Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Super Snack Time!

by adsilcott - Jam Entry

Our second Ludum Dare.

All of the artwork was painted in a "natural media" style with ArtRage:
https://www.artrage.com/

How to play:
ASD to attack.
Don't let your plants go hungry, they will wither and die.
If too many of your snacks get past it's game over.

See if you can beat my high score of 2930!
It gets crazy around 1000...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#174Humor(Jam)3.53
#176Fun(Jam)3.57
#199Innovation(Jam)3.46
#244Theme(Jam)3.80
#246Audio(Jam)3.42
#344Overall(Jam)3.43
#371Graphics(Jam)3.69
#479Mood(Jam)3.18

Comments

zillix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:05am

this is fantastic! so many marios! the game is entertaining, fun, and very pretty. music is awesome too. great work :)

hinerz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:18am

This is awesome. So much fun!!! Such a great & innovative take on a classic gameplay :D I love it!

duskpn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:28am

That was a lot of fun. I liked how you kept the player from only using one plant all the time by making them die, that was pretty neat.

VideoDog says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:06am

Strong use of Wilhelm Scream.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:14am

This is awesome

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:53am

Man, love this painted art, I dunno if it's a filter or original painting - but looks just great! Awesome game. Music is also great.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:30pm

OMNOMNOMNOM. I like eating marios, good work!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Solid! The artwork was really unique & good audio too.

I could not beat your score. No. Not even close.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Wow! This is brilliant! Love the little animations for marrio :P Look a moment to work out the controls but that was part of the charm. Thanks! (music was great too)

Ershany says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Probably best simple game I have ever played in this Ludum Dare :) Good job!

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Awesome.. Playing the other side of Mario is fun. Very Innovative.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Really fun game and it looked and sounded great, killing Mario was surprisingly satisfying.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Nicely done, it was weird that some of the marios didnt make it to the end by their own mistakes, but that made me laugh so thats good:P, loved the oil paint like style

tal says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:39pm

loooooooolll * like*
great idea and game ^^

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Fun. My score is 180.

cxsquared says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Freaking great work. The idea is so great. I had a blast playing this.

bakakyo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Oh so many marios hahaha. The mechanic is very sweet. That was a lot of fun.

Dizzly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:57pm

My favourite one! You touched my Nintendo based heart.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Pretty fun entry. I liked the whole risk/reward mechanic of making sure your plants get fed even if you have to let the Marios progress a bit further.

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Funny game! We love the background

kunzbe says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:16pm

small and fun, good job!

Crosstales says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Nice entry, loved the Visuals, funny Concept Overall very well done!

nassi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:21pm

2990! Managed that by just spamming A+S(+M) and then trying to catch any Mario left with D. The nice thing about spamming M is that the Marios begin to fall over a lot, making it much easier. Felt a tad too luck based, but a nice simple game nonetheless!

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:30pm

The music is great! I sat and listened to the whole song before I started the game, I haven't done that on a game in a long time and something I loved doing back in the old days.

Love the idea too though it was a bit rub your belly pat your head for me, my brain couldn't cope haha! Once you get the hang on it it's really fun and could easily become compulsive with a leaderboard between friends. nice work!!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Tough but fun, I really like the art style. Good job!

Ramiel says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Nice little game.
Awesome to play. Beautiful graphics. Not much to improve I guess. Maybe different death screams. The same sound over and over again gets a bit repetitive.

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Nice and simple and pretty fun. A good formula for LD success. It would be really cool to see some variation such as: Marios start to shoot fireballs, toss in a few invincibility stars then they could kill your plants. The music is great and I like the paint on canvas artwork.

andreiichim says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:52pm

I got 150... I'm terrible at this. It's so hard to focus on both sides of the screen at the same time.
I like the art.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:52am

This game was great fun! I love the art style!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Haha, great game, I had fun playing it. I got till 2410 after I worked out the controls.
Then I tried some button mashing and then I got till 2980, hehe. ^^ Well done!

justinooncx says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Bloody hell, you weren't kidding when you said this game is hard. Hilarious that the snacks sometimes fail to jump properly and get stuck on the ground!

hate-marina says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:01pm

That's innovation :D

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Brilliant idea for this theme.

jofra says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:36pm

this is REALY COOL! :o
awesome entry, great ideia.
gj!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:36pm

I like the screams Mario makes when he dies

jwin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Great idea, and the painted art style is amazing!

conrad123 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Fun but a little hard.

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:11pm

I thought this was easy until I realised you actually should be keeping all three plants alive. I love the music and use of wilhelm scream!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:50pm

absolutely gorgeous. The painterly style of this game is really quite a rare treat. The music was also quite nice (although I'm guessing you may have taken it from an outside source since you opted out of the music category. Still, excellent selection!)
The gameplay was nothing terribly new or novel, but I did like that the Piranha Plants would die if they were over-used without actually catching a Mario. That was a clever anti-spamming measure.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Music is cool, concept is cool, art is cool, gameplay is cool! I like this game! good job!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Wow, controlling three plants at once is a lot harder than you'd think! Nice game

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Really funny game. I love the art style.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Nice idea and beautifull graphics!! Great!!!!

dunin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:16pm

there is a lot of games where you are an enemy of classic game, but the plant of mario is the best!

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Ha, love it when they tumble over! Simple and sweet.

Sanju says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Fun game. Loved the art and music.

Die, Mario! Alex Kidd lives! XD

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Love how the Marios mindlessly swarm, fall over and get stuck on their backs. Adds a lot of comedy value.

block97 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Love the art style! Simple game, but still pretty fun.

Beavl says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Nice take on a classic!

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Awesome idea :) And I really love the painting art style. Congrats!

mzmiric5 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Love the art style and the music, they fit very well together. The game is simple but fun, and Marios flying everywhere is pretty hilarious.

KaiseanGames says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Nice artwork style. I like your inversion of control :)

Dizzyman572 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:55am

Cool game, and honestly I think you should've gave yourself an audio slide because I would've given you another five right then and there!

Ulydev says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Very good entry, and interesting art style !

OmarShehata says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Definitely a fun game! I loved the little mario's! At first I thought I couldn't use the plants too much or they'll die, but realized I could just keep mashing the buttons.

It might be interesting if there was a limit to how fast you could use them, if they had to recharge, it might make the game more strategic! It's fun though!

freaknarf says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Great simple arcade game :) Nice graphic, it gives an original smooth look ! great tune too... I think it's already getting crazy at 600/700 ...

Drauthius says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Hehe, nice game. It does get crazy, but I managed to get 2940. :)

sararyCow says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:40pm

i loved the painting style, fits really well to the game context. A quite challengeful game.

theshadowteam says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:26am

Simple fun game, eat that marios lol :P

Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:11am

WOW at the Mario wave!

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:20pm

The game play is original. Unfortunately it was a bit harder to play with my azerty keyboard.

Dejvo says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:51pm

verry good indeed. Art-style is brilliant unlike my crappy game :D really fun! good job!

Teesquared says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:53am

Very funny and great oil painting art style. Only at game jams can you experience these twists on classics. Screaming Mario tastes great and is less filling.

Simonaiso says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:14am

Really cool. Kudo's for the music and the helpless marios that land on their backs. They deserve to be eaten.

axoona says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:31am

pretty nice game!

ManuelGF says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Nice game. Beautiful graphics and funny gameplay!

PlasmaErnst says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Ha, it´s quite fun. buttonmashing deluxe. Didn´t beat your highscore, ha!

jsmars says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Man really nice work on this. Great art, style and sound! Gameplay was really fun too and great setting!

MikeEnoch says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Makes me wanna go play Mario Maker... Good game, nice art!

Twinters says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Lovely, original artstyle! Liked the concept and the nostalgia. Would have loved some screamvariation though, even if it were just a small pitchshift. Anyway, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]