Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Adventure

by pyokoanarogue - Jam Entry

(there is a bug on the web versions when you go from side to side )
Very cool self explanatory Tittle .
what ? you want more ...
ok it's a platformer ...
more ...
metroidvaniaish?
ok. it's an ePic adventure of monstrous proportions that will lead you trough a journey of self discovery and stuff.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#727Humor(Jam)2.39
#932Graphics(Jam)2.40
#992Mood(Jam)2.29
#1024Theme(Jam)2.43
#1064Fun(Jam)2.14
#1103Overall(Jam)2.26

Comments

Ryusui says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:51am

As much as I appreciate a good Metroidvania, this was just too sloppy to be enjoyable. :(

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Good job. If you move left-right quickly on a platform there is a bug causing you to fall from it. The controls could be improved.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:11pm

I couldn't really get anywhere in this. I seemed to fall through platforms down into 'the well', then from there i would fall through the floor out of the level entirely. =(

pyokoanarogue says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:47pm

I took the web version down. the pc standalone version seems to show none of these issues (i suppose and i pray). thanks for letting me know of the bug :)

Quadnozzle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:33pm

The platforming mechanics were solid on my run through, I didn't experience any of the falling through platforms that others have. All deaths were purely my fault. I liked the retaining abilities on death, that was a nice touch to make a death more bearable. It could have used some music though! Overall I enjoyed it.

Koneke says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Controls definitely need some tighting up, might want to raise player speed a bit. I also kept bouncing off walls and stuff, which occasionally made me fall several screens.

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:56am

Great idea to get abilites while platforming the manipulate the enviorment. Colliders are really odd though

xvw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Sound, sound ... i want sound ... yarrrr ...

x-velocity is too low, a jump gets twice higher than longer, it's a bit frustrating...

The axes of humans at the level after the "punch up" technique ... are really too strong...

But I liked it. : )

Thanks for the game!

Druid says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Well, nice metroidvania concept! But controls was little sloppy and level design which is main essence of metroidvania was... Boring. But, graphics were nice! (Main hero is pretty charming :D) All in all.. Solid entry, but could be better.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 4:52pm

The overall idea was nice, but it was just so hard, I couldn't get much further than gaining the dig ability.
I enjoyed the humorous writing and the player is cute!

Oct 18, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Neat game, though I felt like the movement was a bit slow. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/mQTSmMf-zUY

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]