Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

INHUMANOIDS

by felipeberquo - Jam Entry

INHUMANOIDS

DESCRIPTION:
You're in control of a post apocalyptical monster trying to destroy everything in front of it. Smash, toss and burn humans and vehicles!

CREDITS:
Felipe Ramos as programmer - https://www.felipegamedev.com
Vinicius Cárcamo (Vinnie Phael) as artist - https://www.behance.net/vinniephael

CONTROLS:
ESC - close the game.
A/D - move left/right.
Left mouse button - punch in the direction you're pointing at. There are 5 possible punches: left, mid, right, air left and air right.

The demon hits the ground with such a force that can toss enemies nearby the area of impact and kill them.

Platforms:
- Windows
- Mac OS X

UPDATES:
08/24/2015 - Added a game over menu, sounds and musics.
08/23/2015 - Adding a game over menu and bug fixing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#115Audio(Jam)3.72
#143Theme(Jam)3.97
#225Mood(Jam)3.54
#256Graphics(Jam)3.94
#261Overall(Jam)3.53
#287Humor(Jam)3.25
#352Fun(Jam)3.30
#632Innovation(Jam)2.87

Comments

GanonsSpirit says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:45am

Got a null reference exception when I died.

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:40am

Ganon, I've removed removed the web player version. It's too buggy... Can you please try one of the desktop versions?
Thank you for your time!
Regards

zanenga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Metaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaallll!
\m/

(cool game)

lebrokholic says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:42am

Wow, the style reminds me some comics, somewhere not perfect, but still interesting for discovering. Cool!

jirrev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:48am

Very Nice Man, I really enjoyed it. It could've been put on an online game-site IMO.

disperse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:42am

Hey, amazing graphics and sound. I had a lot of control issues and the kill meter wasn't going up, tons of potential here though!

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:21pm

disperse, the green bar is your hp meter,, lol. About the controls... Yeah, it is not good yet, we will teu to fix it
Thx for playing our game and for your feedbacks!

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:54pm

love the colours. theme is well picked. METAL IS COOOL!!!!

Teesquared says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:21am

Rampage the way it was meant to be played. This game rocks!

glerikud says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:45am

It's a good game. My only problem was that the audio was a bit annoying after 70 kills.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:13am

Love the artwork on this. Reminds me a lot of "The Behemoth" games. Music is also amazing, and I can't tell if you did this intentionally, or if it was just in my head, the actual pace of the game seems to match the beats of the music (almost like a rhythm game).

I had a minor control issue. When in full screen, clicking the start button didn't register, so I ended up running in a window, this was fine except the frantic nature of the game had me clicking outside the game window a ton of times. I'm guessing this is an issue with Unity and not your game, so no points off for that.

Also, the game didn't seem to ramp up much as I played. I ended up getting around 516 kills, I don't know the exact amount as the score disappears the moment you die, but throughout that whole last play the number of enemies appearing for a given time seemed about the same.

Other than that, this is a wonderfully polished game.

Bocodillo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:22am

Awesome entry, very fun and awesome graphics!

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:12pm

glerikud, we know that, lol! There are 2 screaming sounds that are really annoying.. We should change them. We also have to change the sounds volumes because you simple can't hear them in the game. Anyway, thanks for you feedback

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:19pm

dalbinblue we didn't know that full screen's issue yet, thanks for telling us. We should work on it ASAP.
And yeah, you're right: the kills disappears when you die. We didin't noticed that and we are going to fix that too! We kindly thank you for helping us to make our game better! Cheers

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Bocodillo, thx man! Glad you liked it

fermenter says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Great animations and theme implementation. VERY METAL.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:39pm

I love the screaming!

Music very appropriate too.

Couple of crashes but the fun makes up for it.

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:56pm

What crashes did you got???

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:07am

*get

Flaid says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:55am

I really liked the graphic styling of this game, and the music and the art really made it feel like you are the monster.

The gameplay seemed a little too simple to me -- I found that I could pretty much stand in the same place and kick the crap out of everything that came my way. I did have some problems with clicking outside of the game window, causing the game to lose focus. The nice thing is the game paused until it had focus again, but it was still kinda annoying.

AlexSet says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:04am

Nice and sharp looking, great design on the demon but he's a tad bit overpowered, can get to 200 kills without loosing any life.

Found a bug in the Windows exe where if I retry after loosing ill start with 0 health, become immune to damage and entities dont die after being hit, have to exit game and re-enter.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:42am

The graphics were great (though the text stuck out because it didn't have a black outline). The SFX were also good but the music got a bit grating after not too long.

Gameplay was fun, but a little boring after a little while (nothing seemed to pose that much of a threat). Attacking the helicopters was a bit weird because you need to have the cursor well above them to punch at their height.

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:38am

Extremely well polished, loved the rock track (I think alot of people ignore the sound aspect in Jam, love it when the music fits everything so well)

Awesome Job

felipeberquo says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Hey guys, thx for the comments! We really appreciate that

superfreak says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Fab graphics - really polished entry!

Aaranos says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Great music, kind of looks like it is drumming on the innocents of the city.

Oct 20, 2015 @ 2:24pm

It really liked crashing for me, but nice game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/wEgI5I5KLKY

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]