Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Revenge

by azokal - Compo Entry

You always dreamed to be a bad guy? To rule the world and crush your enemies?
Come and play REVENGE!
Take the place of the boss in a shoot 'em up and destroy all the ships of the rebellion.

The main idea:

Be a shmup boss with the good and the bad thing! :)

The goal of the button smashing is to give the bullet spamming feeling by a physical way.

The goal of the move is the show that the player is a boss and by definition, it have to take damage and die, That's why it is difficult to dodge the bullet.

Control:

Up arrow / Down arrow : Move
E : Shoot weapon 1
R : Shoot weapon 2
T : Shoot weapon 3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#320Theme3.62
#326Fun3.22
#410Overall3.19
#436Audio2.78
#443Innovation3.04
#602Mood2.77
#655Humor2.27
#692Graphics2.61

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:34am

Interesting game. The take on the "You are the boss" subgenre is good. It may have been improved if you could aim your attacks, and if there was more interest in the bullet patterns, both that you had to dodge and that you shot. Larger, colorful bullets would have helped.

PokeyOne says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:34am

great game! one problem with the desktop version is that there is no exit button

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:34am

Interesting game. The take on the "You are the boss" subgenre is good. It may have been improved if you could aim your attacks, and if there was more interest in the bullet patterns, both that you had to dodge and that you shot. Larger, colorful bullets would have helped.

donaldm says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:35am

I really enjoyed this game. It was fun to play the boss ship. I really liked the attacks and the cool downs.

Good work!

MrKOHCEPBAHT says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:56am

Great game! E finger is tired however.

Wolar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:56am

I like the music and the idea. The only thing is that there is not much to "do". I just spam all 3 attact buttons all the time and there is no decision whenever to save or use any weapon at particual time. Maybe that was the idea but it's not fun for a long time.

azokal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:01am

@Wolar: That was the main idea. The goal was not to make a "fun" game but was to make the player feels what happen if he is a shmup boss.

MAnimal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:02am

Finally i m a boss one time. I have ended in wave 17.

azokal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:03am

Well play! ;D

Hurlenuit says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:09am

Good game !
I think larger, colorful bullets could have been better.

ziege says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:09am

Nice.
The bullets could be more visible, and I don't see any obvious way to exit the desktop version.
Other than that, good job!

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Cool game. Really cool to be the OP boss ship with cooldowns and abilities.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Nice game, but there didn't seem much point in moving. I ended up focusing on button mashing to fire as fast as I could.

YerghaizVerot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Pretty decent. Wouldn't have minded being able to hold the various attack buttons, as opposed to having to mash them as quickly as possible, though.

azokal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:41pm

@highlyinteractive! Yes, you got it! Was the goal, it made for the player to feel the good and the bad to be a shmup boss! :)

axoona says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:58pm

The special wepons could be unlocked sooner, but overall it's a very fun game!

KeyboardCat says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Good game ! But I haven't found an effective way to avoid taking damage.

Good work !

Slandercakes says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Fun little game, enjoyed playing it and the different attacks were pretty cool, although I felt like the main move wasn't very satisfying (shooting randomly instead of being able to be precise)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Cool take on the theme. I like how losing health unlocks your new attacks, that's a great idea. More variety in the enemies and waves would make this really great.

3CGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Nice job, fits the theme well!

Deadpan-Gamez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Really cool game, loved the art style and different weapons you can unlock. well done!

Parappa says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:16pm

I like this concept a lot.

Multiplexor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Nice! Love the concept!

I feel like the game would be sooo much better if there would be explosions and the bullets would be bigger (Like in your last hability)

Simple but very nice music!

Keep up the good work!

AdayMC says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Some idea like this went to my mind when I was thinking about the theme but I couldn't find a way to think it fun enough.

I like the way you made it, you really found out how to make it work nice and fun

Good job! :)

vividhelix says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:56pm

13 waves, pretty well made but hard on the fingers. an auto-fire and fire rate limiter would be welcome :)

SilentNight says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:59pm

I like the game it was really cute overall from the graphics to music. I wish there was a bit more to it but I made it to Wave 24 before dying. It was pretty neat overall!

Halleflux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:13pm

I liked this concept. I think it would be funner if you could chose your boss, or had multiplayer. (There's a fun idea for you =3)
Overall, a fun game that is a nice take on the theme. Well done!

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:55pm

I liked the audio. VERY NICE WAWAWEWA

WASDMagician says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:04am

Background music is okay but rather repetative, graphics are passable, would be better if there where more substance to the bullets as there is te the third attack you can do, nice range of attacks.

Pusty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:57am

Fun to play! :D

MapleQuest says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:21am

The only places I think this really needs improvement are spamming the E key (omg my finger!!), and being unable to do anything to dodge some attacks.

Lasted for about 20 waves, and had fun doing so. I think there's potential in the idea for going further with it, and unleashing massive patterns against enemies.

avultima says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:50am

I was essentially mashing all three buttons at one point! :D

I would be interested in seeing this concept fleshed out!

Cerberus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:21am

it was an interesting perspective, playing in the side of the bad guys, i also liked the weapon system and the different weapons. great job and very refreshing!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:39am

A refreshment which reminds me the old space fighter games like R-Type. Thank you for this entry. Neat ++

Vaida says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:43am

Nice take on the theme! The skills were pretty cool. The background music did get a bit repetitive, and it might have been nice to hear the bullets collide with the ships, but overall, nice effort for a 48h game! :)

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:14am

Cool game. Wasn't expecting something like this :D

Arche-san says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:39am

Nice concept!
The unlocking boss phase mechanic is very interesting. :)
The gap between phase2 and phase3 comes too quick.
I suppose the E/R/T commands is too avoid keyboard conflict (everybody does not have a QWERTY keyboard)

Togimaro says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Good game! Pity that the bullets are too small on screen and the music lacks diversity but overall it's an interesting game

S0rax says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Good game, but the music is for me not appropriate, i would like an epic music to destroy all of my enemies :)

Raspadsistema says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Good game, standard addictive gameplay of space shooter even though there is little else to do apart from firing all weapons whenever cooldown allows you to, since you can't do much in a way of dodging bullets. One big flaw is the weapon which you fire most often is on leftmost button, which makes your left ring finger start hurting quite fast. To improve I think the weapon you fire most should be on right side.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:33pm

I like the idea of playing as the boss of a shmup. I ended up just mashing all the buttons at once.

guoboism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Hard to be a boss! Nice game!

TomOlivier says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:00am

Good game, very nice implementation of the "You are the Monster/Boss" genre. Hard to be a boss in a shmup. Nice work!

Eingya says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:27am

Interesting concept, though the lack of aiming or any strategic element makes it a bit of a button masher.

Still fun though.

If i had to suggest something, maybe change the color of the boss bullet, through the whole of the first phase i was convinced the E attack wasn't working because red bullets on a dark background going super fast are near invisible

azokal says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:19am

@Eingya : the lack of aim and the smashing button was intentionnal. The goal is to make you feel what is to be a boss. Smashing button is to is for you to feel physicaly the smashing wave. For the lack of aim, generaly in shmup, boss dont kill you by aim you, he kill you because of generating a lot of bullet.

The bullet look well on my screen but its true it s a little too dark on some screen. Same thing for the star paticule in background.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:08pm

The concept is interesting. Spamming the first attack is a little bit annoying. I die on wave 23. I think that more content would have been welcomed. Good entry!

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:28pm

I just love shmup games hehe
Although it stills in some manner "rudimentar", the game has potencial. Keep it up!

mubox says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:32am

Very good. (:

Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Really neat idea! I included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/qmrKCmuKBqk

JonathanG says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:28am

This is a really cool game, classic schmup is one of my favourite genres, and being able to play the boss is a lot of fun.The graphics and audio were spot on, in my opinion. Having the two additional boss moves unlock as you take more damage is cool, though imo a defensive ability (like closing the eyelids or something for a short period) would have added a lot in terms of gameplay. I really enjoyed the 22 stages I lasted for, though I’m fairly sure I have developed RSI from spamming the E key!

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Would've been better if there was a limit on how fast I could fire the first ability, as having none meant I tried to fire it as fast as possible, resulting in tired fingers.

Also, some weak health regeneration to reward dodging would be good, though there'd need to be more danger in the edges as right now sitting there and only moving when a ship happens to be there is very effective.

Finally, it didn't feel like I was very much of a boss as it did that I was simply a bigger ship. Controlling minions before being attacked & fighting only one ship would've made it a lot better.

Overall, decent little game - music and graphics were both good and fit together nicely, and everything was easy to understand.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]