Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The monster is an human

by PaulJs - Jam Entry

Game by Raphael B and Paul Js.

In "The monster is an human" or like i love call it "The asshole simulator 2015" (but my co-worker had the last word), you are a guy that gets money which comes literally from the sky. And you choose to use your money in a very useful way. Oh and an another guy die in front of you.

Good game !

PS : We chose not to add music and sfx.
PS2 : There is a gift in the game if you try not te be a monster.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#609Humor(Jam)2.65
#663Graphics(Jam)3.08
#875Innovation(Jam)2.52
#907Theme(Jam)2.84
#989Mood(Jam)2.30
#1082Fun(Jam)2.00
#1111Overall(Jam)2.19
#1362Coolness46%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:02pm

The moving is a bit awkward since you have to wait a second until the guy reacts to keyboard input.

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Ah ah, very funny game ^^ But the controls were frustrating, the character don't move for nearly one second when I change direction and he is really slow, I think it would be much more fun without these problems. Nice graphics too :)

axoona says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:18pm

This is a very original approach abd the graphics are nice, the controls are a bit awkward though

ironleonem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:39am

I'm not really sure the guy is an as... I mean, a monster, for taking free money from the sky. Also, aforementioned control issues.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:40am

Movement is excruciatingly slow even given the input lag problem. Not much motive to continue after getting the fourth upgrade. Music and sound effects would have added to the game.

S0lll0s says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:31pm

The linux downloads ask me for a decryption key...

WASDMagician says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Graphics were nice, drop the input lag, make money drop faster give it some challange.

squarepug says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:43pm

I think you should have made the days shorter, and with the money falling faster. Judging by other comments people getting upgrades quicker might have kept them interested, and funny noises would have been great I think.

Togimaro says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:27am

The feeling is strange but it's a good interpretation of the theme!

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:30am

The controls feels heavy but the graphics are nice. The game finished before I was able to collect money for the last to objetcs. I don't know if it's intended or not.

Arche-san says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:02am

Graphics are nice.
The character movement is veryyyyy slow and it's a bit frustrating.
I couldn't reach the last goal in one run despite I don't pay for any upgrades. I think it's because bills give random money and there is no feedback to indicate the amount (a color for each amount could resolve that).
Nice work in any case! :)

PaulJs says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:03pm

@Kerdelos The game ends when you are at the day 5, because the homeless... Because the story ends !
@S0lll0s Oh, i'm sorry but i don't why :( !
@Arche-san Dollars give : 55% 50$ OR 30% 100$ OR 10% 500$ OR 5% 5000$

Thanks all for your reviews ! Sorry for the controls, processing isn't a game maker so it's my last ludum dare with this software !

Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Simple game, but well made. The character movement, again, is a bit off... I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/aXZw1Jpw2JA

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 4:20am

Not much to do, and as everyone else mentioned, the controls were a little annoying. They didn't get in the way much, as I could easily compensate by moving sooner, but they still were a little irritating. I also could not figure out how to help the homeless man.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]