzooLudumDarePostJam.lnk?dl=0

The ONLY thing I changed in this version is I added a little friction. (I literally changed one variable. :) )I also created it before submission hour ended. Anyway, I think a lot of people will like this version more. If you're annoyed by the lack of friction, you might want to try it.

NOTE: I opted out of sound because I got music off the internet. Music credit to DST: http://www.nosoapradio.us/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#359Fun(Jam)3.28
#466Overall(Jam)3.28
#569Mood(Jam)3.05
#640Graphics(Jam)3.13
#841Humor(Jam)2.15
#875Innovation(Jam)2.52
#888Theme(Jam)2.89

Comments

RiverAndRun says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:48am

It was quite hard to control but was fun shooting the droid things.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:50am

I really like the gameplay idea, the grapich style is clear, well realised and enjoyable.
I found a little hard to control the ship, it drifts a little too much but that's not a real problem!
Nice Game, Well done! :D

razavidn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:50am

Th actual shooting component is great, but the max speed vs. playable space area is a little off the charts. It's easy to speed way beyond the enemies in a level, and I spent most of the game trying to find them rather than actually fighting.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:51am

One of the best ones I've played so far! I love the parallax scrolling effect on the starfield, I've never been able to get that right.

Halleflux says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:55am

Fun to play, though the controls are annoying. Sure it's realistic that ships don't slow down in space without another force applied to them, but it's also realistic that they can't accelerate given that there isn't anything there =P
Basically, having a max velocity would be nice.
Overall, it's a cool game. Well done!

TheRuseman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:02am

Controls were a bit too floaty, and the twist at the end was obvious a mile away, but I still enjoyed playing this game quite a lot.

kfarwell says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:11am

I wasn't able to get past the boss fight, but I peeked in the source python file to spoil the end for myself. :)

Overall, a very fun game. It's a nice and pure 2D space shooter, not much innovative about it, but nothing wrong with it either. The sprites are good (though the player ship looks like a turd ;) ), and the music fits the game well.

Xanderzoo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:47am

I'm glad people like it. Because it seems a lot of people don't like the lack of friction, I'll try to release a post jam version that includes an option. I wonder, do you know that you can slow slow your ship to a stop using the 'c' button? I find it useful when maneuvering.

Xanderzoo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:54am

I released a post-jam version. The *only* thing it changes is it adds a friction effect. If you were annoyed by the controls before, this might help.

Jimbly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:47am

Fun! Took a moment to get used to strafing controls while facing the other direction, but it was great when I got used to it! Using 'C' to reset motion was definitely useful a lot (didn't see the post-game version). Died on final boss and didn't see the end of the story though :(

pnkthrepwood says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:43am

Gameplay is a bit hard, didn't feel much in control, which is sad because history is very engaging!

Xanderzoo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:45am

@pnkthrepwood

You complained about the control, so I am just wondering--have you tried the post jam version? All it does is add a little friction. Another thing that you may not be doing is slowing down by pressing 'C'.

nihilaleph says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:54am

I really liked the art and music of the game! (Although I did find the player ship a bit wierd). Couldn't reach the end though... the controls are way to difficult for me since it controls force and it's relative to where the ship is pointing too... So I will try to beat it again later and then I rate the Theme! (although i can see where this is going)

nihilaleph says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:04am

Oh when I downloaded the game there wasn't a post jam version.... but well, following @kfarwell I did peak into the source file xp

/******* SPOILER ALERT ********/
Even if the ending was different I'd still considered the main character a genocide monster xp

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:17am

I wish it had osx/web version.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:40am

Fun little space shooter. I worked on one of these as a side project. Amazed at how much you did in 72 hours.

Monkokio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:51am

Feedback of shooting enemies was great.
Flying controls are tough to use.
Not really sure how this fits the theme.

Xanderzoo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:41am

@A_K
Well, this is written in Python, so web is out. If I had a mac I could make a mac build. Sadly I don't.


@Monkokio

If you don't finish the game you won't see how it fits the theme.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:00pm

OK, this game is Solar Winds cross The Outer Limits episode "The Light Brigade" ? Love it!

Flaid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Who doesn't like a spaceship shooter game?? It was fun, the explosions felt right, and the controls seemed about right to me.

I played the original (not post-jam) version because I wanted to play the actual entry. I can see why people complained about the lack of friction, but knowing that it was a problem allowed me to compensate for it while playing.

All in all, very impressive!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Awesome game, nice story - when the captain started to discuss the shape of the aliens I felt something was bad! Nice controls, though took a minute to learn them - perhaps add some easier step at the start to learn the controls? Was real fun and was surprisingly different strategies needed for different opponent ships!

blurryroots says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Very cool slowmo effect. Nice use of the theme. Although the twist is certainly not necessary considering the xenophobe outright genocidal behavior of the player character ;)

kaype says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:59am

Really hard to control. Still fun though!
good audio too

bowlercaptain says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:12am

"Strafe" is the most fun direction. When I remembered the theme I had an appropriate "Oh god no" moment. When I succumbed to the defense force I did not persist, for the good of ea2th. Did enjoy flying around, love the starfield. Full points for a convenient-to-run Pygame project.

Chaosmore says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:18am

Finished the game, the control is fine, in fact I would state that it's actually well-thought. About the story can be predicted right at the beginning, after I predicted lots of other jam games before playing this one. But the way how the theme is used surprised me a little. Recommend finish it to find out.

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Xanderzoo says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:03pm

@Biruts
Actually it's a one man team. :) I'll check out your game when I have a little time.

Keon says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:18am

Very nice game. I like the floatyness, but strafing + lack of friction didn't work well. The theme was well done.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Cool gameplay, but the graphics could be a little better, giving more information to the player about what is going on. The controls are a little bit weird, but it is a very solid entry, congrats =)

Cosmologicon says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 6:34pm

I tried the source version on Linux and it works great. Just chiming in to agree with everyone else. Overall quite good, fun shooting, I like the time slowing ability, too easy to lose control and go flying off, cool story but really obvious twist.

WubAlliance says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:26am

Fun entry! The graphic quality is impressive, the background stars really caught me off guard. Like the other comments say, the viewable space vs the speed is a little out of scope and takes some time to get used to. Overall solid entry, one of my favorite so far! Keep it up!

Oct 20, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/wEgI5I5KLKY

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]