Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Limbless

by lanza - Compo Entry

You're Eye, a monster who has lost his legs and arms. You need to find them and get them back (as many times as you need), so that you can meet your lover.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#208Audio3.28
#368Innovation3.16
#400Mood3.09
#447Graphics3.13
#481Humor2.67
#607Overall2.97
#622Fun2.79
#705Theme2.97

Comments

IndigoWolf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:37am

Nice and funny, but very unforgiving, was very difficult to get very far, could do with easing up on the hard reset.

Wolar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:39am

I like the idea. I wish there was a music or sounds. It is also quite hard for example tu jump and not to fall down, maybe some kind of checkpoint would be nice it gets me flustrated everytime I have to play from start.

miro662 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:42am

Nice idea, but a bit too hard. Also, help could be more visible

MrKOHCEPBAHT says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:43am

Controls are not perfect, but overall is ok.

Jajo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:44am

Odd collision bug, but the game was incredibly enjoyable. The music was incredible, as were the graphics and the game mechanic.

alyphen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:44am

This is quite a pleasant experience, it's a geius concept, and one that's quite fun to play. The music is good and the sound effects add a fair amount of feedback. Finding the body parts was satisfying but it took a few moments to figure out what they were doing. Perhaps a pop up message or something teling the player what they had just done would be worth it. Platforming physics were okay on land, and with the enemy AI, they just walked underneath you most (if not all?) of the time, which made it fairly easy to jump on them. Floating platforms were, however, another matter, positioning had to be so spot-on because of the floaty physics. Either making the platforms slightly more spread out or tightening up the physics would help with this.

lanza says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:44am

There should be music and sounds (there is for me, at least). I wanted it to be unforgiving, but maybe I made a mistake.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:46am

much like the others who have commented I wish it were more forgiving. simple making the controls more precise and less floaty would help to solve this as well.

shimage says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:47am

Awesome game! I love that power up system. The eye is very cute! The monster with 4 legs is very fear.

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:48am

It's kind of tedious having to go from the beginning after collecting nearly all the body parts. I like the concept though and the game, just some things need tweaking.

goet says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:49am

Really cute, but the movement feels weird. Sometimes one keystroke sends me flying in the direction.

McFood says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:54am

I like the mechanic of unlocking abilities by building the monster.

Some of the first platforms are pretty hard to navigate since there isn't much control in the air.

I only managed to get 2 legs and an arm. But I'm not sure If I was supposed to get the second leg right after the first, or come back later. It was kind of hard to make that jump.

Also the sound doesn't seem to be working for me, the on/off switch doesn't help.

Good Job!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:05am

great concept!

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Good game! A little hard to control, and sometimes it is impossible to jump at the monsters but fun game.

Tuism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:22pm

I'm torn. To pieces. (hahaha), ok no I'm torn - I like the idea, but the mechanics doesn't really reflect the idea. I thought it was interesting when you were just a head/ball. As you got more bits it got less interesting. The health of various limbs doesn't do much, and the way you moved with one leg made no sense.

But the controls... The controls are just too slippery for the kind of platforms you stuck in. I didn't feel like I was beating a challenge, but rather beating a flaw. It's not "challenging", it felt "wrong" or "broken". Controls need a tightness to reflect the player's intentions!

avultima says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:01pm

The jumping controls really need to be tweaked. Pretty difficult to maneuver. I enjoy the concept though. Just too frustrating at the moment.

goodbadokay says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:04pm

I was excited to play this game, and love it's sound

Cawrtz says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Very good game. The music is awesome for a compo game. The graphics are nice. The physics feel like the character is on the moon though (lacking gravity, too much inertia).

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Only managed to get the leg at the start..
Really poor air control, nearly impossible, and the total restart definitely doesn't help.

Too bad, it seems like a cool idea at first. Pretty nice graphics. Functional sounds. The music is alright, but doesn't really fit.. I think.

A good idea pulled down by difficult controls :(

tomdeal says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:28pm

good music. gameplay could use a bit more options / better controls.

Stechas says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Challenging game with nice music that make you play over and over again :)

Pomb says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:44pm

+1 on easing up on hard reseting. Maybe have a checkpoint after collecting each limb.

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

tweedle says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Fun and enjoyable! Really liked how the game progresses, and ends up unlocking parts of your body. Cool concept!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:44pm

I liked the way you have to recover the limbs to help you wandering in the levels. The art is cute, i like the mountains if you watch closely they are nicely drawn :)
However it would have been nice to have a checkpoint because it wasn't easy, it was challengin :P
well done!

logiclogue says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:45pm

It was difficult but definitely one of the most enjoyable games I have played for Ludum Dare. The music was exceptional.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]