Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Hunted

by Jakob37 - Jam Entry

You play as a monster sensitive to light. You are hunted by angry people with torches. Avoid the lights and make it to the portal. Stay out of the light to regenerate.

Works best in the Chrome Browser!

Controls
Arrows to move
Space to restart

Concept & Level design: Jakob Willforss & Johan Philipsson
Coding & Music: Jakob Willforss
Art: Johan Philipsson
Game testing: Daniel Alm Grundström

Made by LinkPact Games for Ludum Dare 33

Source code: https://bitbucket.org/Jakob37/ld33

Toolset:
- Coding in JavaScript/ECMAScript 6, transpiled with Babel to JS5, developed in IntelliJ
- Coding libraries: PIXI.js, howler.js, half-baked-home-made-library.js
- Music in FL Studio 12
- Sound effects in BFXR
- Pixel art in Krita
- Level design in Tiled

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#174Overall(Jam)3.67
#189Fun(Jam)3.54
#207Mood(Jam)3.57
#214Innovation(Jam)3.43
#259Theme(Jam)3.78
#353Audio(Jam)3.20
#477Graphics(Jam)3.50
#856Humor(Jam)2.10

Comments

peterthehe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:30pm

This is a really nice game! The mechanic was pretty innovative and it definitely had me engaged. Perhaps your game over sequence could be more polished, otherwise, Great Job!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Really cool game! I like the shadow and light mechanic. I think there's lots of room to expand to explore the light interactions further, water to put out torches, walls blocking the light, you get the idea. The controls could use a little tightening up, the jump felt kind of floaty, but great game overall!

blurryroots says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Liked the atmosphere. I think the mechanics are simple but very well executed and enjoyable ;)

Kep says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Simple and entertaining. Nice work.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Liked:
- atmosphere set by the art and the background music
- the game mechanic's simplicity
Disliked:
- the feel of the platforming
Final words:
Congrats on a complete and polished-feeling game!

GertJohnny says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Nice mood and shadow/light mechanic. The controls did feel a bit floaty to me, and sometimes the ground tiles blended into the background too much. Other than that good work.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:42pm

first game of this kind i played until the end. nice learning curve. liked it very much.

logiclogue says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Really enjoyed playing this game. I like how you fade into the light instead of having a health bar.

Twinters says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:11am

Had a nice time playing this game! Very charming pixelart, fitting music and an interesting mechanic.

johntheperson says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:00am

Nice. I really like the look of the game and the concept. Has potential to be developed farther. The jumping gave me a lot of trouble, though, felt like I was fighting the controls more than the game itself.

mickanio says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:21am

Awesome game! Really good exploration of that single mechanic in such a short amount of time. I played it all the way through : )

Great job introducing the mechanic slowly and ramping up. Love the graphics too.

thatwhichis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:11am

Very nice! Played to the end; soothing tune, good visual style and mechanics, would play an expanded version :-)

panda says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Oh, I love this! The art style is beautiful, and we really get into the mood of the hunted monster! The game's fun, too, and the platforming works well. Congrats!

puddelipip says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Awesome, polish, add a story and release :)

fraanns says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Great game, intressting mechanics to take damage from light, also cool that you can guide the people in directions. Gameover and Win Screen could be polished a bit more, otherwise, Great Game

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:01pm

there are lot of levels, it's nice. I was captivated by the sad atmosphere.

glaenn says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Very nice game with a really nice atmosphere. The pixel art looks great!

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Oh wow, that was actually a lot of fun figuring out how to lure the dudes and jumping at the right moments to avoid lights, this could grow into something cool if done right!

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Pretty neat twist on stealth gameplay! Could be really interesting if you choose to develop it further after the jam. Great job! =)

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:11pm

I really like the game mechanics. Nice combination of platformer and puzzle game. Well done!

The lighting effects are also quite nice. It's a bit too bad that the background has lower resolution pixel art than the foreground graphics. Doesn't quite fit together in my opinion.

And real good music! Too bad that the loop is so short and ends so abruptly.

ripter says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:12am

Awesome game! The music fit the mood really well.

local minimum says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:49pm

I very much liked the music and how it felt it reflected the level of hunted I was. Graphics was nice too. I had some issues with the controls, it was sort of hard to get a good feel for them. I don't know if this was true or not, but it felt like getting light on you while having up velocity on you sort capped that jump. Which made the start of a level a bit in really annoying. But in general, the game was really nice. I would have, to increase the feeling of being hunted, liked the music to never decrease in stress level. Only increase and increase for every level you manage until you die.

psychonull says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 3:27am

Nice puzzle-platformer!

igoramendola says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 4:01am

Pretty cool concept and use of the theme. It's the kind of game that I finish and want more levels. Well done ^_^

Beta says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Nice game, I finished it, I especially loved the musicn and the level design ^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]