Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

I am Malware

by Finn - Jam Entry

Programming and project manager: Finn Truman
Artists: Daniel Bristow and Niall Deacon

I am Malware is a game set in the Magus universe, a world created by the mind of Finn Truman, in the middle of its timeline. You play a new recruit for the Dream Hackers, a vigilante group of prodigy hackers. You will use three types of viruses to dig your way through servers in four levels. It is recommended you play the tutorial.

Made in GameMaker: Studio. You MAY look at the source code, but Ludum Dare being Ludum Dare, it is very messy. This is not code to go by example.

If you don't want the fullscreen: Alt + Enter

Thank you to Dan and Niall for getting through this. This was their first game jam. Dan's now crying in the corner as he injects himself with coffee.

NOTICE: There appears to be some confusion about the levels not finishing. This was a comment said by the artists when they play tested it, too. It is explained in the tutorial that you (usually) have to go back to where you started to finish it. That is why I said above that it is recommended you play the tutorial. I will not change this because I don't like stealth games that just end the mission when you complete the objective, I don't believe that to be good design.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#80Audio(Jam)3.83
#190Innovation(Jam)3.47
#285Fun(Jam)3.40
#365Overall(Jam)3.40
#383Theme(Jam)3.63
#494Mood(Jam)3.16
#657Humor(Jam)2.56
#727Graphics(Jam)2.95
#1752Coolness36%

Comments

MrKOHCEPBAHT says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:53pm

So... I should download and run file named "I am malware.exe"?

Game is good, I like it. But I can't finish 1st level. I disabled every server and nothing happens.

Finn says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:51pm

That is why you should play the tutorial. It is explained that you usually have to go back to the start of the level to finish.

MrKOHCEPBAHT says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:35am

No! That is why gamedevelopers should draw "EXIT" sign near start location. Or a door. Or a hole. And text "Now leave the building!" after all servers disabled.

Vaiaphraim says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:29pm

After playing the tutorial, it told me that it usually ends where it started... yeah... I "beat" the tutorial, and level 1 - but level 2 never finished, no matter which of the rooms I entered, and how many walls I jumped against :(
Yeah, an "exit" sign would be helpful. Nice graphics and sounds, by the way :)

El Cabaro says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Haha this game is really well made. I liked the storyline bits and the music just fit perfectly. Reminds me of the early Metal Gear titles for the MSX/NES.

Strike says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:03pm

I played the tutorial, and I got stuck there. Simply trying to follow instructions but it's actually impossible to go back to the starting point there. So I had to quit the tutorial and I tried the first level, which I couldn't complete because I had no idea how to use the trojan or that I could use the virus to kill the guards. Thinking I missed something in the tutorial, I went back there. And this time, only by luck, I managed to move to the next part by actually not following the instructions. I ended up facing the same issue there where the exit is actually at the opposite corner of the starting point. So after acknowledging that "exit is at starting point, except in tutorial", a few levels later the rule changed. This is creating a lot of confusion. As people mentioned before, just adding an exit sign would have solved that very easily.

I also didn't really like the "try your luck with the worm", not knowing where any of the vents would lead me to. This is forcing us to play and replay levels until we memorize each connection. It seems very unfair, even for a malware ;)

Except that, I actually like this game. It's fun to sneak around using different abilities. The music is really good and matches the atmosphere of the game perfectly.

Divitos says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:32am

Very fun game!

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:12am

Ok, I understand your point of the need to come back to starting point, but I guess it just have to be according to level design and the mission. I did play the tutorial but it was very confusing since the text sometimes changed before I could read and you're not supposed to go back to starting point. Anyway, an exit sign would be quite welcome.

Anyway, very neat concept! It was really fun to go around with the different abilities sneaking through guards. Music and art was great too! It would be nice to have an indication where the vents go to (although not necessary, really your call), and the game was unforgiving on mistake, got caught then game over. Couldn't finish, but I'll try again ^^

MrThee says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:37am

The tutorial text went by a bit quick, so I missed the bit on how to become a worm a few times :P. A Paper Mario: TTYD-style text system would fix that (i'm surprised more games don't use it). I REALLY dig the mood the music gives. Another little nitpik I have is that when a dude notices you coming out of a pipe, even if you go back in immediately you'll still get dinged (!) for it, which feels kinda unfair especially since you don't always know where the pipe leads.
That aside, the game has a pretty cool premise (albeit not terribly original) and efforts were made to give this thing some context, so hat's off to ya'll for that.

ChrisFagan says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:42am

Really nice art and the file being called "I am malware" was a great thematic touch. As you've probably read already, the design could have been a little better just to make things a bit easier, however this is still a really cool entry!

Keon says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:06am

I love the gameplay and artwork, but the controls (especially virus dropping) was a bit glitchy. Overall great game. I like the hints of story between levels - I'd love to see more of the world you showed.

Andy Gainey says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 9:57pm

I liked this one; it had a solid core, even if rough around the edges. Music and sound effects fit the mood well, and controls worked as I expected them to (other than Enter not working in the menus).

One of the early bits of tutorial text disappeared before I had read it all; if it mentioned how to switch between the three malware types, I missed it; only figured it out after mashing buttons. I think they would have been more convenient on the right-hand side of the keyboard, so I could easily play with two hands, and thereby move/act and switch to a different malware type more rapidly. As it was, worming through a vent and then hiding as a trojan was awkward.

Not knowing which pairs of vents were connected was frustrating. Maybe that was actually part of the gameplay challenge: Figure out the connections without doing anything that will get you caught. But since I entered the game with a different mindset, I found that lack of information annoying.

I was confused by the tutorial saying one normally needs to go to the start to finish the level, but not actually being able to do so within the tutorial level.

DalaiLlama says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 6:35am

I like it! The variety of mechanics makes me feel like this game could be expanded upon. Definitely some potential there.
I felt like having to go back to beginning was a bit unecessary, though.

Frozen Stick says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 6:50am

Cool game,The music fits very well!And the idea is nice.Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]