Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Ladybirds massacre

by celisoft - Compo Entry

This is a very short but hard to play 3D video game. The hardest point is the 3rd person's view. You will have to guide your bait, using arrow keys, right to the carnivorous plant. Be careful to not waste its ladybird's meal. You don't die if you lost them but you won't pass to the next stage until you succeed.

Controls: Arrow keys
Made with Blender Game Engine

Note for Linux users: The game has been tested on Ubuntu 15.04 and ArchLinux. It's possible that it doesn't work on Debian or OpenSuse due to slower releases of Blender dependencies.

Thanks a lot for all comments!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#402Innovation3.10
#583Audio2.40
#608Humor2.38
#661Theme3.07
#744Graphics2.52
#804Mood2.34
#855Fun2.33
#872Overall2.53

Comments

Wolar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:17am

I like the idea. Maybe there could be clearer where is the baits head I've go the wrong direction few times.

Tijn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:33am

It's a little rough around the edges, but I like the idea of luring bugs into the direction of the monster. The perspective from the monster's mouth is also very cool. The music gets a bit repetitive, but it's good that you have music at least!

Is there supposed to happen something when all of the bugs fall off the level? Because I got stuck when that happened.

Otherwise well done! :)

TwixtorTitan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:36am

Was this made in blender? I thought the game icon was the blender icon :p?

thx4nothing says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:36am

Interesting concept. This game is hard because left and right are inverted :D

McFood says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:39am

The music was loud, and the voices were quiet, it was hard to find a good balance.

The game is hard, but it seems mostly because the bug moves fast, and is hard to steer. As a result, it feels more like the game's fault when I lose than my own fault. I think if the steering was easier, but the courses narrower, it would feel more like my fault, while being just as difficult.

Also as Wolar said, its hard to keep track of which way the bait is facing.

Otherwise, this was fun, and had a really creepy mood. Good work!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:41am

It's not a bad idea. The controls are confusing though (it'd be fine if you inverted either left/right or up/down, at least to me, might be subjective). And the music gave me a headache. And... well it's just weird. I like the weird though!

colozz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:46am

Cannot run the game on Linux

./game: error while loading shared libraries: libOpenImageIO.so.1.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Sinon le "rire maléfique" m'a fait rire

celisoft says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:50am

Thanks a lot for all comments! I don't have a big experience. This is the first time I ludum alone. ^^'

Yes, it has been made in Blender Game Engine

You can't loose so there's no fault for anyone the game or you. In fact if you quit the game you take the choice to free ladybirds.

Perhaps it will be better without music because I wasn't able to manage it in time...

Fenreliania says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:26am

A very interesting idea, but very fidgety and hard to play. It's frustrating how fast the bait turns, and it's unintuitive that the small white end is the back of the bait. Ultimately it was more frustrating than entertaining.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:25pm

It achieves the theme really well

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Honestly, I don't know what's going on.

vegapomme27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Buggy on my computer. I don't get what i gotta do btw

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:00pm

The perspective feels unique, i loved the game idea. Game can be hard , but it's awesome. Good work!

sydream says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Nice idea, quite hard to control. Would have been nice if the controls were smoother and there was some sort of scoring system and audio controls as well. overall good effort

Zeriver says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Nice approach to the theme. Game mechanic is neat and game is just long enough.

cardboard says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:45am

The controls were confusing at first, but I think I figured out that "down" is the way to move "forward", and then it made sense. Cool premise.

StaNov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:27am

Nice graphics, nice opening!

But it's soooo hard to play. The control-bug is too fast to be controlled.

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:13pm

I tried it on Windows but I had a black screen :/

Erkberg says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Really cool to see a game made in Blender! As for the game itself: The idea is a nice one, but the execution is a little rough around the edges. On first start I couldn't understand the voice acting because it was too quiet so I turned up the volume and then after the intro the music was very loud. The gameplay really is pretty hard, that bait just moves soooo fast. On the other hand, if it wouldn't, the game would be too easy. Some small bugs I noticed: When you go off screen, you will most likely never find your way back. You lost anyway, so it would be nice to have the level restart automatically. Also, there was a little clipping through the floor. Overall though, I enjoyed it, mostly because of the difficulty. Good job!

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:11am

The controls are inverted and it's somewhat tedious to play but it's an original setup for sure. Interesting.

g_o says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:40pm

I'm sorry but the only reason this was challenging was the controls o: !
Left is right and right is left, plus it turns too fast and moves too quickly.
Honestly I felt annoyed but I do get why - using BGE isn't as easy as it seems.

celisoft says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:15pm

It's an hard game but I see that some players can like it though...

g_o says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:26am

@celisoft: Surely!
This kind of games are just not my type that's all. I don't like being challenged by the movement & perspective, I do prefer full control.

Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:46am

Very nice entry! creative and fun idea, just need some polishment. congrats!

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Nice idea, :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]