Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon of the Mimic

by Alpenter - Jam Entry

You are a mimic. Adventurers are just coming in YOUR dungeon and taking YOUR treasure. Jerks. Anyway, stop them from doing that. Trick them into thinking you are a treasure-filled chest of loot and then DEVOUR THEIR ENTRAILS... ok maybe not that gruesome.

Programming, Art, Design: Alpenter (@theAlpenter)
Art, Design: Father Ferguson (From the Youtubes)
Music: Eric Skiff (http://ericskiff.com/music/)

FINAL UPDATE:
-Fixed typos. (I was tired ok?)
-Fixed the "stats not resetting" bug.
-Fixed Game Over Screen.
-Made Smitty appear faster so that he's actually a threat.
-Better floor 2 layout.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#87Fun(Jam)3.79
#115Theme(Jam)4.01
#121Innovation(Jam)3.66
#157Overall(Jam)3.71
#217Humor(Jam)3.43
#290Mood(Jam)3.43
#457Graphics(Jam)3.54

Comments

yajiv says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:17am

This was awesome! Nice graphics, tight controls, juicy UI, good music. Overall, very well made :)

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:18am

Fun little romp. Although I found a few times they'd horde together and I'd gobble them all up in one swoop. Good job though!

valid4life says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:19am

Nice game!
I enjoyed the nice graphics and the nice music!
Great job

Shugor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:20am

Lots of fun! Using a recognizable monster design to form the gameplay around was a cool idea, and the mimic works especially well. Cool entry.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:22am

That's a really fun game, interesting gameplay, good art style, and good controls. Great work!

lancemaker says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:22am

nicelly done.

Loutrattitude says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:23am

Really cool ! Controls are really smooth, nice job.

Keon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:27am

Nice game! The art is great, and the tutorials are smoothly integrated in the game. The names are a nice touch. I don't know if I played it to completion - I reached a level with a ghost and then it goes to the end screen. Not sure what that's about, is that the end?

Other than that, I found a tiny bug - if you die and restart many times, you can get to negative lives.

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:41am

Awesome idea. Great use of the theme.

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:45am

I like how it goes really "smooth". GJ

Downtown says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:46am

Felt really good to play, well put together.

MiniBobbo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:47am

Nicely done! It plays really smooth and the music is great. I liked opening up and summoning all the guys to one spot and then destroying them all.

Also, the individual randomly generated names was a nice touch. It added a bit of humor that I enjoyed.

Vycerys says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:47am

Great job! Was a fun little blast!

ekajjake says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:48am

Awesome concept! Wonderful music.

Nichii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:59am

This was an awesome game, i loved the concept, the gameplay, and everything. I noticed a but where the lives and gold dont reset when i lose. Still it was really fun :D

Nichii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:00am

noticed a bug*

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:00am

Yes. Now I am the mimic. Fun!

Alpenter says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:06am

Fixed the lives and gold not resetting bug.
And also the negative lives bug.
Will update all 3 links tomorrow morning!

Ryusui says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:57am

Very professional-looking! Just a few gripes:

1. The spike placement on the second floor is BRUTAL. It's actually really hard to maneuver precisely around them!

2. Lives don't reset on game over. Whoops!

3. Plurals don't take an apostrophe. "Knights," not "Knight's."

Also, is there any way to defeat that ghost thing on the final(?) floor? I keep getting shoved into the walls and killed. ^_^;

Alpenter says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:00am

Push the blue block into the ghost. He will dead...
Yes... he will DEAD.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:00am

Enjoyed

Yamzho says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:59am

Cool game ! Really enjoyed it !

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:22am

Hahaha This is funny!
I like mimics, and your gameplay idea of atracting enemies with gold is great!
I like it, well done!

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:29am

Great game. A little short, but it was fun :) Great graphics too.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:51am

Funny concept, I liked the disguise mode. :)

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Great entry :) Fun, good art and music.

corupta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Very nice game and I love the mechanic of you being the golden treasure chest and eating everyone who tries to get you. :D Well done!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:59am

Another Mimic game!

Great work really nice game!
Took me a while to figure out how the boss works though...

superpatch says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:28am

Simple and fun! Cool graphic and nice sound. Great entry, good job!

kaype says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:32am

This is a pretty good entry for what it is. I actually had played this about an hour ago but forgot to rate/comment lol.

Nice work.

Mikhail says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:39am

Good game overall! Great game man! Keep it up!

amortus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:45am

This was very fun, and the idea was very original.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Really nice graphics :D

cgmorton says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Haha excellent game!

Good thing you're in the Jam, otherwise we'd be competing for best mimic-based game. This way it should be a clean sweep :P

Bocodillo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:20pm

I had a great time playing this. Fun idea linked well with the mechanics. Good music & graphics too.

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:35pm

This is a fun game. Took me a few tries to figure out what was coming after me and how to prevent it, but it made sense afterwards. Very nice game. Good job!

Dreyan says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:10am

Quite cathartic for anyone who's been munched by mimics countless times before. Fun, fluid and sounds great. Nice job!

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:03am

Good idea! Smooth controls, nice music!

guoboism says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:24am

Interesting game! The power of mimic is to lure the enemy!
Check this http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=52622
Another game on mimic

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Excellent game! I loved the twist with the mimic, and made one of my most hated enemies a beloved protagonist. The graphics were cool, the mechanics were flat out awesome, and this just an over all fun game to play. 10/10

boardtobits says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:20am

Solid game with a cool mechanic to attract your victims, er, enemies. Well done!

Alpenter says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:10am

Yeah I thought it would be fun to devour your prey, er, yah enemies. Sure.

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:39am

I enjoyed this game so much! Love the concept and the differente types of knight. Congrats

peterthehe says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:01am

Nice work! Smooth controls, good graphics.

DarkBoulevard says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Such a great entry! Loved it! I really can't say anything bad about it, I loved the idea, and the execution of it! Amazing!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:00pm

I liked the mechanics, graphics and music are also great, this is a good little game nice job!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Nice gameplay!

mantis says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Really cool game! Wish there was more levels :)

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 6:46pm

original idea.

superfreak says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:56am

Really intersting gameplay (I especially liked the control system and UI) over a cohesive artstyle which creates a great mood!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]