Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Fight

by Romario Ramirez - Compo Entry

Kill all the humans!


Space bar - Shoot

Left & Right arrows - Horizontal Movement

Up arrow - Jump

Down arrow - Fall from platform


Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#632Graphics2.77
#658Fun2.74
#686Humor2.21
#715Theme2.96
#806Overall2.69
#818Mood2.26
#907Innovation1.88

Comments

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:18am

Liked the game. The graphics were very impressive. One thing I would like to comment on is like how you are able to kill guys so far off the screen. I wish there were some kind of walls that would block this from happening. Besides that, good job!

halemaster says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:19am

The game would be enjoyable, but it is suuuper hard to shoot to the left, which keeps getting me killed. Nice entry overall. I wish that I would keep my facing after I stopped moving, though XDD

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:31am

Great little game you have here :)

Kaltic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:35am

A little difficult to shoot left. Would be nice if it remembered your last direction so you don't have to always be running left.

FerraWare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:43am

Nice game!

Pros:
-Cute art style
-Simple yet fun

Cons:
-Left shooting
-The music is pretty annoying :P

fuzzalicious says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:46am

I like that you can shoot the enemies bullets to defend yourself. Eeek the musicthough... =P

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:55am

Very addictive game!

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:18am

Graphics were nice and gameplay was enjoyable but was really laggy, probably just me.

JustinJ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:31am

Cute, a bit annoying that you have to hold left to shoot left, but the jumping felt good, and there were nice sound effects too :) I loved how you could shoot the enemies' bullets.

noom says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:13am

I'm getting an error stating that my version of Chrome doesn't support the unity web player plugin required to play this game, however I have the latest version of Chrome. Will try the windows version...
Ok that worked, neat little game! Audio just about blew my ears off though

markoburzan27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:15am

for the download you should have put it as a zip folder.

TwixtorTitan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:32am

Nice simple game.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:01am

Cool game, nice music and graphics within the game

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:23pm

As others have mentioned shooting left was very difficult, it's not an issue after the beginning since you always move to the right. But if this was what you intended then you should spawn the player where there are only enemies to the right.

Also if you are going to allow users to move left and right with 'A' and 'D' you should also allow them to jump with 'W'.

Great work! I enjoyed playing it!

mickanio says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:43am

I love this monster.

TerinHD says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:44am

Nice little platformer. Some of my critics on the game... going to the left (shooting) felt odd and had to be almost forced while shooting right felt natural. Title screens and score screens, I found myself spamming space and I would continue through the screen without getting to see it. Good job though!

tweedle says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:49pm

I felt like the graphics and music complimented one another quite well.
Shooting left was a bit difficult, so I mostly ran right while spamming the spacebar. That worked out pretty well for me, but after awhile it did lack a bit from some variation. More enemies, levels, and abilities would have been a nice touch.
Overall nice job!

Kep says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Really liked the monster design. As others have said, I couldn't shoot left :(

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Very simple but also fun game, the controls were a bit wanky but I still liked it!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Chaotic and fun. The only issue I ran into was that my character wouldn't stay facing left, so I'd have to be walking to shoot that way. Only really a problem at the very beginning, but worth a look? Fun game, though!

conrad123 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:13pm

You should allow fullscreen in the ludum dare plug-in. Also, the monster only shoots right.

Divitos says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:14pm

It's a little odd how you can use A and D to move, but not W to jump.

Crosstales says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Cute, fun, made me rage out and spam space - only thing I didn't like was the audio. Keep it up!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Decent graphics but the controls could be improved. Maybe when the character moves left it stays left?

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:39pm

It doesn't have enough variety, and the gameplay is more luck than skill, because of how difficult it is to maneuver and avoid getting killed, except for constantly shooting to the right and moving up and down to constantly keep bullets onscreen to kill enemies and protect you from enemy bullets.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Simple & nervous. I liked it!

peecestudios says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:34am

i couldn't stop playing because it was so easy to restart

DarkBoulevard says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:40am

Very good one! Liked how simple but hard it is, and of course the graphics are amazing! Good job!

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:38pm

yeah, the controls are really smooth, the game is fun also, sound is really good... My complaint is that once I understand whats going on I would just run right iand shoot enemies off the screen. Solid entry!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:12am

Quite fun! As others have said the left shooting is irritating. The graphics are simple but cool. pretty solid!

ManuelGF says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:54am

Nice graphics. I like the idea, but it was a bit hard due to bug with left shoot. Well done anyways :)

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:30am

Simple game. But really gun..
One problem is that player always face right and shoot right...

bombjack says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 7:10pm

I liked that you can shoot bullets. Nice!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]