Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Pirate RPG

by Ershany - Jam Entry

I planned to make an RPG, made an engine in Java from scratch in 72 hours, but again I set my goals way too high! Anyways this little RPG is about exploring the small world and killing creeps to level up to fight a strong scripted boss! However you discover things throughout the game that end up making you a monster! Make sure to interact with the people in the world to learn about everything. Also your progress will be saved, so don't feel like you need to level up to max and beat the game in one play through :)

Controls:
Move: WASD
Change Weapon: Mouse Wheel
Focus Target: Right Click the mob
Talk: Click 'F' when near an NPC
Interact/Open-Door: Right Click
Attack: Left Click
Pause: Escape Key


Known Issues:
FullScreen when not in your native resolution breaks the game
Visual bugs on the little mobs spawned from the boss (knight looking guys)
Performance/Stutter sometimes
Very rare crash


Hope you enjoy the game or think it has potential! I did this over the weekend from scratch in Java and I have like 20 thousand lines of code. I am going to go take a break now. However I do plan to make a full RPG after my break from Ludum Dare, and it will play just like this game but instead you will have armour, money, a ship and a crew, and there will be a questing system and dungeons and more!


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#346Audio(Jam)3.21
#602Fun(Jam)2.96
#638Overall(Jam)3.08
#693Humor(Jam)2.49
#774Graphics(Jam)2.83
#845Mood(Jam)2.67
#934Innovation(Jam)2.40
#1049Theme(Jam)2.31

Comments

triplefox says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:04pm

I like that music.

FloatingGhost says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Can't run

java.lang.NegativeArraySizeException
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioClip.open(PulseAudioClip.java:449)
at sfx.AudioPlayer.<init>(AudioPlayer.java:40)
at sfx.AudioPlayer.<clinit>(AudioPlayer.java:11)
at gamestatemanager.SplashState.init(SplashState.java:19)
at gamestatemanager.GameState.<init>(GameState.java:13)
at gamestatemanager.SplashState.<init>(SplashState.java:14)
at gamestatemanager.GameStateManager.<init>(GameStateManager.java:20)
at game.Game.start(Game.java:81)
at game.Game.<init>(Game.java:75)
at game.Game.launch(Game.java:188)
at game.Game.main(Game.java:175)

Linux x86_64

Pusty says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:57pm

The music is nice! :D

KingGames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:01am

Very good game! Mine was made in java too, but the difference is, mine had crappy graphics :/

Ershany says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Floating ghost, I will try and look into that problem.

jrhee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Full blown RPG engine in a weekend- ambitious! Also impressive!

Ershany says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:36am

Thank you jrhee! It definitely shows that I only had a weekend, because the game is missing content like lots of mobs! However the boss fight I feel is where the game shines, however it takes a good 10 minutes of prep before you can do it :)

jphelps says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:54am

great game. nice graphics

Hero7785 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:47pm

The music was the best part.

peecestudios says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Wonderful game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
amazing graphics!

glerikud says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Despite the simple graphics I quite enjoyed it. Loved the details, like the minimap and the 2 weapons. Didn't manage to kill the boss though..

ripter says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:43pm

The music was great! I felt like I was playing an old school NES game. Trying to find the right pattern to kill the boss.

Ershany says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:07am

That's what I was trying to accomplish ripter :) I will probably continue to develop the game, but add questing and ship combat and such! Also a gear system and raids and such :P

DruhinM says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:31am

Love the music. Nice little simple game to play

ripter says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:31am

I streamed my review of your game. Here is the video: https://youtu.be/YZP-qR4LM4w

Ershany says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:56am

Oh sweet:D The video is private :(

bitdecaygames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:27am

Felt nice to play, but there was no feedback on if my attacks were doing any damage! I spent about 3 minutes just running in circles shooting at that demon boss in the cave before finally giving up. I don't think I was ever doing damage to him, but I honestly couldn't tell.

sorlok says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:54am

Lots of fun, but the hit box math made the last phase of the boss very frustrating. Cool idea, and impressive work for 72 hours!

Ershany says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:06am

BitDecayGames try right clicking on the mob to focus them :) You cansee there health and level :) Shooting also does no damage to the boss, it just stuns him :)

nassi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Started the boss fight at level 6 and finished as a level 8 pirate, couldn't have done it without the heal provided by leveling up ^^. Walking around was pretty slow but still bearable because the distances weren't that great. Probably didn't experience all of it, because I don't know what you mean by shooting the boss for instance. The aesthetic is pretty basic, but at least it's not ugly.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:22am

The art is just ugh, mixing great pixel art with programmer graphics like that makes me cry. Aside of that I liked the simple mechanics.

Ershany says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:01am

Yeah I am no artist lol

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:26am

quite expansive for an 48hour rpg!

like the level up effect!

cool nice!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:06pm

It's a great engine for a RPG game, though the menu could be better. I liked the graphics but I had trouble finding the cave (and I didn't kill the boss, too hard). Apart from that it's pretty good, nice job!

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Wow, the boss is hard, I got to the 3rd stage(shots + spawning things) but I couldn't beat him...
The character's and enemy graphics were good, however the tiles and the screen tearing or stuttering(I don't know which of both) made my eyes bleed.
Music was great, even after it remained stuck on the boss theme.

Supernaught says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:25am

Props for making an RPG for a Ludum Dare game. Keep it up!

carle13 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:26am

Good game

abcdef65g says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:12am

Our entry in the last Ludum was also an RPG, so we feel your pain! RPGs seem very simple to implement but truth be told they are full of small traps for implementation. Anyway, great job in the implementation and solid entry!

Sep 10, 2015 @ 10:26pm

An Rpg in a weekend jam. I impressed. And i enjoyed it :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]