Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Youkai

by Nibble Bits Studio - Jam Entry

You are the killer. You are the monster. You are YOUKAI!

Youkai is a dash-attack game, made in Unity3D 5 by two brazilians students.
Find more about us in: https://www.facebook.com/nibblebits




Controls:
- Mouse Cursor: defines the direction to Youkai;
- Left Click Mouse: Attack;
- Esc: return or exit game (in menu).

Actions:
- Reaches a Combo 10X to star FURY mode;
- In FURY mode, you runs faster and kills your enemies just hitting;
- Keep attention, FURY mode lasts 10 seconds.
- FURY in screen start to blink before it's over;
- If the enemy hit you and you're not attacking, you die.

HUD:
- In top screen, number of kills;
- In down screen, number of combo.


Nibble Bits Game Studio:
Ben-Hur Villar - programmer
Victor Simoes - modelling & animation



-> AUDIO was downloaded from internet, free of rights.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#9Fun(Jam)4.21
#157Overall(Jam)3.71
#381Mood(Jam)3.32
#401Graphics(Jam)3.64
#468Innovation(Jam)3.07
#877Humor(Jam)2.04
#1024Theme(Jam)2.43

Comments

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:37am

Fun game! Getting multiple kills is very entertaining!

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:39am

Very nice. very satisfying to play and fury is great. the audio is timed very well.

Aumni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:41am

I realllllly enjoy the gameplay, simple but extremely addicting. Played it many times, trying to up my highscore. I thought that later in the game, there was too much blood and the enemies were starting to get hard to see through it. I hope you guys keep working on it because it's a super fun game. Awesome work!! :)

Dastina says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:48am

I like this game alot! The core mechanic works very well and the audio complements it perfectly. I like the simplistic art, and think that that could have been further developed, but with the time limit in mind I m very impressed!

alexrus07 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:48am

Really, really fun game! Great graphics, too. Although, I don't really see how it fits the theme...

bakpakin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:56am

52. The black headband people are really annoying.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:08am

Thanks for play and vote. About the theme, the character become a monster in FURY mode (reach a combo 10x). And yes, the black headband people is annoying. Kill'em all!! haha

Kizler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:09am

I was trying to get 7 in one stroke... got 8! And died seconds after as I was trying to get a screenshot. :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:14am

Had 60 point then enemy spawn behind me and i die backstabbed :(
It's really fun to play, unfortunately i can't find how it's fit with theme.

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:56am

147. Went into fury mode. Addictive game and wonderful feeling/controls, good difficulty progression, good animations. The added music is epic with the action. Would need a little bit of polish to make it perfect. Anyway was the game I played the longest so I think you did your job !

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Cool game, the character motion feel very good. Keep up the good work !

Rocketship says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Very slick in terms of graphics and gameplay. The audio also sounds very natural in the game. Good job!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Very fun killing everything you see and trying to get multiple kills. I had much enjoyment for this, over all great stuff!

Hizu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:27am

That was an awesome game. Simple graphics but get the essence of beeing a monster in samurai arts

Azlen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:02pm

I love this game, lots of fun and the graphics are great.

I hope you keep working on this, it could have some great potential.

FrederickK says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Wow! So cool!
Get FURY is very hard, but it is what makes it challenging!
Very fun game! Great job!

zanenga says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:27am

Very cool game! I love it! Here's a few things that I think could improve it.

1) Enemies could have a more distinct color, a visual effect for spawning (almost any particle effects would do) and maybe even a spawn sound. That would make so the player instantly realises that a new enemy has spawned.

2) Enemies should not spawn to close to the player, to avoid "unfair" deaths.

3) The player combo could last 0.25 or even half a second more. Right now it's almost impossible to keep a combo unless you wait for a lot of enemies to spawn.

Those are just a few sugestions. And again, very cool game! I love dashing and slashing. Some of my favorite things to do in games, hehehe.

james.h says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:54am

Simple and lots of fun, with a good level of difficulty. Well done!

ajopart says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:56am

Very entertaining ! Sad there is no special visual effect when you got the fury mode. I had some trouble to get there and once I unlocked the fury I was a little bit disappointing. Great job anyway !

NikinCZ says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:34am

I rated on 3 different LDs and you are maybe second person to get 5* in fun. Seeing all the blood, I understand your take on theme. Graphics are, well, enough. I would give you 4 stars for audio, pity you disabled it.
Phantom Assassin Simulator 2015 - 10/11 IGN

justinooncx says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:10pm

A pretty mechanically satisfying game! It feels great to mow people down like that!

...I AM a monster...

randoman says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Very nice entry! I wish the combo chain could last longer, maybe only in lower values, it's kinda hard to increase it without having lots of enemies on the screen.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Really fun entry. Great job. :)

nassi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:56pm

238. After 100 points you can be in the Fury mode almost constantly and the game really gets going :P. I felt really cool dashing and slicing everything that moves and the graphics really fit the style of the game. My only gripe is that sometimes the enemies spawn too near to you and since they don't need to move they are very hard to see.

allinlabs says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Super satisfying, simple to play, the controls feel good, it is indeed perfect. It really help releasing stress

Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:41am

Thanks for the Feebback guys, We really thinking about to continue this game, If you like this! please follow us on Fackbook facebook.com/nibblebits. We will post the progres in our projects. <3 Thanks again!!!

Kaltic says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:18am

Quality game. Very fun and easy to pick up and play.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:01am

quite fun to play, it's a little repetitive after 200 as it's too easy to get invincible since that.

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:31am

I love FURY mode. Good job guys.

spotco says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:40am

surprisingly addicting!
should have had more visual feedback for fury mode

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:52am

Fun entry, gameplay is very addicting. Excellent job balancing player and enemy movement. At some points I thought collisions were a little iffy, and it wasn't all that obvious when or how you got fury, or when it was going to end. Overall great aesthetic feel, very nice animations and graphical quality. Solid game, I would love to see more of this!

Sanju says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:16am

Great character animation. Polished and fun game.
Good work.

Awpteamoose says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:35am

You are not very monstrous, you're just a ninja.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:32am

my first impression was: Fun!
Dynamic action, animation and music (good choice for this game) make this game fun

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:07am

Oh wow, this felt GREAT! It is smooth and quick, and all the feedback is in place except for my own death. Every time I died I rarely saw the one who killed me. Maybe some time freeze upon the exact moment his spear is entering my gut, and then an animation of me flying down to the ground or smth? :) I wouldn't advice making it long, what I'm trying to say: as I am fighting for the high scores and my mastery, dying - and having to try again - is actually a serious moment, but it is not treated this way. Yet? :)

Thanks anyway for such a great feeling game.

FistBumpGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:11am

Nice game and fun to play! If you could have included a highscore list it would have been awesome.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Slick controls and great use of particle effects!
I suggest making some of the the blood spray show on the ground after the particle effect in addition to the blood puddle. It'll make for much more satisfying picture!

Ryusui says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:07pm

"I am lightning...the rain transformed."

ADDICTIVE. I've only got two gripes: one, I feel like enemy attacks should be telegraphed better, and two, I wish dying had a bit more flair than just falling over. XD

kidando says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:02am

hahahaha. That was fun. The mood of the game was just perfect. The background music was what made it awesome. Great SFX too!!

Dadeyemi says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:03am

This is a game mechanic sandbox more than a game ATM, but I'd like to see a more complete game come out of it.

Pomb says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:24am

I've played a couple games with this particular mechanic, but it's really fun and satisfying.

Atridas says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:16pm

The gameplay feels so smooth and killing sprees are awesome! I didn't find the approch to be theme-like, but it was an enjoyable experience ;)

Grhyll says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:09am

Sweet!
As said before, a little warning on attacking enemies would be nice, as well as a way to ensure there is almost always a reachable opponent so that the combo doesn't break without a chance to keep it. Otherwise it's neat :)

bigbuggames says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:09am

Fast and simple mechanics with nice graphics, it's a nice detail to see the blood spilled all over the floor.

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:09am

Very, very fun and addictive. Really like the simple controls. The game often felt like it killed me unfairly, though, so a few visual enhancements might help. For example:
1) Foreshadow where an enemy is going to appear, or have the enemy appear only outside of the camera.
2) Have a line indicating the range of your attack.
3) Make it much more clear that an enemy is about to attack, via some sort of charge special effects.

Some new enemy types and obstacles would really change the mix, too! I also recommend looking into adding screen flashes, camera shakes and hit-pauses (time stopping very briefly when hitting an enemy).

MAnimal says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Fury mode reached in 5th game. Fun to play. If you add some goals you should go mobile! Awesome main character model.

Krunoslav says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Fun game. Nice dynamics and addictive.

celarain says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:42pm

So cool game, and addictive! played few times and got 166 points. The fury mode its pretty amazing, when you got some points its easy to get the fury.

Downtown says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Fantastic gamefeel, great sounds, addictive.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:57am

Nice game, sensations and graphics are good.
The only thing that disappointed me is the end of game where we have no reward that will tell us "you can do better again !".
Of course, it's a small detail for a gamejam and everything else is nice.

Literal Games says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Nice, really difficult to build a combo though, although maybe that's the idea. Cool graphics, and lots of fun!

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:21pm

have seen this game so many times in homepage
finally have chance to play it today. Really wonderful game with awesome controll feeling~!

Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Thanks for all the comments and constructive criticism! We're really enjoying!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]