Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Rush

by Tatsu - Jam Entry

You are the monster ... the high speed! Your goal is to drive through town and ̶ ̶H̶I̶T̶ ... test, the test dummies .
The more points you get , the more you on the rankings.

*bugs still in correction
*The ranking is online : we know that error message appears , and we will correct soon .

INSTRUCTIONS:
A, W , S, D - moving the car

c - changes the view of the camera

q - switches to camera back

Team :

Guilherme Breier : character and animation ;
Lucas Roveda e Paola Antunes: art scene;
Matheus Vizzoto and Felipe Borba: programming;

Thank you all and have fun! ^^

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#677Audio(Jam)1.79
#784Humor(Jam)2.28
#823Graphics(Jam)2.74
#1037Innovation(Jam)1.96
#1039Theme(Jam)2.38
#1048Fun(Jam)2.23
#1050Mood(Jam)1.80
#1087Overall(Jam)2.32

Comments

Chrisp196 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:26pm

I liked the game, the engine sound could be something different but other than that nice game, good job.

Vem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:17pm

It's like Carmageddon, except nothing works :/

kerotan24 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:23pm

The movement of the car is weird.

AzureAspect says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:27pm

The game could use some tweaks, I had hard time hitting anything (too unresponsive when going slow I'd say)

Idea of crashing on the dummies is good though (actually i had most fun in the game when some trash collector flew somewhere when I hit it with high speed)

Flaid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:30pm

I thought it was odd that I started out facing a fence and not facing the bridge, so I reversed and tried to go over the bridge... but I went straight through it... and then proceeded to get stuck on a hill to the point where I couldn't go forward or backward... just had to wait for time to get to zero (afterwhich it went negative).

I wanted to give it a fair shake, so I started again, this time driving through the fence, which worked. I ran over one test dummy before being completely stopped in my tracks by an immovable light pole which seemed to be about 3x as wide as it appeared, causing me to not get around it.

I feel a little bit sick after playing because the camera bobbed around like it was on springs or something.

It was very ambitious, but it just didn't work out for me.

Vladirien says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:32pm

The graphics and the city are very well done but I found that the truck is too hard to turn and it makes the game a bit frustrating.

Cloudeyes says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:18pm

if only it had better phys

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Very easy to get stuck, and that motor sound was annoying

Indiestry says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:32am

Solid foundation, I feel like the game could benefit a lot from making the car physics feel more tight, like for exampe in "omnisbus".

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]