Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Echidna

by ironleonem - Compo Entry

Echidna is a pretty standard take on the theme- you play a monster, caring for her young monster. I tried to go for a serious, decently interesting story, but I had 48 hours. :) I can't say too much about it, for fear of ruining the plot. Also, for similar reasons, don't read the source code before you beat the game. It's not that hard, I promise!

Controls:
Arrows - Move
Space - Attack
Eat Food to heal - R

I hope you guys enjoy! This is my second LD ever, and first attempt at a compo. Thanks for your time!

Source is included in every package. Zipped with windows' zip utility.
Web Version coming later, when my webmaster gets out of bed. :)

Note! The game does not reset progress. Please reset the game to get back to level one! I'll be fixing this bug shortly. Sorry!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#287Mood3.25
#389Graphics3.23
#453Overall3.14
#467Audio2.72
#477Theme3.38
#514Fun2.95
#722Innovation2.57
#1578Coolness41%

Comments

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:39am

Surprisingly atmospheric and a good "story", though possibly too long for people to experience in a Jam game. The graphics have a nice style.

ironleonem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:48am

wg_phancock, thanks for the review! I really appreciate it!

LPeter1997 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:21am

Really cute graphics! I loved it!

ironleonem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:47am

Thanks Peter! That means a lot to me!

ziege says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:29am

Pretty neat.
The story is a bit unexpected in a game like this - really like it.
The font is a bit hard for me to read though.

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:48am

I love games like this :D

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:21am

Nice story, fun little game. The music was a bit low quality and got tedious after a while but otherwise things were great. You did great for your first compo entry!

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Good story, cute graphics. This makes a great submission. Great work for you first attempt at a compo. Good work

adsilcott says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Good story. I like the art style.

philomory says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 11:31pm

I really like this. 100MB seems a bit big in terms of LD downloads, but I'm glad I played it regardless. Played through it twice, to see both endings.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]