Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Competition Inside Monsterous Inc

by MarelisGameDev - Compo Entry

Live a life of a monster working in a Monsterous Inc.
Listen to your boss, scare people, earn more money than your colleagues and become the best monster of your corporation.

*** STANDALONE VERSION RECOMMENDED ***

Walk - A, D
Jump - Space (you don't need to jump at all while in game) :D
Scare - Left Shift

Created in 12 hours (because reasons)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#436Audio2.78
#443Humor2.77
#521Theme3.32
#717Mood2.58
#727Graphics2.55
#792Innovation2.41
#842Overall2.62
#880Fun2.25

Comments

bogdanmaier49 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:43am

Sorry, Chrome can't run this app

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:46am

Chrome can run this app I can assure you ;)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:46am

I can't run it in chrome

MrKOHCEPBAHT says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:49am

Nice art, sound and atmosphere but a bit boring gameplay.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:51am

Good concept, just wish I could speed up the text a bit :)

Xeke_Death says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:54am

I scared everyone away before getting missions, good thing they came back..!
A good start, though I found walking all the way back to the boss was tedious...

frokes says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:56am

Nice idea, but the controls are somewhat odd. The jump is kind of inaccurate but i guess that wasn't the main focus. Going back to your boss gets kind of boring after a time.

cmayhem says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:56am

I'm the scariest monster! Very nice little adventure/puzzle game, I see a lot of potential for this idea. Cool graphics, I really like the music. Well done!

alyphen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:03am

This game had fairly amusing dialogue, and the mission system was interesting to play through. The music and sound effects were alright, too. The gameplay mechanic could certainly be improved upon - currently it's fairly repetitive, just scaring people placed along a linear path.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:18am

I liked where it was going. The graphics are good, the sound is great, and the writing is spot on. Then it became like the most boring fetch quest I've ever done.

scottredrup says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:36am

Controls are a little weird, i.e left shift makes me turn on sticky keys! Interesting game though, not quite sure I got it all to be honest, the effect that scares the humans is kind of nice too!

sapermysz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:47am

I like the graphic style, but gameplay is little boring.

Dasginger says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:57am

Nice entry, I loved the music!
For people trying to get this (and other unity web games) to run on chrome, you need to enable NPAPI.
Put chrome://flags in the address bar, find the "Enable NPAPI" option and enable it, then relaunch chrome. I had to allow the unity plugin on the page after that, but it works fine.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:19am

Despite small size and programmer's art (:D), the game feels completed. Good job.

Joseaper says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Its a bit dull but the art and story make up for that.

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Really cool idea :)

gene-z says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Nice... keep working

Zammalad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Played well enough, loved the music. Walking felt a bit clunky and slightly more time on the graphics would have helped a lot. Overall good effort though. Maybe the only other thing would have been putting something in to skip text or speed it up.

razavidn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Cute little matching/memory game. Even though it's useless, happy there is jumping. Text could be sped up just a tad!

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Good concept, text is a little slow. But it's great overall

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Good game, graphics could use work but it was fun :D

vividhelix says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Interesting scary mechanic. It runs in chrome but you need npapi enabled.

WASDMagician says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:51am

The scaring music is epic!

It would be better if you started in the office with your boss instead of outside with the people, that was rather confusing.

For people who say Chrome can't run this, you need to enable NPAPI, Google is removing it from their browser, so either run it in Firefox or some other browser that still supports it or search how to enable NPAPI in chrome.

Realize2D says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:23am

It would be better if you could accelarate the dialogs. Other than that, the story and graphics are nice.

EwChap says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:38am

Fun game. Nice memory puzzle style mechanic. Walking back and forth was a bit tedious but for some reason, something about that music when you enter the office just worked for me. Like I knew I was going to talk to my boss and get chewed out for scaring the wrong guy.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:48am

game crashes on start :( - mac OS X

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:56am

I ran in Chrome after enabling the NPAPI flag. Others can do so by pasting this in the address bar: chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:15am

Gameplay still not interesting because it's repetitive. Dialog should be faster or can be skipped.

ChrisFagan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Was a bit boring since it was just a back and forth game. Art and sound was nice though

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:25pm

NPAPI enabled, but in Chrome OS X "Failed to download data file"

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:42pm

I don't know why, but the compressed file I download (windows) is alway corrupeted :/

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:42pm

The dialog screens were too slow and unfortunately did not have any way to speed them up. I would also like to have been able to run, as it sometimes took a long time to get to where you wanted to go. The pixel art was pretty interesting. Glad to see little details in the decoration.

Patomkin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Nice idea, but needs more work :)

namrog84 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:37am

allow me to skip text, anytime I have read it and still have to wait for timer to expire is jut so frustrating :(

shift? why not space or click and move jump although unnecessary to W

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Dialogs made it hard to play for long. Places to be! Like the overall idea though!

Darkflint says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Good fit for the theme ;) Had fun playing.

AlexFili says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:58am

Overall a fun little game, I liked the dialogue and the graphics. Could use a little work to make it more exciting but good attempt I thought.

Kizler says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 3:50am

A suggestion would've been. Use wasd. W-Jump S-Scare A-Left D-Right... And then let me use the spacebar to speed up the boss's slow talking. Maybe shift so that I run faster. Other than that... the game was really fun. :)

Xanjos says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:46am

There probably needs to be a button to skip/speed up text but interesting concept and I like the lo-fi pixelart style.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]