Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Cure

by Modoc73 - Compo Entry

The Cure

Use arrow keys to move and space to interact

Find all the scientists and get a cure before time runs out!

Don't kill the villagers or your time will shorten.
But eating sheep will keep you from turning into a monster!

Finding it hard?
There is a bit of a strategy to the game. As time runs out you turn into a monster quicker. The key is to satisfy this monstrous desire by eating sheep,to keep time from running out.
Scientists look like the head logo on the GUI. They are meant to be a bit challenging to find. Otherwise there wouldn't be much point. It doesn't matter if you kill or talk to the scientists, your count will still decrease.


Made for LD #33 by Modoc Dev

Thanks for Playing!


Made for Windows (COMPATIBILITY ERRORS)

Sound does not work in FIREFOX! please use chrome or another browser.
For some reason sound plays through one speaker when using a browser, but find on windows version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#5Theme4.41
#6Mood4.35
#75Audio3.64
#95Graphics4.03
#114Overall3.72
#140Innovation3.57
#241Humor3.23
#348Fun3.19

Comments

FlashMonkey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:03am

this game was really threatening to me i like the mood it's good.

pavel_insight says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:03am

I was waiting for this game after seeing screenshots during LD. Great atmospheric entry! A lot of work for 48 hours!

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:04am

It's really difficult to tell the scientist apart from the rest of the population, and I kept randomly eating people while looking for them. Frustrating, but very much in keeping with the mood you set. I'm not sure I'd call it fun, in the classic sense, but then I don't think horror games should be fun. Good stuff.

JustinJ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:10am

Really cool and atmospheric. I loved how all the characters were silhouettes. I was going to comment that I felt pretty helpless about when the attacks would happen, but I realized that's exactly what you were going for, so well done!

avultima says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:13am

Absolutely awesome for 48 hours of work! I applaud you!

Fantastic art and great mood!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:46am

Great use of effects for atmosphere/the feeling of losing control.

Resonious says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:57am

I found this quite enjoyable. It was interesting trying not to kill people.

psyduckfreak says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:18am

I walked into school and was like NOOOOOOo im sorry

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:14am

Brilliant atmosphere but I got lost very easily. Some more hints to know where to go would be helpful.

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:43am

Cool stuff. All sound is playing in the right speaker though...

Kaadmy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Fun game, good atmosphere and graphics.
Like it!

keddelzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Very nice atmosphere! I like the graphics and sounds!

drakekin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:05am

Cool idea but there didn't seem to be a way to tell the scientists from anyone else. Also I kept eating people by wanting to talk to them.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:01am

Very atmospheric game fit the theme! Pretty good job, dude!

P.T.A says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:09pm

very good job the graphics and mechanics are awesome, well done!

Lady Beardo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:46am

So atmospheric!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:27am

good game, i enjoy it :).

andreymust19 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:37am

Nice triller game.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Heh, creepy! Congrats with the entry!

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Nice game. creepy sound and graphics. Well done. Cool monster theme.

abcdef65g says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:04am

I love how the effects were made, it really gave me a vibe of a classic black and white monster movie, in which you couldn't really understand what you were and you only knew what your monster side did. Nice touch of a psychological thriller.

Manoloko says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 9:17am

What a great game. I liked the mood, the use of time for gameplay, the sounds effects are really cool. It was hard to find out what you were supposed to do though.

ManuSaiz says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 11:29am

Loved the transition effects and how character texture was turning corrupted in time, nice use of the theme swell!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Cool entry. I like the execution and mechanics. Would have been nice if the game was a bit shorter but more intense.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]