Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Space Invadees

by lanestp - Compo Entry

Emperor Brain and his legions are preparing to attack Pluto!

Take control of your own armada of Space Invaders and go left and right unto victory!

With fully voiced (By me) cutscenes and awesomeish action. You will be entertained for minutes!

Features -
Go Left!
Go Right!
Drop down to the next line!
Kill Earthlings! With your face!

NOTE: Level 3 bug fixed!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#20Humor4.20
#80Theme4.05
#117Overall3.70
#132Graphics3.88
#146Audio3.44
#164Mood3.52
#196Fun3.44
#253Innovation3.34

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Great redesign of space invaders, gameplay works very nice, great job.

ezombort says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Haha that was fun :) Good job on the intro I enjoyed it.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Haha nice aproach on the theme :D

boardtobits says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Great voxel graphics and I'm impressed with all the voice work. The cut scenes were a bit long, but overall, great entry.

Sedsibi says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Great game, fun and funny. The graphic style was really unique and fit the retro theme. Great story. The only down side was on the third wave (with the screen clearing bombs) after beating the two stations the level didn't end.

rattower says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:40pm

This is one of my favorites so far.

RhythmLynx says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Really great game. Had the same bug as @Sedsibi though where level 3 didn't end when I killed all the humans, eventually I lost once all my aliens hit the bottom of the screen. I thinks it's because I killed both humans with one of the bomb aliens? Tried it twice but same thing happened, haven't been able to kill both humans with a normal alien on that one yet to see if it's the bomb ones in particular

kernel panic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Couldn't get passed level 3 due to a bug, but seems like a great parody.

lanestp says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Level 3 fixed!

shawn42 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:02pm

I literally LOL'd at work and had to show this to a coworker... great job (especially the cut scenes!)

tweedle says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:13am

Super funny! Loved the voice acting. Music left some to be desired though.
An interesting take on a classic! Good work!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Love the design and animation. Voices made me laugh xD

glimaleite says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Great job on the voice work and texts, I had a blast! The gameplay got a bit repetitive after a while though. Great job!

bouletmarc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:24pm

really fun game, I enjoyed playing it, made me remind of that classic game but playing role invertly, I noted that its kinda hard and should be a bit more easier, getting died 4x times at the levels 3 made me think I suck at it and not really want to continue the story.

Kep says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Loved the character design and the graphics. Voice acting was a nice touch and really enhanced the humor in the gameplay.

Benjamin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:18pm

I died 7-8 time on the level with 4x megabombs and gave up. But I eally wanted to know the end of the story the anrrative sequences were funny. For this LD I first searched for a classic game to reverse the boss / hero mechanic and didnt think that space invader was possible for that. What you found here was clever and very easy to play, good job !

Fenreliania says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:02am

Interesting take on reversing space invaders, but it was often more frustrating than fun. The humour was nice but its pacing was a bit off sometimes. Great graphics though, nice adaptation of the old graphics into 3D.

Yamzho says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:19am

Haha, love the cut scenes !

PEBKAC says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:03am

Insane amount of polish. Ridiculous amount of cinematics. Very nice graphics. And all this in Compo!

Awesome!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:14am

Great job, loved the voice acting. :D

Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Really good game, good concept, visually stunning and well implemented. Amazing work.

Teesquared says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:41pm

I never realized how hard it is to be a stupid alien! Hilarious. Game is tough but I kept trying. Great game.

chuckeles says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Awesome transitions, animations and cutscenes! :D Even your voice :P. But the music...

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Awesome particle effects, cool idea! Congraz, cool entry!

mustaine says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Futurama inspired, love it!

Pilot: Sir, we're losing ships! What are your orders!?
Lrrr: Increase speed, drop down, and reverse direction!

Mase says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:40pm

The colorful voxel graphics are attractive. Really nice animated menus as well.

I failed on the level in which the brain attacks alone. I didn't have the patience for it.

allinlabs says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:28am

5/5 for the acting performance :D LD games need more voice over!

AdayMC says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Very good idea making those kind of invaders mechanics.

Good aspect in general and nice finished product

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:33am

Cool menu stuff...And reverse game design make me laugh! Great game!

mantis says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Really cool game! Loved the interludes. GO GO POWER BRAINER!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Hahahaaha great idea!
I like how you made the levels look like and the graphic is cool!
Love the cutscenes!
Well done!

Mykaelos says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:51am

This is a really excellent game! The voxel art and animations are awesome and feel great, and are an excellent nod to the original game. The stage where you have four bomb invaders was a little too hard for me (there seems to be very little room for error with three shooters). Otherwise, just wow. I'm impressed with how much you got done in such a short amount of time! And the cut scenes really made me chuckle.

Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:37am

Fantastic! Great humor, nice game mechanic (it's fun to play on the other side), award winning voice over work (slight exaggeration). A really fun game, and a great submission. Great job!

Sep 10, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Pssst - You have been featured on Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out here - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UJLrUmnvGcA

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]