Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

I gotta go

by TimWright - Compo Entry

Use the left and right arrow keys to move. Try not to hit the cars or they slow you down. Make it to the ocean before it's too late!!!

There's no way to restart once you win or lose. I ran out of time.

This is my first compo, and I didn't get everything done, but I'm submitting what I have.

Help Loopy the woo woo monster get to the ocean before it's too late.
And try not to damage anything. The city likes you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#388Audio2.90
#539Humor2.55
#575Theme3.23
#634Mood2.72
#671Innovation2.67
#805Graphics2.36
#839Fun2.38
#877Overall2.50
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

Mimus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:36am

Wtf, I do not understand is how to play...

Johnicholas says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:41am

I'm sorry I can't play this. Windows, not Linux.

PokeyOne says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:48am

I think the idea is getting somewhere, but the game isn't really ready for full play yet.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:51am

Way to go finishing your first LD!

Despite the game being pretty simple, there are two things I really liked here: 1) it is possible to let the vehicles go between your feet (a lot of run/avoid games just use the entire bode as the target), and 2) the pseudo 3D grid on the sides. I checked your code and it is hand drawn, which I think is awesome; it gives it a cheezy 80's animation vibe.

ryguydavis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:24pm

I am going to agree with dalbinblue on this. It's tough to even get to a stage where you can submit, especially the first time around. I think I failed at two LD's before I even got to the submission page. Congrats!

I also noticed the feet collision and thought it was a pretty cool idea. It did take a minute to figure out the controls. The movement is slow enough that it's easy to miss at first. I think that's what the first comment was about.

tomdeal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:17pm

grats to your first compo :-) I see the idea behind the game. liked the perspective, I felt like I was the monster.

congusbongus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Cool idea!

azakhary says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:40pm

i tried playing it but couldn't

MegasDragos1 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Is a great idea of a game, but I think you must continuing working on this game!

Deadpan-Gamez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Really cool idea, loved the perspective and music!

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Congratulations on you first LD. The idea was great. Would love to see a second version of the game also. Good work!

FrederickK says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:54pm

The music and the concept are very funny!
I liked! :D

rudra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Congrats for finishing your first game. I liked the idea behind the game, hope to see a second version of this coming !

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:05am

Simple but cool. Not bad

Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Lol, on my first playthrough I thought I should smash all the cars. It would be more obvious

crucknuk says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Bulding animation is well done.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Nice footwork, rough ending

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]