Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Dark Howl

by Kakureta - Jam Entry

Dark Howl is a 2D platformer in which the goal is to clear all 10 levels.

You play as a werewolf who kills all NPCs he encounters. The more you kill people, the higher your score will be. Use WASD to move, space bar to jump and left click to attack.

Made in Unity
Graphics made in Photoshop
Sounds in Audacity
Music in 3ML EDITOR

Download Available
Web Available (Downloading the game is recommended for full enjoyment)

*WARNING* Game contains blood.

- Kakureta

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#444Theme(Jam)3.56
#604Audio(Jam)2.53
#624Graphics(Jam)3.18
#807Humor(Jam)2.23
#889Mood(Jam)2.59
#929Fun(Jam)2.48
#1009Overall(Jam)2.59
#1028Innovation(Jam)2.03

Comments

Lucho9 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:33am

i really enjoyed the background and the stage! aside from the movement, i like the blood and the killing :P

mooncalf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:42am

This game looks GREAT. Graphics don't make a game, but still, this looks really spiffy, great job!!

Audio could have been executed better, perhaps with the right software, team members, etc. I did the audio on my team, so one tip I can give you in using Audacity would be using the "Noise Removal" tool in the "Effects" tab. Highlight your sound sample, select the noise removal dialogue box, click "get noise profile," select the removal tool again, then click preview to tinker with it. Click "okay" when satisfied.

One big flaw is how I bounce when running against the terrain - I try to clear a gap, but since I'm already airborne, I fall in, having to run the whole thing from square one with no one to slice.
The other big one is how victims stand in place. If they ran around, that would present more of a challenge, but the challenge lies mainly in the platforming, which is satisfying (save for the bouncing).

Kakureta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Thanks for the feedback!

Grhyll says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:56pm

I didn't went very far I'm afraid, although the game is pretty nice, but I got annoyed by what mooncalf mentionned, that is the fact we can't jump if a little bump in the field made you jump just a little bit, often making us fall in obvious pits, and restarting from the beginning...

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Quite challenging platformer, close to theme. Cool music, nice and atmospheric art. I like parallax effect on background.

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Nice platformer. Improve controller little and ready for stores

ToloaGames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:54pm

The attack animation looks neat!

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Neat game! If you wanted to develop it further, the NPCs should probably be able to inflict damage of some kind.

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Had some problems with physics, but good attempt!

guoboism says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:40am

Nice graphics. The animation is nice.
There is the jump problem near the pit. The little slope would stop player jump as player would be in air-state when they press SPACE.

adsilcott says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:49pm

The wolf looks nice. I had difficulty with the jumping in the beginning of the level. If the humans were more a challenge to kill, I think the game would have been more interesting and fun.

arzi says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Werewolf games FTW!

Antokolos says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Nice!

jcsirron says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:34pm

The bouncy terrain made jumping (and all other movement, for that matter) quite difficult. I found myself yearning for tighter movement and a less uneven terrain to move on. I love the artwork and simple music, though. The character animation was incredibly smooth and looked great.

collaboration says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Awesome concept, just need more work!

Acuity says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:47am

I don't like that you respawn all the way at the beginning of the level when you fall. Not bad though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]